$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
426 out of 426
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MSMSJ
Couples
San Jose,California
Jun 17, 2013

Not so good

This is a property that has seen better days. It seems they are trying to get a bit more income from a hotel that needs a complete renovation. For example the listing indicated that there are microwave ovens in the rooms. There are not. They will provide them for $10 extra per night. The room furniture is what appears to be the leftovers from once nice room suites. There is very little closet space and they will not provide extra hangers. The last two nights there was a wedding party in many of the rooms and they were having a party in the rooms with a boom box that went on until 3:00 AM. The hotel staff did nothing about this at the time. On being pressed about it they gave us a different room for our last night. This resulted in our having to move our stuff for one night on our last night. All in all, I cannot recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DGK 251
Business
New Orleans, LA
Sep 27, 2013

Good location & great rates

My wife & I had an overall good experience so I can't say that much about our experience was negative. When it comes to cities, I really expect the best & this was defiantly not the best. However, it was far from the worst. So for everyone considering staying at this location I will say they charge $20 a day for parking & unfortunately you can typically expect to pay approximately that amount at any place you stay. It also does not come with any complementary breakfast. They do give you a wifi pass & that was very nice for us. I was very pleased with the location. It is close to a 24/7 convenient store and there was a Walgreens and CVS right around the corner. The location of this hotel was slap dab in the middle of the city of New Orleans, making it very accessible to any part of the city as well as to the New Orleans's streetcar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 23, 2009

good value but shabby lobby, intersectio

The price was good. The room was clean. modern and well-maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel lobby is under construction. There is nowhere to sit in the lobby and no bathroom to use while waiting for shuttle pick-up . The coffee shop/bar is being rehabbed and there is nowhere to grab coffee or food except for subway shop. The intersection is old deco hotels that are being reahabbed and I imagine it will all be stunning and interesting when it is done. But right now, it feels neglected and slightly dangerous. The staff arranged for my tour by taxi of the 9th ward. the price turned out to be double the $40 I was promised. watch your pockets!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is near Bourbon Street andRoyal Street. jackson Park is a longish walk away and that is much more interesting than around this hotel

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Giancarlo
Couples
Palermo Italy
Jan 9, 2010

CLASSICO HOTEL 4 STELLE INSIGNIFICANTE

the hotel is anonymuos....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shameless tourist
Family
Washington DC
Apr 19, 2010

Nice Hotel in New Orleans

We were planning a trip to visit Tulane University and needed a hotel. I'm price-conscious but also wanted a convenient location as we didn't have a car. Not having any direct knowledge, I was mildly concerned about what I would find at Hotel Barrone. It turned out to be quite satisfactory. There didn't seem to be much traffic in the lobby but the room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a great meal at Landry's Seafood House on 400 N Peters Street. Would highly recommend the blackened catfish Atchafalaya with crawdads and dirty rice.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
new york
Oct 18, 2010

not so great

no heat in the room no hot water, no cribs available even though i called ahead and was assured they had plenty and it would not be a problem when we arrived they said they only had one & it was unavailable maid services did not come till after 5pm which did not work for our sleeping child. found some garbage under the furniture when we checked into the room not cleaned very well, old wrappers soda caps ect....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Pennsylvania
Sep 23, 2010

Disappointing

We arrived after midnight. The only staff were a night manager and parking attendant/bellhop/other who had difficulty speaking and understanding English, and was far from a "people person." He appeared easily frustrated/ unfriendly, perhaps due to a language barrier. I asked for a cot, due to an unexpected traveler joing my daughter and me, and was REFUSED because the night-manager had no access and no housekeeping staff. Eventually I was "upgraded" to a room with two doubles and a couch for the third person. The room had a "musty" odor. The night manager was very polite and helpful, to the extent she could be, and the staff the following morning appeared adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aimee Kat
Friends
Hammond, LA
Jul 13, 2009

okay

I stayed one night. It was an okay experience. The hotel was under renovation. There was a very small staff. I had to call the hotel to even get in and out of teh garage. It was not an automatic garage and they did not have a large enough staff to have someone in teh garage to take care of teh guests. Other than that it was a great location and mosdt everyone was helpful on teh staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Harrah's then Bourbon street. Lots of fun.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2010

Served the purpose location

It was a pleasant atmosphere. There was no refrigerator in the room. Breakfast should be included. I would recommend it to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I loved the location.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J. Wow
Single
New York, NY
Dec 14, 2010

New

With architecture modeled after one of the underground layers in Super Mario Bros. the Baronne Plaza Hotel provides a unique lodging experience for those visiting New Orleans. Located within walking distance of the far nicer Roosevelt Hotel, Ritz Plaza Hotel and yes...a nicer Wyndham Hotel. Everything else was standard fare except the auditory experience provided by the hi-fi plumbing system that turned out sound effects 24/7. The hotel staff was very nice except the one chambermaid who was yelling into her cellphone that "She wasn't playin'". This hotel is not a game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top