$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
457 out of 457
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Don't stay at the Baronne Plaza
Business
Chicago
Feb 27, 2010

Baronne Plaza Hotel New Orleans

What a dump, and the staff was a joke. Dirty rooms, front desk sleeping, asked for a wake up call... sure no problem... but they did not give me one. Food was not fit for a dog. Loud and stinky. Parking garage is 25.00 a day but you have to get the staff to hand open the gate each time you leave and it can take 15 minutes! I have stayed in some rough areas in my day but this is by far the worst ever and I'm an ex Army Ranger. Do yourself a favor and do not stay here even if it's free! This place is a big ZERO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Short walk to the french quarter... four blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 6, 2009

Do Not Waste Your Money There!

Two of my girlfriends and I went to New Orleans from July 1st-July 5th. We picked the Baronne because of the location and due to the fact that we were going during the time of Essence Festival it was reasonably priced. After a horrible traveling experience we couldn't wait to arrive at the hotel and relax a bit. To our surprise when we got there we were greeted with a hotel that was under construction. The main entrance was blocked off, the sidewalk was being gutted, and we had to walk on the street to get into the hotels side entrance. When we walked in the hotel there was no lobby. The entire lobby was demolished. There were construction workers, paint, dirt, sut smoke everywhere! The only thing there was a reception desk. After the horrible flight experience I had that was not a pleasant welcome. I could barely breath in the smoke. I asked the receptionist how long have they been under construction and she replied for a year now. Really?!? If this is so why is it not posted on your website or on Orbitz website where I booked my room? She didn't have an answer for me. I checked in because I needed to relax and decided to call Orbitz when I got upstairs. When we got to the room, it was small, had one window but it was facing the inside of the hotel so there was no scenery or fresh air. When I called Orbitz I told them about the construction and asked why isn't it posted on their website and they said they had no idea the hotel was under construction. The hotel never notified them about it. I told them that it's been under construction for a year and it should be posted as such. We asked if we could get a refund because the description of the hotel is misleading and we wanted to move to another hotel. When Orbitz called the hotel, they said that in order for that to happen we would of had to cancel within 30 days prior to arrival. How was that even possible if we didn't know what type of condition the hotel was in until we got there. They basically trap you into going there. We then asked if we could get a refund for the one night that we didn't stay there due to the fact that our flight was delayed that we didn't get in till the next morning. The hotel would not even do that much. The walls were thin so you heard everything going on in every room nearby. The staff was unhelpful. Called the desk for directions to a restaurant, a club, and for a cab on three different occasions and was told they would call us back on all occasions and never recieved a call back. Had to get a map and figure it out on our own. You can not get any phone signal in the room. Had to leave the hotel to make phone calls. Got disconnected from Orbitz three times when trying to call from room. The only plus side is that the location of the hotel is great. Two blocks from Bourbon and walking distance to mostly everything. I would never stay there again though. I would stay some place within the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If in the need for great seafood go to Landry's which is on 400 N. Peter's street. The food there is to die for and all for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
he be gb
Business
desoto, tx
Jan 18, 2011

Not so excited

Not what i expected for the rate. Getting Towels took a long time. the floors were extremely cold. Hot water was very short coming. and PARKING WAS A JOKE. We ended up going to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frugal Librarian
Business
Austin, Texas
Jun 30, 2011

No bugs, no breakfast, not so bad

Other than a clerk reserving an excessive amount for incidentals (quickly corrected when pointed out), not being able to provide change for large bills, having continuing nosiy construction, not offering a real restaurant for breakfast, it wasn't so bad. One block to Canal and the Quarter, two to the St. Charles street car line. Makes an OK base for exploring the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deanie's is perhaps not as well known as other New Orleans restaurants but it offers really excellent service and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maybe next time...
Business
Shreveport, Louisiana
Oct 7, 2011

Not Clean at all....

Well let me start off with the only two good things about this Hotel experience, the first was the Front Desk Staff they were OUTSTANDING! The second the Location it is only a few blocks from Bourbon which was nice cause as much as parking is, it is nice to be able to walk there. Now the bad the Hotel doesnt look as nice as it does in the photos I was diappointed. The parking is a JOKE we decided to self park in the parking garage of the Hotel and it was AWEFUL there are big collums in the way and it is extremely difficult to park between that and another car. The room looked ok but it was obvious the sheets hadnt been changed and me and my mom kept feeling like we were getting bit by something. I hardly slept and could not wait to check out Im so glad it was only for one night. As someone who checks this site and others for reviews I felt I was mislead about the others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Courtz
Business
Alliance, NE
Oct 17, 2011

Up all night

For a town that stays up all night, we were up for the wrong reasons. The pillows felt like sleeping on cement. Our cleaning crew tried to accomodate with softer pillows but only came up with one, which my husband and I fought over. We also thought that the restaurant and the Starbucks located in the lobby would have longer hours or be open all day. Not the case. The staff was friendly and helpful and gave us great directions and suggestions. The location is within walking distance to the French Quarter and the Riverwalk (a little longer trek, but doable). The location was good for noise---you couldn't hear any of the music/commotion from the parties downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The trolley stops 2 blocks from the hotel and will take you to various stops by the Riverwalk and up and down Canal street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lucky jerk
Business
chicago
Dec 10, 2011

Over rated hotel

Night staff could not give directions to get to hotel . Later , hot water broke , and had to take "cold showers" to get to meetings. Had to micro manage hotel staff. When leaving, the front desk told me airport was in the opposite direction according to the posted road signs, they told me East when all signs absolutely said West going from New Orleans to the airport ( they could not read a map either) . Hotel in general needs help starting at the upper management level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Better to walk then take taxi or drive Save money

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Austin Business Traveler
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Window looks out onto hall??

The weird floorplan is the reason I would not stay in this hotel again. It seems that most of the rooms do not have a window on the exterior of the building. Instead they have a window that looks out onto the hall. It's just not comfortable. Bad architecture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Singha Thai Cafe about 4 blocks away on Carondelet was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MD from IN
Business
Indiana, USA
Apr 29, 2012

close to Quarter and in downtown

Room 201 was noisy, right between the elevators and the exercise room. Lighting was marginal. For the average cost of $240 per night not a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nomad4dixie
Business
South Carolina
Jul 16, 2012

Needs lots of attention

We found the Wyndham to be clean and refreshing to a point. First issue that faced us was that the staff, especially doormen, we quite shabbily dressed and offered little or no help. When we were leaving it was pouring rain and the doorman continued to lean up against a wall and never offered help or an umbrella. Desk staff many times appeared much too casually attired. The hotel has two elevators, however one of them had the buttons for floors 2 and 4 (our floor) broken for the entire week of our stay. They assured us the first day that repairs would be made, but failed to follow through on that promise. Although we found the rooms clean, they had almost no ammenities.... no microwave, frig, breakfast, pool and etc. We also experienced issues with the cold water in the room (there was none) and that issue was never adequately addressed either. One day we walked out of room and touched the brass railings only to find that they were covered with brass polish and no sign warning of same resulted in my hands being totally blackened. If you visit this hotel be prepared to pay an outrageous amount of money for parking your car in a dark, dingy and tiny basement garage. We were in a Sonata and when parked could hardly even find room to open the door to exit the vehicle. I would have expected much better for such an amount of money. All in all it was a very clean hotel but lacked in all other areas that would bring it up to the status of a good hotel. We definately would NOT stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top