$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
457 out of 457
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis
Oct 6, 2010

Nice Hotel for the price

Freindly Staff, good location, needs some cleaning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 12, 2011

Okay for Mardi Gras trip

My sister and I were staying at this hotel for three nights during Mardi Gras. The room was small but that wasn't a big concern. The room just wasn't clean enough for me. I had to complain to the front desk that the toilet hadnt been cleaned AT ALL when we first arrived. The man at the front desk was very polite and said it would be handled. It was better but not completely clean when we returned to the room later that day. The sheets and comforter had yellow staining on them and the carpet was dingy. We didn't spend much time in the room due to the nature of our trip so overall the hotel served its purpose. I must say that all the staff was very nice and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, Texas
Feb 28, 2011

Great Area, Fair hotel

The room and the hotel are very nice. The BIG problem is that ther is essentially NO PARKING! There is a very nice porter but NO Valet parking. The lot is in the basement but there is no elevator service there and you have to carry your bags up to the lobby if the porter isn't available. I do not drive and my wife could not climb the stairs. It took a while, but one of the people working the desk did park for us. Had the same problem leaving. On the good side the hotel is located only one block from the French Quarter and a few blocks from the convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lovednawlins
Business
Baltimore, MD
Feb 26, 2011

Adequate but nothing special

I was there for a convention at the convention center which was about a 10min walk. Good location for that. Was dissapointed in this hotel being a wyndham. The lobby was beautiful and the location was convenient. The rooms were clean and mine was an inside room which was VERY quiet. There is limited access to food places in that immediate area. There is a chinese or sushi place attached but i didnt not use that. I walked down the street to a strange pizza/bar type place. It was good. typical for the area. But being a sunday evening it was a little scarey as not many other people on the street in that little area cause is a business district. The staff was always nice and helpful. Very friendly. The biggest drawback i think was the lack of food places. I thought on the website it said there was a cafe with breakfast, lunch, and dinner. But maybe i was wrong. There was a coffee shop that made starbucks coffee and about 20 tables but i never saw a cafe or menu for possible food. And NEVER saw anyone eating there. SO i was most dissapointed in that for convenience. But overall the hotel was a great price (109/night) one block off canal street and about 4-5 from the riverwalk. Not sure i would stay there again knowing more about the city now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa, fl
Jan 14, 2011

It was fine

The location was adequate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding in Vegas
Business
Champaign, IL
Jan 24, 2011

Met our Needs for the price!

Met our needs in terms of being comfortble and close/accessible to the nightlife and dining. One of our issues was that there that there was no ventilation in the bathroom which steamed the entire room after showering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very accessible to the nightlife, but far enough so that you can have some peace and quiet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FastGirl
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Feb 13, 2011

Friendly staff, false advertisement

I attended a conference at the Ernest Morial Convention Center. The websites for [...]and the actual hotel mentioned the location to the center was .2 miles. This is incorrect. Actually, the hotel was 1.5 miles from the center. The Wyndham Riverfront is .2 mile from the Center, not this hotel. I had to pay additional parking fees. Also, since I was in a SUV, I could not park in the hotel parking garage (additional parking fees). The free breakfast advertised was also incorrect. The bedding had human hairs which was quickly resolved by the manager. The staff was friendly but seemed to lack knowledge on resources available to tourist, such as the street car pick up location and times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Pre-pay your parking garage and find a street car or taxi to the convention center. Hotel ok for historic area, not conferences.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crawpappy
Business
New Orleans
Jan 17, 2011

The getaway

If you are looking for a comfortable place to rest your head at the end of a long day or night of sightseeing/partying this place will do. Nothing out of this world but very clean and modern. If u want a view this is not the place. The only view is the one straight down to the lobby (stayed on the 5th floor). Front desk was efficient. If you have a car check-in could be a multiple step process.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is in walking distance including dining. No need to call a cab maybe if you have a long night or high heels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Smith, AR
Jan 21, 2011

Best bed for the money

Hotel was very comfortable, no amenities per say except for Starbucks in lobby and exercise room. But we were just sleeping there, so we didn't need all the extras. Price was excellent and you will want to buy the pillows and comforter when you leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street is just part of the French Quarter, there is so much more. Take the street car everywhere and ask where the best places to hand out are and shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marketing Maven
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jan 12, 2011

Good location, mediocre experience

I stayed at the Baronne Plaza Hotel to attend a conference nearby. The overall location is quiet. My room didn't face the street, but if it had I doubt it would have mattered because there was very little traffic even though we were just a block off Canal. Indeed, Nola seemed quiet everywhere except for Bourbon Street. That said, the walls are very thin in this hotel. I could hear people's phone conversations, TV programs, etc. from the adjacent rooms. The biggest problem was getting hot water in the morning. I had to leave the faucet running for 15 minutes in the shower to get any hot water out of it. This made me late for an event. The WiFi was sketchy the first few days but seemed to improve. When I commented on it, they said they had made some improvement. The cable TV had very few stations (I think just 13), with no MSNBC. I believe it didn't get CNN either, but I'm not positive on that. The bed was comfortable and nicely decorated but the sheets were icky -- covered with "pills." I needed a lint shaver to make them smooth (which I didn't have). I would have liked a tiny fridge in the room. I guess I take those for granted. It's just nice to be able to chill a half-finished soda or stash a yogurt for a quick meal in the morning. Lastly, while it's well-situated for sightseeing (trust me, you don't want to stay much closer to Bourbon Street!), there aren't many restaurants around. Food options were limited, especially after 9 or 10pm, which really surprised me. I ended up eating many lame meals because I was too busy for a formal dining experience and/or it was just too late in the evening to find anything decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top