$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
426 out of 426
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rich likes to travel
Single
Cleveland, OH
May 28, 2013

Great Location

This is the 2nd year in a row that I stayed at the Wyndham Garden and enjoyed my stay. The location is perfect with only being a couple of blocks from Bourbon St and a couple of blocks from Poydas St. If you want to get away from the noise and crowd on Bourbon St. you will have many choices on this side of Canal St. The staff was very freindly and answered all questions that I had. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BarbaraJane729
Business
New Orleans
May 21, 2013

Room Issue

It would have been nice if i was told that I had an "inside" room with no window. Very claustrophobic. I would have either changed my room or gone to another hotel if I had the chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robobob
Business
Santa Rosa Beach, FL
May 15, 2013

A Fine Hotel

Wasn't there long, but the experience was good. Comfy clean room, friendly staff, affordable price and good location in downtown New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There was a breakfast place in the hotel, City Diner, I think. Open late, serves beer and the food is pretty tasty.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2 Disappointed 2 Return
Single
Chicago, Il
Apr 20, 2013

A roof over your head

My visit to New Orleans was entirely self-researched, so I have no one to blame for the decision. However, I knew from the time I entered the room, with a non-working TV, that the trip was going to be less than memorable. Staff were friendly, but not enough staff were on duty to help you when you needed it. The hotel provided me with a roof over my head and a place to be when not sight-seeing. There are a lot of nice hotels and B&B's in New Orleans. I will try another place on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the super city tour on your first day in the city, and find the sights you would like to see. It wii save you some time an money.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jennibeans
Friends
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 20, 2013

Stay somewhere else

We checked in a little early which was nice, but that was it with the nice. The desk staff was not very knowledgeable, the room smelled like old cigarette smoke and the hot water was shut off for a day. The cleaning staff also needs to be retrained. There is no hotel cafe or room service so you have to leave for everything and the vending machines were out of most products. The hotel was pretty cheap, but I would have liked to have spent a few more dollars for a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Historic Hotel Aficionado
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 19, 2013

Not great - better options in New Orleans

I had a very disappointing stay - the room was small and windowless (aside from the window to an interior hall way), the sheets were old and uncomfortable, the towels small and scratchy, the carpet was tattered, and the entire building smelled of cheap air freshener. All in all there are many better options in New Orleans - I wouldn't stay here again. The location is great, but there are ample hotels in or near the CBD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Merchant is a great spot for breakfast or lunch and it is just down the street from this hotel. Great coffee, great crepes, great sandwiches, interesting decor - highly recommend you check it out.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Phonix
Couples
New Orleans
Apr 3, 2013

Not great, Not bad.

When I arrived to check in a young lady told me that she was still waiting for a room with a king bed to be cleaned, The young lady asked if I would have a seat that it should not be too long and that should would walk over and let me know when a room was ready. Well I wait over thirty five minutes and she never came, not even to tell me she was still waiting. So I had to get up and walk to the front desk and see about the room myself. Another young lady helped me with getting my room( which took all of 1 minute) and she did a better job the the first lady, plus the second young lady couldn't talk all that well but I had better, faster service from her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MICABEE
Family
Houston, TX
Mar 13, 2013

1st Time in NOLA

This was a good trip. The hotel was very nice and clean. Staff was nice and attentive. Clean linen was supplied. Room was upgraded to a suite, Nice! Love the bathroom. No microwave, but did have a fridge. Double TV's were very nice to have since more than one guest. Beds were sooo comfortable. OMG!! Jetted tub was even better after walking so much! No "free" breakfast, but there is a cafe and restaurant adjoined to the hotel. Also, walking distance to IHOP. We just hopped on in! Other dining options were close in the area as well. Parking garage ($20/nt). But cuz it was so close to everything, vehicle didn't come out. 1 blk from Bourbon St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1blk up to Canal St, lots of souvenir shops and stores. Also, 3 blks up there is a really, really nice shopping mall (expensive stores). Decatur St is 2 more blks and more shopping! The Harrah's Casino, Aquarium, Riverwalk, Jackson Square are all in walking distance.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R and DS
Couples
Temecula, Ca
Feb 24, 2013

Great Location

This was our first time to New Orleans and it was the end of Marde Gras. The hotel was the perfect place to walk to Bourbon Street, the Trolley and shopping. The bed was awesome and so was the shower. The Staff was very informative and helped us with all our questions.We ate at The Commander's Palace and were treated like royalty. We would return there again and plan to soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the all day pass for the Trolley, which is $3 a person. You can ride all the trolleys and buses all day. Otherwise, I believe it was $1.25 for one ride.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Particular
Business
Arlington, TX, USA
Feb 24, 2013

Great Stay

Hotel was very clean and room was very comfortable. We were tired from the drive to New Orleans and our business interests after arrival,.The hotel clerk gave us menus from various local restaurants that deliver at no charge to the hotel room. We took advantage of this option and were pleased we did not have to venture out after a very long day. Valet parking was pricey ($30), but convenient. Self park is available at $20 per night. Holtel sits just below Canal Street in the French Quarter business district and is convenient to shopping, gambling, sight-seeing, restaurants, and entertainment. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Some local restaurants deliver to hotel rooms. Ask hotel desk clerk. Great in-house breakfast in hotel restaurant and good coffee shop.

Back to menu Return to top