$92 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 29, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
454 reviews
My safe Buckeye Sugar Bowl trip

From the minute I arrived by way of the airport shuttle to the drop-off at the airport to come home... See full review

  • Deborah J.
  • Jan 6, 2015
New Orleans Vacation

Hotel staff very friendly. Restaurant attached to hotel very good. Service also excellent. Be aware... See full review

  • Nettie1954
  • Dec 23, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (454)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
454 out of 454
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K. Fields
Business
Houma, LA
Jul 12, 2012

Great Place

Great location to everything I wanted to see. The streetcar line was one block away. The bed was really comfortable. I had to force my self out of it. I could have stayed in bed all day. Wireless Internet was FREE. Parking was $20. But I knew I would have to pay to lark because of the great location to everything. Parking was kind of tight and located in the basement of the hotel but my car seemed to be safe. I would defiantly stay at this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The street car line was nice. Buy a Jazzy Pass for $3 and you can ride all of the Street Cars. It cost $1.25 per trip. You would save a few dollars there are 4 different routes to travel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bully97
Business
Birmingham, AL, USA
Jul 8, 2012

Great Trip only made better by Good Hotel!

The staff was friendly and helpful, the room nice and comfy. Only one detail was missed and it was our waters were not replaced. Everything else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Sushi Restaurant next to the Hotel was very good and food was very fresh.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time NOLA visitor
Business
Indiana
Jul 6, 2012

I'll stay here again

My check-in was fast. The room and bathroom were spacious and spotless. I was visiting a friend who lives in an apartment building across the street, so the location was perfect. The only (minor) criticisms I had were: 1) that the bath towels were what you'd expect in a cheap motel - not very large, and very coarse; and 2) one front desk person had a bit of an attitude problem when I stopped to inquire about the airport shuttle. She seemed to be more interested in talking with a friend there than asking if she could assist me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ysabel28
Business
New Orleans
Jul 1, 2012

Not a bad place

The location is perfect, the room was not that confortable because you can hear the noise from people coming from elevator, everything was clean. I just hate to pay extra money for the parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyndee
Business
New Orleans,LA
Jun 30, 2012

Convenient to French quarter

Wish our rooms had been closer together otherwise beautiful hotel. Staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hotel host were very helpful with recommendations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin the best
Business
North Carolina
Jun 30, 2012

Great hotel

Hotel was awesome. The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up. No exterior view but the lack of noise made up for it. Lobby is in excellent condition and beautiful. Only issue was they give you two complimentary bottles of water when you check in but they do not give you any more than the first two if you stay multiple nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loves NOLA
Business
Kansas
May 10, 2012

Great Deal!

Great location and WONDERFUL staff! It was a great deal!! I will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yepper yooper
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 30, 2012

Great for out-of-towners

My wife and I had no idea what to expect when traveling to New Orleans and the hotel staff was great. They were very accomodating on getting us directions as to how to get around and the rooms were very clean and very comfortable. The in room coffee was excellent as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Big Al Carsten on Bourban Street is a must see local jazz hero...he's a 485 pound southerner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MD from IN
Business
Indiana, USA
Apr 29, 2012

close to Quarter and in downtown

Room 201 was noisy, right between the elevators and the exercise room. Lighting was marginal. For the average cost of $240 per night not a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NOLA Queen
Business
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Apr 17, 2012

Great Location and Friendly Staff

We attended the 29th French Quarter Festival while staying here. The rooms were clean, well stocked and only a couple of blocks away from Boubon Street. Even though there was a Fraternity that checked in the 2nd day of our stay, we were not disturbed by them as the rooms were very quiet. Everyone from the front doormen, to the front desk staff, to the housekeeping folks....we had personable conversations with them all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't forget about the History of New Orleans. Be sure to visit the near by museums either located in the Quarter or a quaint trolley ride via the Canal route to see a number of wonderful New Orleans museums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top