$92 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 29, 2015

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
453 reviews
My safe Buckeye Sugar Bowl trip

From the minute I arrived by way of the airport shuttle to the drop-off at the airport to come home... See full review

  • Deborah J.
  • Jan 6, 2015
New Orleans Vacation

Hotel staff very friendly. Restaurant attached to hotel very good. Service also excellent. Be aware... See full review

  • Nettie1954
  • Dec 23, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (453)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
453 out of 453
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Particular
Business
Arlington, TX, USA
Feb 24, 2013

Great Stay

Hotel was very clean and room was very comfortable. We were tired from the drive to New Orleans and our business interests after arrival,.The hotel clerk gave us menus from various local restaurants that deliver at no charge to the hotel room. We took advantage of this option and were pleased we did not have to venture out after a very long day. Valet parking was pricey ($30), but convenient. Self park is available at $20 per night. Holtel sits just below Canal Street in the French Quarter business district and is convenient to shopping, gambling, sight-seeing, restaurants, and entertainment. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Some local restaurants deliver to hotel rooms. Ask hotel desk clerk. Great in-house breakfast in hotel restaurant and good coffee shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MartinandLiz
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 16, 2013

No airport shuttle, contrary to their web site

We went there for Mardi Gras and found this hotel to be perfect. Our room was an interior room, as our "window" opened to an inside hallway. This was perfect for us as even at the height of Mardi Gras our room was very quiet. At 1 block off Canal Street, 2 blocks from Bourbon Street and 3 blocks from St. Charles Street, our room was perfectly located to see all the Mardi Gras parades and the Bourbob St craziness and still having a quiet place to sleep. Our only quibble is that the web site advertises that they have a shuttle. They don't, if you want to get to or from the airport, you have to take a taxi. Maybe they mean that the "airport shuttle" (which costs $20/person) serves the hotel, but that's not made clear in the web site. If you're by yourself, it makes sense to do the shuttle, otherwise a taxi is cheaper, $33 each way for 2 people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super teacher RJ
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 14, 2013

Couldn't Be Any Better

Every thing about this hotel was wonderful. It was beautiful, service was amazing, and the location was perfect. Went for Mardi Gras and didn't give accommodations much of a thought. Was a pleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom that loves New Orlean
Business
Down south
Jan 22, 2013

Wonderful family weekend

Was very troubled on arrival due to packed lobby with people for biker conference that we didn't know about. However everything else was fine except that the lobby stayed packed with these people the entire time we were there. But we didn't spend much time in the lobby anyway so it wasn't a big deal. Front dest staff were very nice & helpful. The room was small, but very clean & updated. The bed was WONDERFUL!!! It was so soft that I just sunk into it every night and slept like a baby. The bed & bedding were equally fantastic. Would definitely stay here again but will ask if any conferences are going on next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cajuns rule
Business
Lafayette, La
Dec 25, 2012

Good location but scary parking attendant

I am at front desk for check in & they were very nice & helpful but before I could finish signing for room, Parking attendant rushes in lobby yelling at me to come & park car now! I had to leave desk , follow him to underground parking garage where he continues to yell at me & insult me because he thinks I'm taking too long to move car. He had me shaking as I went back to lobby.....not a great first impression of hotel!!! The location was good... easy to get around but no restaurant close by. They do however provide coffee & tea in room. Just beware of parking attendant....he has bad attitude and anger issues...I recommend to self park which is $20 per day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You will have to leave hotel for eating....there are a few litlle restaurants close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First time NOLA visitor
Business
Indiana
Nov 29, 2012

Will stay here again

This was my second stay here, first driving. Self-parked in the below-ground garage for $20/day vs. $38 (plus tips) for valet. Room was spotless, bedding so comfortable that I wanted to take it all home. Desk staff friendly and helpful. Location is perfect - can walk to anyplace. The WWII Museum is fantastic! Plan to spend most of the say, if you like to read and take it all in. It's amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have breakfast any time at the Ruby Slipper. Bananas Foster French Toast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Doc O
Business
Walberg, Texas
Nov 26, 2012

Bayou Classic

Only thing wrong was one elevator was broke and it was needed to avoid delays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaysaw
Business
Memphis, TN
Nov 17, 2012

Comfortable and reasonable

Very nice stay, but the restaurant was under construction which made it difficult locating a good place to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business near Bourbon
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 4, 2012

Great Overall

Location is easy walking distance from Bourbon Street, about two blocks away. The perfume smell in the room was a little overwhelming when got there, but got used to it. The room was also pretty small but they did a good job of making it very nice in it. Overall, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soldiers
Business
ft. benning, ga
Aug 13, 2012

nice

It was an wonderful little trip with family .. will return with friends next Summer..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top