Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
443 reviews
Best pillows ever!

Had a lovely stay at this hotel. Close to all attractions but far enough away you didnt hear the... See full review

  • emily2255
  • Sep 20, 2014
Loved, loved, loved the Wyndam Baronne Hotel!

I absolutely loved this hotel! It's on Baronne street. A bit tricky to get to the destination... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jul 10, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (443)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
443 out of 443
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Apr 3, 2008

Good Location

Hotel rooms were vey clean, comfortable and much larger than expected. We were amazed to find how conveniently located the hotel is to the areas of interest -- namely French Quarters, Bourbon Street, Harris Casino, shopping area,etc. Great service from hotel staff. Very accomodating to us who needed storage for our parcels as we await our departure to the ship. Would recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is near shpping, nightlife, entertainment, and restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 21, 2008

Wedding

This is a very nice Hotel. I would recommend it to any guests. The price was very affordable. The the design is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Street is located a couple blocks over. There are many many stores and restaurants to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 2, 2007

Looking for a hotel? Choose the Baronne Plaza Hotel!

The Baronne Plaza Hotel was a very nice hotel. It was in an older building but that was completely okay. The staff was very nice and helpful. There was a restaurant in the hotel which was nice so we didn't have to walk to one if we didn't feel like it. Our room was in the middle of the building because our window looked out over the lobby of the hotel and I thought that was great. I felt safe having a window like that because if someone wanted to break in, they would have to actually come into the hotel to do it. Overall our stay was great and I don't think I could have picked a comfortable and inexpensive hotel anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon was just a few blocks down and the walk had some nice views!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Paso
Aug 21, 2008

Nice Hotel

We enjoyed our stay, room was newly renovated, very clean, friendly staff. Lots of improvements being made, close to Bourbon Street, and French Quarter, all fun places and main attractions within walking distance yet away from the noise. Many restaurants close by to choose from. Just DO NOT take the Airport Shuttle,very unreliable service, the front desk people will be very happy to call a taxi for you, and they use a service that was very quick and costs the same as the service from the airport. We truly recommend this hotel, perfect and reasonable priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mama Kitty
Gulfport, MS, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Lovely Art Deco

I really did enjoy my stay and will go back again! The staff is amazing and personable and humorous. The hot water was a little odd, but once I learned the trick, it was fine. The location is really good in downtown New Orleans. The art deco look of the hotel makes it seem especially flavored with New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellant sushi restaraunt in hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emily2255
Business
boston
Sep 20, 2014

Best pillows ever!

Had a lovely stay at this hotel. Close to all attractions but far enough away you didnt hear the noise. Beds were amazing. Might even order the hotel pillows for home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amazing pizza at Waldolf hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 13, 2008

Great location and value

This hotel was great. We were able to walk to all areas we wanted to see. They were in the process of remodeling, but our room was already completed and was outstanding, especially for the price we paid. I would recommend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack S.
Tyrone, PA
Jun 21, 2010

Another 'special' memory from New Orlean

We enjoyed the fabulous dining, for 6 nights. And our recreation and sight seeing trips. At Anaurald's, the chef actually personally demostrated his art of 'correctly'preparing his puffed potatoes!!!!!!!!!!! We meet and spoke personally with the Governor at Acme's Oyster Bar. We could of done without all the rain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has been upgraded beautifully, I've been coming here for many years. The hotel, now, lacks nothing. Their staff is very helpful and pleasant! Enjoy yourselves.We were even able to get a refrig./microwave for our room; (we needed for our med's.) Having a safe parking area for our car was a plus, also.a Improvement, include the cost breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dardanelle
Oct 27, 2008

Great location

Great location for a night on the town in New Orleans. Me and my husband stayed there before we went on our cruise and we went on Bourbon Street the night before. It was the perfect location for a very low price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Canal Street; Superdome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oxnard Ca
Jun 24, 2010

An Exception to the ordinary

The staff treated me like family,very clean and easy and safe walk to the Quarter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top