$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
456 reviews
important appointment on Wed

My wife had an appointment the next day. We were within walking distance of the federal building.... See full review

  • J Alvin
  • Feb 20, 2015
My safe Buckeye Sugar Bowl trip

From the minute I arrived by way of the airport shuttle to the drop-off at the airport to come home... See full review

  • Deborah J.
  • Jan 6, 2015
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (456)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
456 out of 456
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nomad4dixie
Business
South Carolina
Jul 16, 2012

Needs lots of attention

We found the Wyndham to be clean and refreshing to a point. First issue that faced us was that the staff, especially doormen, we quite shabbily dressed and offered little or no help. When we were leaving it was pouring rain and the doorman continued to lean up against a wall and never offered help or an umbrella. Desk staff many times appeared much too casually attired. The hotel has two elevators, however one of them had the buttons for floors 2 and 4 (our floor) broken for the entire week of our stay. They assured us the first day that repairs would be made, but failed to follow through on that promise. Although we found the rooms clean, they had almost no ammenities.... no microwave, frig, breakfast, pool and etc. We also experienced issues with the cold water in the room (there was none) and that issue was never adequately addressed either. One day we walked out of room and touched the brass railings only to find that they were covered with brass polish and no sign warning of same resulted in my hands being totally blackened. If you visit this hotel be prepared to pay an outrageous amount of money for parking your car in a dark, dingy and tiny basement garage. We were in a Sonata and when parked could hardly even find room to open the door to exit the vehicle. I would have expected much better for such an amount of money. All in all it was a very clean hotel but lacked in all other areas that would bring it up to the status of a good hotel. We definately would NOT stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy Camper Kristen16
Business
Memphis, TN
Jul 12, 2012

Decent Stay

Had a good time at this hotel. Nice room and bathroom for sure and not too far from the French Quarter. Not a great view, but the price was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K. Fields
Business
Houma, LA
Jul 12, 2012

Great Place

Great location to everything I wanted to see. The streetcar line was one block away. The bed was really comfortable. I had to force my self out of it. I could have stayed in bed all day. Wireless Internet was FREE. Parking was $20. But I knew I would have to pay to lark because of the great location to everything. Parking was kind of tight and located in the basement of the hotel but my car seemed to be safe. I would defiantly stay at this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The street car line was nice. Buy a Jazzy Pass for $3 and you can ride all of the Street Cars. It cost $1.25 per trip. You would save a few dollars there are 4 different routes to travel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bully97
Business
Birmingham, AL, USA
Jul 8, 2012

Great Trip only made better by Good Hotel!

The staff was friendly and helpful, the room nice and comfy. Only one detail was missed and it was our waters were not replaced. Everything else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Sushi Restaurant next to the Hotel was very good and food was very fresh.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time NOLA visitor
Business
Indiana
Jul 6, 2012

I'll stay here again

My check-in was fast. The room and bathroom were spacious and spotless. I was visiting a friend who lives in an apartment building across the street, so the location was perfect. The only (minor) criticisms I had were: 1) that the bath towels were what you'd expect in a cheap motel - not very large, and very coarse; and 2) one front desk person had a bit of an attitude problem when I stopped to inquire about the airport shuttle. She seemed to be more interested in talking with a friend there than asking if she could assist me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ysabel28
Business
New Orleans
Jul 1, 2012

Not a bad place

The location is perfect, the room was not that confortable because you can hear the noise from people coming from elevator, everything was clean. I just hate to pay extra money for the parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lyndee
Business
New Orleans,LA
Jun 30, 2012

Convenient to French quarter

Wish our rooms had been closer together otherwise beautiful hotel. Staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Hotel host were very helpful with recommendations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin the best
Business
North Carolina
Jun 30, 2012

Great hotel

Hotel was awesome. The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up. No exterior view but the lack of noise made up for it. Lobby is in excellent condition and beautiful. Only issue was they give you two complimentary bottles of water when you check in but they do not give you any more than the first two if you stay multiple nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loves NOLA
Business
Kansas
May 10, 2012

Great Deal!

Great location and WONDERFUL staff! It was a great deal!! I will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yepper yooper
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 30, 2012

Great for out-of-towners

My wife and I had no idea what to expect when traveling to New Orleans and the hotel staff was great. They were very accomodating on getting us directions as to how to get around and the rooms were very clean and very comfortable. The in room coffee was excellent as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Big Al Carsten on Bourban Street is a must see local jazz hero...he's a 485 pound southerner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top