$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
732 reviews
Loved, loved, loved the Wyndam Baronne Hotel!

I absolutely loved this hotel! It's on Baronne street. A bit tricky to get to the destination... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jul 10, 2014
You can't beat it

The Wyndham is phenomenal. It's literally one block away from the French Quarter, so you get all of... See full review

  • The Knight Man
  • Apr 24, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (732)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
732 out of 732
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPack
Richmond, VA
May 2, 2011

Jazz Fest getaway

This was a great location in New Orleans. We walked to the French Quarter and Frenchman Street easily. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We were given an atrium room (room with no natural light window) and the staff helped us find a room with a natural light window. I would suggest a non atrium room as the window and added couple of feet make a big difference. The fitness space was OK.... dated and small. Overall we had a lovely stay in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Three Muses On Frenchman is a lovely place to go enjoy a drink and listen to fantastic live music. We especially loved Miss Sophie Lee who sings with her band on Frenchman frequently. Don't miss her. She is a real gem!

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wow!
Montreal, Qc
Dec 8, 2010

rooms rooms

The rooms was very clean, nice, but, i didnt like the room who give the window in the interior of te hotel, and the heat didnt works good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
birmingham
Oct 18, 2010

hotel review

very nice some small things about hotel but ok for price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pella, IA
Mar 16, 2010

convenient location

This location put us a short walk from the St. Charles streetcar to Tulane ($1.25vs $14 by cab).McDonalds coffee and Wallgreens drugs are 1 1/2 blocks away. The French Quarter is also very close. Try the nearby resterant, Dominica,for a wonderful dinner. The beds were ultra-comfortable, the elevator speedy, and the desk clerks knowlegeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the streetcars! They cost $1.25,exact change, each way. Just hop on one and talk to the locals. These riders are the people who can help you get anywhere by public transportation. They love their city...who wouldn't? Enjoy the N.O. architecture along the way!

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BRRR
New Orleans LA
Sep 22, 2013

Good experience

Hotel is two blocks from Bourbon Street and is well within walking distance. Rooms have been updated and are very clean. Staff was helpful. The only thing missing is a pool, but I didn't have time for it anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BW
WB Alabama
Oct 23, 2010

Oveall nice hotel.

sight seeing eating shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2tricky
Columbus, OH
Mar 3, 2009

Jackpot!

We picked this hotel because of the great price package (air & hotel)that was offered at the time we booked. We were a little nervous because of the current pictures available on Orbitz site seemed a little dated but the price was too good to pass up, especially for Mardi Gras. When the shuttle pulled up to the hotel we were even more skeptacle as this hotel is in a converted Sears and Roebuck building. However, once we were inside our fears started to subside. The desk clerk was very friendly, courteous and helpful. We had arrived early and without fanfare were given two adjacent rooms on the top floor of the hotel. We went directly to the rooms to drop our luggage and found, much to our delight, a very clean, modern and updated rooms! We had read that the hotel had been going through an extensive remodeling and even though we saw remnants of construction in the lobby we were pleased to find that the rooms had been renovated rather nicely. The hotel currently doesn't have a full restaurant or bar but did offer a breakfast buffet for a fee. Not to worry as the hotel is a short two blocks walk from Bourbon Street and the French Quarter where on can find a myriad of drinking and dining choices. Did I mention it was Mardi Gras? The hotel was in a great location just outside the French Quarter and a block from the parade route on Canal Street and as long as you didn't get caught on the wrong side of the parades you were fine (you can't cross the street during a parade!)The hotel was relatively quiet (it was Mardi Gras) and the beds and pillows were VERY comfortable. Maid service was great as well as they kept the roms very clean and we didn't have to request any additional services.All in all we could not have been happier with this hotel and would DEFINITELY stay there again if in New Orleans any time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
plymouth, MN
Oct 7, 2010

Very quite nice room good loction

The room nice size it has a nice desk to work at good lighting the air is to cold or to hot. no thermostat. just on or off. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a pass 5.00 a day for the street car.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tequila travel addict
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 5, 2011

Great Experience

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was convienant to Bourborn Street the French Quarters and the Casino. No car was needed for this trip because everything we needed was right at arms reach. Or in walking distance. I would definitely return to and recommend this hotel to others. The rooms were clean and very comfortable considering the first couple days I laid in bed with a shoulder injury. The only thing missing was a pool...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No-nonsense
Business
rochester, ny
Apr 11, 2011

Great location, excellent staff

Was there for a major conference that was held in multiple hotels on canal street- this hotel is in a perfect location that is close to all the activity, but not in the middle of all the craze, making it possible to have a quiet place to stay/regroup. The room itself is good- clean and beds are super comfortable. Only drawback of the room I was in was that there were no windows facing out. Best part of the hotel is the staff, who are all SUPER friendly, helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mila is diagonally across from the hotel and is delicious. They have great pris fixe menus. Close and highly recommended.

Back to menu Return to top