$82 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
446 reviews
Best pillows ever!

Had a lovely stay at this hotel. Close to all attractions but far enough away you didnt hear the... See full review

  • emily2255
  • Sep 20, 2014
Loved, loved, loved the Wyndam Baronne Hotel!

I absolutely loved this hotel! It's on Baronne street. A bit tricky to get to the destination... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jul 10, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (446)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
446 out of 446
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Havelock, North Carolina
Jul 9, 2009

Great Location and Service

I was down for the July 4th Essence Music Festival was`nt really sure where to stay because events were happening at Superdome and the civic center, so I choose the Baronne because it was close to the Dome by the description on the Web site and it was. Everything was within a 15 minute walk, the Dome, the French Quarter and the Convention Center. I just wish ther was no construction being done, it did`nt bother me because I was`nt in my room much but it is a beautiful place but bar or club that would be a great addition a place to relax and compose after along day of Playing.I will not be using Cheaptickets again because after checking I know I could have gotten a better deal thru the airline and a much easier flight, I will do them seperate next year for sure. Did`nt see the pool area so I can`t speak on that. Overall my trip was pleasant. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is a just a walk away plus you`re in New Orleans you have to walk to get the Essence of the city by walking,during my stay there was always people out walking (visitors) even at 2am and later so walking was not a problem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leesville, LA
Jul 10, 2009

Great location

I chose this hotel because of the prime location and affordable price for the Annual Essence Festival. Though the hotel was under construction, the service was still wonderful. I will definantly try to stay here next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Life
Business
New orleans
Jul 9, 2009

Great Hotel

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
de bassmaster
Business
thib,la
Dec 20, 2009

good price for the location

nothing bad about this hotel except they didn`t clean the room while we were out.Told them about it and all we needed was towels.They were there with the towels in short order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
De
Business
Chandler, AZ
Mar 26, 2010

Very Good!

Very friendly staff, very helpful. Very nice and clean rooms. Super Comfy beds and pillows. Great location, close to everything. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Lafayette, La
Apr 24, 2010

great when on a budget

I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was close enough to Bourbon and Canal, but far enough to where it was queit. The room was perfect for the few days we were there! The ONLY complaint I have was the tourist advice the front desk gave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J-bear
Business
Regina, SK
Jun 23, 2010

Great place to stay

Was a great hotel for the price. The staff were very knowledgeable of the local things to do, even some less known things. Rooms were very clean and well appointed. Very fast internet. One block to the French Quarter and two blocks from Bourbon St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Frenchman St. for some great original jazz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spasmodica Fiasco
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 13, 2010

A hidden gem...

I stayed at the Baronne Plaza for three nights, taking in New Orleans. Location was great for the price, as it was literally a five-minute walk to Bourbon Street and the waterfront. Rooms were spotless, staff was attentive and helpful, and the art deco touches and internal open-air splendor added class. The only downside is parking ($20/night + LA state taxes to use Baronne garage), BUT keep in mind that there is *no* free parking in the vicinity, and from my own legwork and peeking in parking garages as I walked past, I could see that the fees at Baronne Plaza were on par with hotels in a several block radius. Even with parking, this place was a great value, and I will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob & Carol's Great Adventure
Business
Buffalo, NY
Oct 13, 2010

Four Day Get-away

The Hotel was very clean, staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect as it was only a couple of blocks from Bourbon Street in a quiet area. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milford, MA
Feb 3, 2011

Visiting our Granddaughter

It was very convenient to the French Quarter and within walking distance to many attractions. One block over was the cable car that was able to take us to many attractions. We don't take many trips but it was better than the last because of the location and closeness of the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't need to rent a car if you stay at this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top