Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
449 reviews
Great hotel near Bourbon St.

This stay was a great one. The hotel was in a great area and the walk to Bourbon was not bad at... See full review

  • Jon Moss
  • Nov 23, 2014
Great location

Perfect location to stores, food, and fun. Easy to find not far off the interstate. Right around... See full review

  • Asl8492
  • Nov 23, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (449)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
449 out of 449
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling Grifter
Business
TN
Jul 30, 2010

The Bad and the Ugly

The first thing you learn when checking into this hotel is that they do not have any street level parking--none. They do however have a parking garage that is the size of a sardine can that the hotel will graciously allow you to use for the small sum of $25.00 per day. When I say small I mean small. It was full when we checked in and had to park at a public parking garage a block and a half away. Imagine the fun of toting your belongings that distance in 95+ degree heat with about 80% humidity. We were able to park in the garage the next day but our bill for parking for 5 days was almost $150.00. That was a blow to the vacation fund. Check In was a lengthy process. There was only one person checking people in and we had to stand in line for about 30 minutes. The room itself was not bad but was cramped. The bed took up about 85% of the room. We also noticed that there seemed to be a problem with hot water. During your shower the water would mysteriously disappear for about 20-30 seconds and then come back on and we had to take several showers with luke warm water at best. One thing that would have made the room better would have been a small fridge. We like to carry soda's and snacks on our trips and had no way to keep them cool. We stayed on the top floor of the hotel and staying cool was not an issue in the room but the public hallways were a different story. The public areas on our floor were uncomfortably warm. This hotel was rated at 3 stars but I don't think we will be recommending this hotel to anyone. The one advantage of this hotel is that it is only 1 block from the French Quarter and within easy walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2 Disappointed 2 Return
Business
Chicago, Il
Apr 20, 2013

A roof over your head

My visit to New Orleans was entirely self-researched, so I have no one to blame for the decision. However, I knew from the time I entered the room, with a non-working TV, that the trip was going to be less than memorable. Staff were friendly, but not enough staff were on duty to help you when you needed it. The hotel provided me with a roof over my head and a place to be when not sight-seeing. There are a lot of nice hotels and B&B's in New Orleans. I will try another place on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the super city tour on your first day in the city, and find the sights you would like to see. It wii save you some time an money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ben Russo
Business
Portland Maine
Oct 16, 2013

New Orleans

The hotel was very nice. Unfortunately for us, LSU and Florida state had a football game and all the college kids stayed in our hotel. Our check in time was pushed out until 5:30 because they were trying to get all the kids settled. The first two nights we got no sleep because the kids partied until 4am. The hotel did nothing to stop them even after our countless calls to the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Showtime5220
Business
Florida
Oct 19, 2013

Don't Stay Here

Dingy is the best way to describe this hotel. It needs a major renovation. Hallways carpets are dirty and good luck parking a full size sedan in the basement garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mobile, AL
Mar 29, 2011

Not recommended

No problems with the staff. They were friendly and helpful. However, many if not most of the rooms have NO EXTERIOR WINDOWS! Our room had a window facing THE HALLWAY. Not acceptable. Decor was tacky and not at all coordinated. A/C didn't work very well. Bathroom door was broken. Cigarette burns on the plastic bathtub, and so on... WAY over priced for the quality/features/lack of decor and windows

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2008

overpriced

THIS HOTEL WAS OVER PRICED, NO VALUE FOR YOUR DOLLAR. FIRST OF ALL THE ROOMS ARE ABOUT THE SIZE OF A OVER-SIZED BATH ROOM, DON'T LET THE PICTURES FOOL YOU THERE'S TINY. WHILE I WAS THERE THEY WERE RENOVATING AND THE WAS TRASH EVERY WHERE THE STAFF WASN'T HELPFUL AT ALL. THE SO CALLED EXERCISE ROOM IS A JOKE ABOUT 5 MACHINES IN A TINY ROOM. I WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN. EVER!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
May 9, 2009

...or a building site

We were not informed prior to our trip that the hotel was being renovated and that the restaurant would be closed. In this respect we were misled by Orbitz (see above description). Therefore we are not in a position to give any more feedback than that the room was fine and the staff helpful but that the 'elegant lobby' was a building site. We have filled in the required fields only because they are required, most did not apply at the time of our stay. A strong fog of cement dust filled the air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 6, 2011

Just a Facade! as they described ...

As the hotel says, it has an Art Deco facade. And a facade of comfort as well. The room had a window that looked out to a walkway and into another room, so I couldn't have the curtains open unless I wanted to be seen. It felt like a cave. I later noticed that there was no fridge to keep drinks cool, no microwave, a small TV, the hallway was dark and not welcoming. When I arrived in the room I noticed wet towels on the bed and in the bathroom. The bed seemed half made. This may have been simply a miscommunication between housekeeping and front desk? However, the lack of a fridge in New Orleans, in summer, is truly a bad joke!! And the window.... so I cancelled my 4 nights and went up the street to The Hampton Inn, which was fabulous and cheaper and had a great breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I loved Audubon Park and the zoo. And a streetcar ride along St, Charles is a must for every visitor to N.O

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Apr 20, 2009

Would not go back if life depended on it

I'm going to make this short, sweet, and point form: * They were doing construction in the hotel. Not construction on the hotel...but *in* the hotel. What kind of construction? They were making picture frames. In the hotel! Circular saws and staple guns...to make picture frames! * The rooms look like they came out of the 1960s. * My laptop got stolen from inside my room. Hotel staff did not care. In fact, they yelled at me and called me belligerent. Which, even if true (it wasn't), is inexcusable. Do not go to this hotel. Trust me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Sep 28, 2009

Don't Make The Mistake We Made

I should have listened to all that I had read in previous reviews. I thought that some construction in the lobby area was something I could overlook, and I was right. However, this hotel has too many other problems which affect hotel guests. After checking in, we discovered that the King room we had requested was not what we got. We had to go back downstairs, turn in the old keys, and go to a different room. When we went to this room, we found that it was not the exterior room we had been told we had when we called to confirm our reservation. We chose to overlook this and stay in the room. We quickly learned that the cold water faucet in the bathroom was really the hot, and the hot was really the cold. This didn't matter much since we had only luke warm water in the sink and shower. We had to have both of these fixed. Everything seemed okay until their wireless Internet access went down. Then of course there was the LOUD party in a room down the hall in the middle of the night. Despite calling the front desk and being told that it would be handled, it was not. The second night saw more of the same when we were awaken at 3:55am with the lould carrying on from another party in the same room. We called the front desk again and were told it would be handled. It of course was not. The noise continued up until 6:30am. From the appearance of things at this hotel, it looked more like a frat house based on the guests and the partying that was apparently allowed. The air conditioning vent points straight at the bed, blowing directly on you. We tried to move the vent slats, doing the best we could (not easy to do), and found they were filthy, as if they have never been cleaned. We also had to laugh at the $20 they charge to your card for "incidentals". What incidentals? There is no mini-bar...no pay per view. And we certainly weren't going to steal the small thin towels they give you for the shower. With the rooms supposedly being refurbished, I didn't expect to see cracks in the bathroom ceiling, and lumps under the carpet that you can easily trip on. When we called to confirm our reservation, my fiancee asked if there was a gym. She was told there was and given the hours. What they failed to tell her was that at least 3 machines had "out of order" signs on them. We should have listened to all the "don't stay here" reviews. We know better now, and will not be staying there on our next New Orleans trip. Maybe they will eventually get their act together, but it appears that is a long way off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top