$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
732 reviews
Loved, loved, loved the Wyndam Baronne Hotel!

I absolutely loved this hotel! It's on Baronne street. A bit tricky to get to the destination... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jul 10, 2014
You can't beat it

The Wyndham is phenomenal. It's literally one block away from the French Quarter, so you get all of... See full review

  • The Knight Man
  • Apr 24, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (732)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
732 out of 732
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Apr 20, 2009

Would not go back if life depended on it

I'm going to make this short, sweet, and point form: * They were doing construction in the hotel. Not construction on the hotel...but *in* the hotel. What kind of construction? They were making picture frames. In the hotel! Circular saws and staple guns...to make picture frames! * The rooms look like they came out of the 1960s. * My laptop got stolen from inside my room. Hotel staff did not care. In fact, they yelled at me and called me belligerent. Which, even if true (it wasn't), is inexcusable. Do not go to this hotel. Trust me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Showtime5220
Business
Florida
Oct 19, 2013

Don't Stay Here

Dingy is the best way to describe this hotel. It needs a major renovation. Hallways carpets are dirty and good luck parking a full size sedan in the basement garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 6, 2008

overpriced

THIS HOTEL WAS OVER PRICED, NO VALUE FOR YOUR DOLLAR. FIRST OF ALL THE ROOMS ARE ABOUT THE SIZE OF A OVER-SIZED BATH ROOM, DON'T LET THE PICTURES FOOL YOU THERE'S TINY. WHILE I WAS THERE THEY WERE RENOVATING AND THE WAS TRASH EVERY WHERE THE STAFF WASN'T HELPFUL AT ALL. THE SO CALLED EXERCISE ROOM IS A JOKE ABOUT 5 MACHINES IN A TINY ROOM. I WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN. EVER!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
UK
May 9, 2009

...or a building site

We were not informed prior to our trip that the hotel was being renovated and that the restaurant would be closed. In this respect we were misled by Orbitz (see above description). Therefore we are not in a position to give any more feedback than that the room was fine and the staff helpful but that the 'elegant lobby' was a building site. We have filled in the required fields only because they are required, most did not apply at the time of our stay. A strong fog of cement dust filled the air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Apr 20, 2009

Would not go back if life depended on it

I'm going to make this short, sweet, and point form: * They were doing construction in the hotel. Not construction on the hotel...but *in* the hotel. What kind of construction? They were making picture frames. In the hotel! Circular saws and staple guns...to make picture frames! * The rooms look like they came out of the 1960s. * My laptop got stolen from inside my room. Hotel staff did not care. In fact, they yelled at me and called me belligerent. Which, even if true (it wasn't), is inexcusable. Do not go to this hotel. Trust me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mobile, AL
Mar 29, 2011

Not recommended

No problems with the staff. They were friendly and helpful. However, many if not most of the rooms have NO EXTERIOR WINDOWS! Our room had a window facing THE HALLWAY. Not acceptable. Decor was tacky and not at all coordinated. A/C didn't work very well. Bathroom door was broken. Cigarette burns on the plastic bathtub, and so on... WAY over priced for the quality/features/lack of decor and windows

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Don't stay at the Baronne Plaza
Business
Chicago
Feb 27, 2010

Baronne Plaza Hotel New Orleans

What a dump, and the staff was a joke. Dirty rooms, front desk sleeping, asked for a wake up call... sure no problem... but they did not give me one. Food was not fit for a dog. Loud and stinky. Parking garage is 25.00 a day but you have to get the staff to hand open the gate each time you leave and it can take 15 minutes! I have stayed in some rough areas in my day but this is by far the worst ever and I'm an ex Army Ranger. Do yourself a favor and do not stay here even if it's free! This place is a big ZERO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Short walk to the french quarter... four blocks.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 6, 2011

Just a Facade! as they described ...

As the hotel says, it has an Art Deco facade. And a facade of comfort as well. The room had a window that looked out to a walkway and into another room, so I couldn't have the curtains open unless I wanted to be seen. It felt like a cave. I later noticed that there was no fridge to keep drinks cool, no microwave, a small TV, the hallway was dark and not welcoming. When I arrived in the room I noticed wet towels on the bed and in the bathroom. The bed seemed half made. This may have been simply a miscommunication between housekeeping and front desk? However, the lack of a fridge in New Orleans, in summer, is truly a bad joke!! And the window.... so I cancelled my 4 nights and went up the street to The Hampton Inn, which was fabulous and cheaper and had a great breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I loved Audubon Park and the zoo. And a streetcar ride along St, Charles is a must for every visitor to N.O

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
UK
May 9, 2009

...or a building site

We were not informed prior to our trip that the hotel was being renovated and that the restaurant would be closed. In this respect we were misled by Orbitz (see above description). Therefore we are not in a position to give any more feedback than that the room was fine and the staff helpful but that the 'elegant lobby' was a building site. We have filled in the required fields only because they are required, most did not apply at the time of our stay. A strong fog of cement dust filled the air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 6, 2008

overpriced

THIS HOTEL WAS OVER PRICED, NO VALUE FOR YOUR DOLLAR. FIRST OF ALL THE ROOMS ARE ABOUT THE SIZE OF A OVER-SIZED BATH ROOM, DON'T LET THE PICTURES FOOL YOU THERE'S TINY. WHILE I WAS THERE THEY WERE RENOVATING AND THE WAS TRASH EVERY WHERE THE STAFF WASN'T HELPFUL AT ALL. THE SO CALLED EXERCISE ROOM IS A JOKE ABOUT 5 MACHINES IN A TINY ROOM. I WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN. EVER!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top