$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
447 reviews
Loved, loved, loved the Wyndam Baronne Hotel!

I absolutely loved this hotel! It's on Baronne street. A bit tricky to get to the destination... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jul 10, 2014
You can't beat it

The Wyndham is phenomenal. It's literally one block away from the French Quarter, so you get all of... See full review

  • The Knight Man
  • Apr 24, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (447)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
447 out of 447
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boynton beach, fl
Jun 10, 2011

Great place in a great place

We've been to Nola many times and never had compliments for the hotel. This place was great, desk staff were great, just plain great overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patricia T.
Newark, Delaware
Jul 15, 2011

Essence Music Festival 2011

Me and Hubby attended the Essence Music Festival 2011. Our stay at the Garden Baronne was the best ever. The bed was super comfortable and our room was exceptionally cleaned daily. The desk clerks were very polite and very helpful especially on giving directions. This location is right around the corner from Walgreens and only two blocks from Bourbon Street. The day we arrived we immediately wanted to jump in the shower, but there was NO hot water. We called the front desk, two mainenance men showed up and fixed the problem within fifteen minutes (something to do with them adjusting the temparture) Yes, we would stay here again. Sidenote: No refrigerator or microwave are in the rooms, but you are allowed to use the frige and microwave down in the cafe area, which we did do. If you have special medications like insulin that needs to stay refrigerated there is a private frige behind the desk clerks area for use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment was only a hop, skip and jump away (Bourbon street was about two maybe three blocks away).

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fairfax
May 26, 2008

Great Value

We had a newly renovated room, with a very nice plasma tv. It was very clean and comforatable. Also the location is great!! The hotel is only a few short blocks to Bourbon Street and a very easy walk to the French Quater, Aquarium and Riverwalk Mall. This hotel is a great value and we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bmcgov
Lafayette. LA
Mar 3, 2009

Wonderful experience!!

My wife and I decided to take a weekend getaway. We travel to New Orleans several times a year since it is only a couple of hours away and we really love the city. We have stayed at numerous hotels and B&B's the last 20 years or so both in the French Quarter, downtown, Uptown and in the Garden District. Seldom staying at the same hotel more than twice. When we arrived at the hotel, the first thing I noticed was how clean the lobby was. It was apparent that there was construction taking place at the hotel and I was a little concerned about dust and noise. Turned out the rest of the hotel was as clean as the lobby. The staff was very friendly and helpful and check in was quiet easy. The parking was probably the best and most efficiant I've ever experience in New Orleans. The parking lot was right under the hotel and extremely easy to access from the lobby!! Not bad for a city under sea level!!! the staff was. The room was an interior room with no view of the city, but it was probably the most surprising of all. Extremely clean and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in in a hotel. No restaurant or lounge on premisis, but this is New Orleans there's one on every corner. When we go back to New Orleans, the Baronne will be our first choice for a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from the French Quarter and right in downtown. We discovered a little bar on Gravier St. called Joes or something like that just about 3 blocks from the hotel. It's kinda tucked away but a place where the locals go. Play a little rock and roll trivia with the bar tender.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 13, 2011

Great Experience!!

This hotel was in an excellent location, very short walk to Bourban St, the trolley..pretty much everything. We drove from Houston, so we had a car, but didn't use it once the whole trip! BTW....parking is pretty tight. If we would have brought our Surburban, I don't think it would have made the curve. Yes, there was no pool or window to the outside in our room, but the little time we spent in the hotel, it didn't matter. For the price, couldn't have got any better! The staff was very helpful and correct with their recommendations. Don't bother with IHop for breakfast, closer is Daisy Dukes. If you get there between 5:30 and 9:30 $3.99, breakfast that's $7.99 at Ihop and much better and bigger! Deanna's (I think or Deann's) had a great lunch special 2 soft shell crab for $12.95, was delish! Don't bother with Acme, staff was rude before we even got in the resturant, waiters were leaving using profane language referring to the manager about their schedule, right as we were going in, what? Plus most the locals said it was overpriced, and not worth it. We left and were glad we did. Pier 432(or 423) had awesome melt in your mouth shrimp and scallop quesadillas and delish chargrilled oysters. Deann's oysters were not as good, but everything else there was great! I'm no history buff, but the WWII museum was awesome. I wouldn't recommend to bring a child under 10 though, unless of couse they are a history buff. I saw many bored faces on young children and parents were rushing through. This is not something that you want to rush! I would allow 2 1/2 to 3 hours or more! Like I said, I'm no history buff, but it is that awesome!! We took the trolley to the garden district and walked around on our own, nice houses. We also visited the cemetery there, very intresting. We took one tour the first night, a "haunted tour". Guide just wanted to give us a history lesson, said he didn't believe in ghosts (which is fine, neither do I), but his attitude was like he enjoyed telling kids there was no Santa! We looked around, other groups were laughing and having fun, 5 people left before our tour was over. They're all $20, my advise, don't book with Magic Tours. The journey we did on our way home was the highlight of our trip, airboat tour!! The place had 2 albino aligators, way cool looking! The map on their booklet was misleading, so if you're driving, use GPS or your phone! From what I could understand, our guide was very knowledgable with a great sense of humor. We saw at least 20 aligators, stunning scenery and fun ride! To all the nay sayers, yes there were places it didn't smell pretty, but it wasn't as bad as I imagined. Only asked for change once. If you don't like drunks, don't go to Bourban at night. Great town, great people, great hotel. FUN long weekend!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Team Maddie
Houston, Tx
Jul 10, 2011

Aww!! Loved this Hotel

This was a stellar hotel. I enjoyed this place even though I was in New Orleans for a funeral for a dear friend who died at 30.....The staff was wonderful, the only problem was the parking. The beds were heavenly comfortable. The space was sooooo tight and I had a suburban! lol Great place to stay though, very up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right at downtown, walking distance to the french quarters.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biissonah
Florida
Jul 31, 2011

Great Hotel

Love the hotel, clean and really great deal for the price. Can't complain at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie C P
West Monroe, LA, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Saints game

Great quality. Great location. Great price. Stayed here before. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You are close enough to all the sights of New Orleans to walk. If not, you can ride the trolley.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria
Dec 27, 2008

Comfort

Barrone Plaza is a beutiful hotel with some of the most comfortable rooms I have ever stayed in. The rooms were quiet even at full occupancy. This hotel will be even better when the renovations are complete and the restaurant or bar open. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The world famous Burbon street is only two blocks away. The stret car line is only one block. Walgreens and brothers chicken as well as fantastic local eateries are only a block away.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbiana
Jan 4, 2009

Wonderful Surprise

The Baronne Hotel was a wonderful surprise. The hotel was very nice and the staff was pleasant and very helpful. The room was very nice, clean, and confortable. My only complaint is that the dining options were limited, although we had a fantastic meal at the Palace Cafe, which is only 3 blocks away. Overall, I would return to the Baronne without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search