$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
498 out of 498
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michigan
May 10, 2011

Filthy Housekeeping

This was a beautiful hotel with terrible housekeeping. The first night I arrived, the sheets had not been changed from the previous occupant. It just got worse from there. The floor's were filthy...when put towels on the bathroom floor to mop up excess water, they turned black. My socks were filthy after walking on the carpet in my room. If you don't care about cleanliness, then this will be a fine hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maybe next time...
Business
Shreveport, Louisiana
Oct 7, 2011

Not Clean at all....

Well let me start off with the only two good things about this Hotel experience, the first was the Front Desk Staff they were OUTSTANDING! The second the Location it is only a few blocks from Bourbon which was nice cause as much as parking is, it is nice to be able to walk there. Now the bad the Hotel doesnt look as nice as it does in the photos I was diappointed. The parking is a JOKE we decided to self park in the parking garage of the Hotel and it was AWEFUL there are big collums in the way and it is extremely difficult to park between that and another car. The room looked ok but it was obvious the sheets hadnt been changed and me and my mom kept feeling like we were getting bit by something. I hardly slept and could not wait to check out Im so glad it was only for one night. As someone who checks this site and others for reviews I felt I was mislead about the others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rana C.
Business
N/A
May 3, 2015

Nice Staff But…..

The room was clean but basic. The diner downstairs had great food but seemed short staffed. No one would answer the phone after numerous attempts. The vending machines were only half stocked and most importantly… the on-site parking is in the basement and it is infested with RATS. not mice….RATS… We only saw them at night but to pay $33/night and be afraid of putting your feet on the ground was asking a lot. The positives are that the location was outstanding in distance from the French Quarter and just about anywhere downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
he be gb
Business
desoto, tx
Jan 18, 2011

Not so excited

Not what i expected for the rate. Getting Towels took a long time. the floors were extremely cold. Hot water was very short coming. and PARKING WAS A JOKE. We ended up going to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frugal Librarian
Business
Austin, Texas
Jun 30, 2011

No bugs, no breakfast, not so bad

Other than a clerk reserving an excessive amount for incidentals (quickly corrected when pointed out), not being able to provide change for large bills, having continuing nosiy construction, not offering a real restaurant for breakfast, it wasn't so bad. One block to Canal and the Quarter, two to the St. Charles street car line. Makes an OK base for exploring the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deanie's is perhaps not as well known as other New Orleans restaurants but it offers really excellent service and food.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LloydG
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 12, 2014

Okay place.

Not the best hotel in New Orleans, but was decent. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lala4delta
Business
Fredericksburg, VA
Apr 14, 2014

Nice Comfy Beds

Went to check out the French Quarter Festival and stayed at the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel. It was not amazing but it was clean, the staff was great and I had no complaints. Close to the action but didn't throw you in the thick of it. Would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MIKE S.
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 2, 2007

Ok hotel

The hotel was ok. Very convenient location to downtown New Orleans made it a plus. Not many amenities, however. The shower head in the bathroom was supposed to be adjustable but it wasn't. The linens appeared to be very worn out and not very clean. The bathroom toliet seat cover was broken. The mattress was ok, but somehow my girlfriend and I did not sleep well in the room. The room heat/A/C control was not working - luckily for us it was in December so it was not too hot. If it had been in summer we would have complained bitterly. We had asked the staff to fix the room temp. control but the management told us it was too late in the day, and they couldn't get anyone to fix it. Don't they have a 24 hr maintenance staff to take care of routine items like this? I was surprised. This seemed very odd. They did offer to change our room, but we declined since it would have taken too long to move all of our things. Overall, the room was ok - I would only recommend this hotel to someone who was trying to save some money, but I wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Canal Street, Jackson Square, Bourbon St. all were within a 15 min. walk.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lovetotravel
Business
NY,CT,PA
Jul 6, 2009

It was alright

We attended the Essence Festival in New Orleans. The hotel was under construction, it was isolated to the lobby area.We didnt hear any of the construction in our room. The construction made the hotel appear close. The Hotel room was a decent size and clean. The hotel housekeeping services were okay, could be better it seemed like they did their own thing on their time, but they were very nice. The Front desk staff need to communicate better with regards to setting up guest events. Please make sure you double-check pickup loaction, time for your event and price. Overal the staff was nice and they were as helpful as possible. The hotel lacks the luxury of other hotels like the Marriot and Intercontinental Hotel like a spa, pool and fitness center. But it is in a great location, walking distance to the trolly (street car), french quarters, convention center and Superdome. The price of the hotel was reasonable and the accommodations were cool too. If your on a budget or its a last minute trip this is one of the better hotels to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We did the Tour of the City and Katrina tour for $42 and it was great. You should also visit Mardi Gras world. Those two activities were a wonderful experience. The free shuttle services picked us up from the Hotel. you should also ride the trolly from one end to the next. $1.25 each time you enter the the (street car).

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mixed Kid
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 28, 2010

Good value: 3 1/2 stars

This hotel (which switched its name to Wyndham Garden Hotel and Resort in the middle of our stay) is average. There aren't many extras here, but I knew that when I signed on the dotted line. You get a very comfortable bed in a decent-sized room with a decent-sized bathroom. I have no complaints, but not praise either... Except for the staff who were very helpful in answering all of our questions. I read before that someone did not have a window to outside, but we did. The rooms on the inside of the hallway have windows to the hotel and those on the outside have windows to the outside. The hotel was extremely quiet all week. People started showing up on Thursday and it was starting to feel full on Friday and Saturday. We had the hotel breakfast a couple of times which I only recommend if you are in a hurry. There's the same food everyday: grits, toast, eggs, cereal, not-so-fresh fruit, coffee, and orange drink (not juice). It was okay. I thought the location was great, because it was only 1 block from Canal Street within the Central Business District so it was close to everything without having any of the raucous noise of the French Quarter. I'd be annoyed if I had paid more to stay in the French Quarter and then couldn't sleep. But then, what would you expect staying in the French Quarter...? I felt safe walking around at night because of the location. There was never a time when I was on a street by myself even when I went walking alone. The hotel is also only a block from the street car that takes you to and from the Garden District so we spent a lot of time there. Check-in and check-out went very smoothly and quickly. They had a computer and printer set up to print boarding passes. That was useful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For the people who have about 50 minutes and want to save money on shuttle or cab, the bus that goes to and from the airport is only a few blocks away and is inexpensive. We saved $30 using the bus! It only runs on weekdays close to the hotel, but you can check the Jefferson Transit website for schedule info.

Back to menu Return to top