$82 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
448 reviews
Best pillows ever!

Had a lovely stay at this hotel. Close to all attractions but far enough away you didnt hear the... See full review

  • emily2255
  • Sep 20, 2014
Loved, loved, loved the Wyndam Baronne Hotel!

I absolutely loved this hotel! It's on Baronne street. A bit tricky to get to the destination... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jul 10, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (448)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
448 out of 448
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2008

overpriced

THIS HOTEL WAS OVER PRICED, NO VALUE FOR YOUR DOLLAR. FIRST OF ALL THE ROOMS ARE ABOUT THE SIZE OF A OVER-SIZED BATH ROOM, DON'T LET THE PICTURES FOOL YOU THERE'S TINY. WHILE I WAS THERE THEY WERE RENOVATING AND THE WAS TRASH EVERY WHERE THE STAFF WASN'T HELPFUL AT ALL. THE SO CALLED EXERCISE ROOM IS A JOKE ABOUT 5 MACHINES IN A TINY ROOM. I WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN. EVER!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
May 9, 2009

...or a building site

We were not informed prior to our trip that the hotel was being renovated and that the restaurant would be closed. In this respect we were misled by Orbitz (see above description). Therefore we are not in a position to give any more feedback than that the room was fine and the staff helpful but that the 'elegant lobby' was a building site. We have filled in the required fields only because they are required, most did not apply at the time of our stay. A strong fog of cement dust filled the air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
he be gb
Business
desoto, tx
Jan 18, 2011

Not so excited

Not what i expected for the rate. Getting Towels took a long time. the floors were extremely cold. Hot water was very short coming. and PARKING WAS A JOKE. We ended up going to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frugal Librarian
Business
Austin, Texas
Jun 30, 2011

No bugs, no breakfast, not so bad

Other than a clerk reserving an excessive amount for incidentals (quickly corrected when pointed out), not being able to provide change for large bills, having continuing nosiy construction, not offering a real restaurant for breakfast, it wasn't so bad. One block to Canal and the Quarter, two to the St. Charles street car line. Makes an OK base for exploring the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deanie's is perhaps not as well known as other New Orleans restaurants but it offers really excellent service and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maybe next time...
Business
Shreveport, Louisiana
Oct 7, 2011

Not Clean at all....

Well let me start off with the only two good things about this Hotel experience, the first was the Front Desk Staff they were OUTSTANDING! The second the Location it is only a few blocks from Bourbon which was nice cause as much as parking is, it is nice to be able to walk there. Now the bad the Hotel doesnt look as nice as it does in the photos I was diappointed. The parking is a JOKE we decided to self park in the parking garage of the Hotel and it was AWEFUL there are big collums in the way and it is extremely difficult to park between that and another car. The room looked ok but it was obvious the sheets hadnt been changed and me and my mom kept feeling like we were getting bit by something. I hardly slept and could not wait to check out Im so glad it was only for one night. As someone who checks this site and others for reviews I felt I was mislead about the others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Courtz
Business
Alliance, NE
Oct 17, 2011

Up all night

For a town that stays up all night, we were up for the wrong reasons. The pillows felt like sleeping on cement. Our cleaning crew tried to accomodate with softer pillows but only came up with one, which my husband and I fought over. We also thought that the restaurant and the Starbucks located in the lobby would have longer hours or be open all day. Not the case. The staff was friendly and helpful and gave us great directions and suggestions. The location is within walking distance to the French Quarter and the Riverwalk (a little longer trek, but doable). The location was good for noise---you couldn't hear any of the music/commotion from the parties downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The trolley stops 2 blocks from the hotel and will take you to various stops by the Riverwalk and up and down Canal street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lucky jerk
Business
chicago
Dec 10, 2011

Over rated hotel

Night staff could not give directions to get to hotel . Later , hot water broke , and had to take "cold showers" to get to meetings. Had to micro manage hotel staff. When leaving, the front desk told me airport was in the opposite direction according to the posted road signs, they told me East when all signs absolutely said West going from New Orleans to the airport ( they could not read a map either) . Hotel in general needs help starting at the upper management level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Better to walk then take taxi or drive Save money

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Austin Business Traveler
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Window looks out onto hall??

The weird floorplan is the reason I would not stay in this hotel again. It seems that most of the rooms do not have a window on the exterior of the building. Instead they have a window that looks out onto the hall. It's just not comfortable. Bad architecture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Singha Thai Cafe about 4 blocks away on Carondelet was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MD from IN
Business
Indiana, USA
Apr 29, 2012

close to Quarter and in downtown

Room 201 was noisy, right between the elevators and the exercise room. Lighting was marginal. For the average cost of $240 per night not a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nomad4dixie
Business
South Carolina
Jul 16, 2012

Needs lots of attention

We found the Wyndham to be clean and refreshing to a point. First issue that faced us was that the staff, especially doormen, we quite shabbily dressed and offered little or no help. When we were leaving it was pouring rain and the doorman continued to lean up against a wall and never offered help or an umbrella. Desk staff many times appeared much too casually attired. The hotel has two elevators, however one of them had the buttons for floors 2 and 4 (our floor) broken for the entire week of our stay. They assured us the first day that repairs would be made, but failed to follow through on that promise. Although we found the rooms clean, they had almost no ammenities.... no microwave, frig, breakfast, pool and etc. We also experienced issues with the cold water in the room (there was none) and that issue was never adequately addressed either. One day we walked out of room and touched the brass railings only to find that they were covered with brass polish and no sign warning of same resulted in my hands being totally blackened. If you visit this hotel be prepared to pay an outrageous amount of money for parking your car in a dark, dingy and tiny basement garage. We were in a Sonata and when parked could hardly even find room to open the door to exit the vehicle. I would have expected much better for such an amount of money. All in all it was a very clean hotel but lacked in all other areas that would bring it up to the status of a good hotel. We definately would NOT stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top