$82 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
450 reviews
Great hotel near Bourbon St.

This stay was a great one. The hotel was in a great area and the walk to Bourbon was not bad at... See full review

  • Jon Moss
  • Nov 23, 2014
Great location

Perfect location to stores, food, and fun. Easy to find not far off the interstate. Right around... See full review

  • Asl8492
  • Nov 23, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (450)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
450 out of 450
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MIKE S.
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 2, 2007

Ok hotel

The hotel was ok. Very convenient location to downtown New Orleans made it a plus. Not many amenities, however. The shower head in the bathroom was supposed to be adjustable but it wasn't. The linens appeared to be very worn out and not very clean. The bathroom toliet seat cover was broken. The mattress was ok, but somehow my girlfriend and I did not sleep well in the room. The room heat/A/C control was not working - luckily for us it was in December so it was not too hot. If it had been in summer we would have complained bitterly. We had asked the staff to fix the room temp. control but the management told us it was too late in the day, and they couldn't get anyone to fix it. Don't they have a 24 hr maintenance staff to take care of routine items like this? I was surprised. This seemed very odd. They did offer to change our room, but we declined since it would have taken too long to move all of our things. Overall, the room was ok - I would only recommend this hotel to someone who was trying to save some money, but I wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Canal Street, Jackson Square, Bourbon St. all were within a 15 min. walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lovetotravel
Business
NY,CT,PA
Jul 6, 2009

It was alright

We attended the Essence Festival in New Orleans. The hotel was under construction, it was isolated to the lobby area.We didnt hear any of the construction in our room. The construction made the hotel appear close. The Hotel room was a decent size and clean. The hotel housekeeping services were okay, could be better it seemed like they did their own thing on their time, but they were very nice. The Front desk staff need to communicate better with regards to setting up guest events. Please make sure you double-check pickup loaction, time for your event and price. Overal the staff was nice and they were as helpful as possible. The hotel lacks the luxury of other hotels like the Marriot and Intercontinental Hotel like a spa, pool and fitness center. But it is in a great location, walking distance to the trolly (street car), french quarters, convention center and Superdome. The price of the hotel was reasonable and the accommodations were cool too. If your on a budget or its a last minute trip this is one of the better hotels to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We did the Tour of the City and Katrina tour for $42 and it was great. You should also visit Mardi Gras world. Those two activities were a wonderful experience. The free shuttle services picked us up from the Hotel. you should also ride the trolly from one end to the next. $1.25 each time you enter the the (street car).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mixed Kid
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 28, 2010

Good value: 3 1/2 stars

This hotel (which switched its name to Wyndham Garden Hotel and Resort in the middle of our stay) is average. There aren't many extras here, but I knew that when I signed on the dotted line. You get a very comfortable bed in a decent-sized room with a decent-sized bathroom. I have no complaints, but not praise either... Except for the staff who were very helpful in answering all of our questions. I read before that someone did not have a window to outside, but we did. The rooms on the inside of the hallway have windows to the hotel and those on the outside have windows to the outside. The hotel was extremely quiet all week. People started showing up on Thursday and it was starting to feel full on Friday and Saturday. We had the hotel breakfast a couple of times which I only recommend if you are in a hurry. There's the same food everyday: grits, toast, eggs, cereal, not-so-fresh fruit, coffee, and orange drink (not juice). It was okay. I thought the location was great, because it was only 1 block from Canal Street within the Central Business District so it was close to everything without having any of the raucous noise of the French Quarter. I'd be annoyed if I had paid more to stay in the French Quarter and then couldn't sleep. But then, what would you expect staying in the French Quarter...? I felt safe walking around at night because of the location. There was never a time when I was on a street by myself even when I went walking alone. The hotel is also only a block from the street car that takes you to and from the Garden District so we spent a lot of time there. Check-in and check-out went very smoothly and quickly. They had a computer and printer set up to print boarding passes. That was useful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For the people who have about 50 minutes and want to save money on shuttle or cab, the bus that goes to and from the airport is only a few blocks away and is inexpensive. We saved $30 using the bus! It only runs on weekdays close to the hotel, but you can check the Jefferson Transit website for schedule info.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
N and M
Business
Ontario, Canada
Oct 10, 2010

An excellent location!

As our first visit to New Orleans we were treated to an excellent location, The Wyndam Garden Hotel- aka Baronne Plaza Hotel, from which we were able to access all of the venues, tour packages, historic sites, shopping, fine cuisine and entertainment. We were able to walk short distances (a car rental was not necessary)and cover so much in just a short week of vacation. Not a luxury hotel, but very good accommodations and service.Perhaps a pool and additional restaurant facilities would be helpful to some travelers. However, that was not a priority for us. All in all - an enjoyable stay in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Canal Street attractions, French Quarter, Riverfront Venues, Restaurants, Superdome and New Orleans Arena were all very accessible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Superwife
Business
Morgantown, WV
Nov 18, 2010

Great location

We booked this trip in September so when we arrived and were given the handicapped room I was surprised. The shower was awful and the water pressure worse. However, for the price and location it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Beignet on Bourbon was a short walk and had good breakfasts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VAdreadhead
Business
Washington DC
Dec 21, 2010

Nawlins on a dime

This was a quick weekend get away for a newly dating couple that hadn't traveled together previously. Goal was a little R & R before the Holidays so wanted a hotel that was clean, comfy, in a great location at a good price. Didn't need tons of amenities but did have to be quiet so we could decompress after hitting Bourbon Street. This property is older than I expected but clean. Only 1 person working front desk at 5:30 pm on a Friday so check-in took some time. When we got to our room were surprised to see that it was VERY small with the king-sized taking up most of the space. Tiny closet and only 2 drawers in the room. This was a bit of problem because we both like to unpack instead of living from a suitcase. Impossible in this room. Bed was comfy and bath was nice sized but really not room to do much else in the room. After hitting the town we returned to get some sleep only to be awaken around 1:30 am by the college kids next door and across the hall. Because the walls were very thin, we could hear them partying until about 3:00 am. I love Nawlins and plan to return but won't select this property again. Will pick something on Canal Street with larger rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to explore the restaurants in the French Quarter. No need to stay on Bourbon Street. We found 3 just off the main drag that we loved. Wear comfy shoes and take a walk to explore during the day. It pays off when it's time to sit down for a meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No Coffee Joe
Business
Starkville, MS 39759, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Geaux Saints

Good location for attending Saints game, located between French Quarter & Superdome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stayed at a hotel
Business
New York, NY
Dec 9, 2011

OK Hotel for price, good location

Good location close to major attractions although felt somewhat uncomfortable returning to the hotel at night so needed to take cabs more than i usually would. Staff was helpfull rooms were ok but had some tattered fabrilc and carpet staines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AKermit
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Came for Convention

I stayed for 4 days, and was overall happy with the hotel. The location was good- close enough to a lot of food and entertainment, but a little far from the Convention center. I did have a problem with the hot water in the shower one morning, but otherwise the stay was problem-free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TiaWinter
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Beautiful Hotel, Terrible Housekeeping

The hotel itself is beautiful and we even liked the rooms but only when they are cleaned. The 1st room we received had craisins and hot tamales on the floor but worst of all when we pulled back the sheets it was full of hair. On the comforter, the pillows, the sheets and even on the desk. It was apparent that room hadn’t been cleaned in some time. Thanks to Randy, and his Excellent customer service we got another room right next to it that was actually clean. Randy was so helpful and even called 10 minutes after he left to make sure it was suitable, and it was. All is well or so we thought. The next morning around 10am housekeeping knocked on the door and we asked her to come back later. She rudely said "What time are you leaving, I’m gonna be off this floor in a few minutes? " We stated again to come back later. Well needless to say we left about 2 hours of her initial visit and we even stopped by the front desk to remind them to have our room cleaned. It never was. We called the front desk and too bad we didn’t speak with Randy because we had to call back and complain 20 minutes later when no one showed up to clean it. Finally housekeeping shows up and she's yelling about how if we had left when she told us to at 10am we would've had a clean room. Are you kidding me? Since when do you have to leave your Hotel room that you paid for at a specific time in order to have it cleaned? Never heard of it. But the rest of the stay was fine, we just avoided getting our room cleaned again. Word to the wise….Be prepared to clean your room yourself if you sleep late or get up and out early in the day. Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel doesn’t like late sleepers!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top