$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
732 reviews
Loved, loved, loved the Wyndam Baronne Hotel!

I absolutely loved this hotel! It's on Baronne street. A bit tricky to get to the destination... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jul 10, 2014
You can't beat it

The Wyndham is phenomenal. It's literally one block away from the French Quarter, so you get all of... See full review

  • The Knight Man
  • Apr 24, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (732)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 732
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 2, 2007

Looking for a hotel? Choose the Baronne Plaza Hotel!

The Baronne Plaza Hotel was a very nice hotel. It was in an older building but that was completely okay. The staff was very nice and helpful. There was a restaurant in the hotel which was nice so we didn't have to walk to one if we didn't feel like it. Our room was in the middle of the building because our window looked out over the lobby of the hotel and I thought that was great. I felt safe having a window like that because if someone wanted to break in, they would have to actually come into the hotel to do it. Overall our stay was great and I don't think I could have picked a comfortable and inexpensive hotel anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon was just a few blocks down and the walk had some nice views!

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 13, 2008

Great location and value

This hotel was great. We were able to walk to all areas we wanted to see. They were in the process of remodeling, but our room was already completed and was outstanding, especially for the price we paid. I would recommend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boynton beach, fl
Jun 10, 2011

Great place in a great place

We've been to Nola many times and never had compliments for the hotel. This place was great, desk staff were great, just plain great overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OLIMPIA
Temple, GA
Jul 29, 2009

Family Reunion

I love my visit @ your hotel :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dardanelle
Oct 27, 2008

Great location

Great location for a night on the town in New Orleans. Me and my husband stayed there before we went on our cruise and we went on Bourbon Street the night before. It was the perfect location for a very low price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Canal Street; Superdome

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mizark68
Biloxi, Ms.
Jun 12, 2010

Great trip

Hotel staff was helpful in finding new places to eat, and things to do while in New Orleans. We go all the time and this was one of our best trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Howl at the Moon

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison WI
Jun 2, 2010

Great location & quiet!

Great location within walking distance of French Quarter action. Extremely helpful staff with info on attractions, arranging reservations, calling cabs etc. Love the art deco look. Building is very clean and well maintained. All this without the noise and bustle I've experienced at other downtown hotels in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need within blocks of the hotel. Bars,variety of restaurants,entertainment and stores. No need for a car or cab. Bring an umbrella!

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicabelle
Key West, FL, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Clean

This hotel was great. It was within walking distance of everything in the French Quarter, while being far away enough so it was clean and quite. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Cajun Mike's is right down the street. This bar is so charming and fantastic; we spent a lot of time there.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 13, 2011

Great Experience!!

This hotel was in an excellent location, very short walk to Bourban St, the trolley..pretty much everything. We drove from Houston, so we had a car, but didn't use it once the whole trip! BTW....parking is pretty tight. If we would have brought our Surburban, I don't think it would have made the curve. Yes, there was no pool or window to the outside in our room, but the little time we spent in the hotel, it didn't matter. For the price, couldn't have got any better! The staff was very helpful and correct with their recommendations. Don't bother with IHop for breakfast, closer is Daisy Dukes. If you get there between 5:30 and 9:30 $3.99, breakfast that's $7.99 at Ihop and much better and bigger! Deanna's (I think or Deann's) had a great lunch special 2 soft shell crab for $12.95, was delish! Don't bother with Acme, staff was rude before we even got in the resturant, waiters were leaving using profane language referring to the manager about their schedule, right as we were going in, what? Plus most the locals said it was overpriced, and not worth it. We left and were glad we did. Pier 432(or 423) had awesome melt in your mouth shrimp and scallop quesadillas and delish chargrilled oysters. Deann's oysters were not as good, but everything else there was great! I'm no history buff, but the WWII museum was awesome. I wouldn't recommend to bring a child under 10 though, unless of couse they are a history buff. I saw many bored faces on young children and parents were rushing through. This is not something that you want to rush! I would allow 2 1/2 to 3 hours or more! Like I said, I'm no history buff, but it is that awesome!! We took the trolley to the garden district and walked around on our own, nice houses. We also visited the cemetery there, very intresting. We took one tour the first night, a "haunted tour". Guide just wanted to give us a history lesson, said he didn't believe in ghosts (which is fine, neither do I), but his attitude was like he enjoyed telling kids there was no Santa! We looked around, other groups were laughing and having fun, 5 people left before our tour was over. They're all $20, my advise, don't book with Magic Tours. The journey we did on our way home was the highlight of our trip, airboat tour!! The place had 2 albino aligators, way cool looking! The map on their booklet was misleading, so if you're driving, use GPS or your phone! From what I could understand, our guide was very knowledgable with a great sense of humor. We saw at least 20 aligators, stunning scenery and fun ride! To all the nay sayers, yes there were places it didn't smell pretty, but it wasn't as bad as I imagined. Only asked for change once. If you don't like drunks, don't go to Bourban at night. Great town, great people, great hotel. FUN long weekend!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Sep 2, 2010

1 1/2 blocks from the French Quarter

Good base of operations from which to enjoy the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat local for the best food at the best prices.

Back to menu Return to top