$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
729 reviews
You can't beat it

The Wyndham is phenomenal. It's literally one block away from the French Quarter, so you get all of... See full review

  • The Knight Man
  • Apr 24, 2014
Wyndham stay

Great hotel at a great value in a perfect location. See full review

  • McCarthy Rd
  • Apr 19, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (729)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
729 out of 729
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cajuns rule
Lafayette, La
Dec 25, 2012

Good location but scary parking attendant

I am at front desk for check in & they were very nice & helpful but before I could finish signing for room, Parking attendant rushes in lobby yelling at me to come & park car now! I had to leave desk , follow him to underground parking garage where he continues to yell at me & insult me because he thinks I'm taking too long to move car. He had me shaking as I went back to lobby.....not a great first impression of hotel!!! The location was good... easy to get around but no restaurant close by. They do however provide coffee & tea in room. Just beware of parking attendant....he has bad attitude and anger issues...I recommend to self park which is $20 per day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You will have to leave hotel for eating....there are a few litlle restaurants close by.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First time NOLA visitor
Indiana
Nov 29, 2012

Will stay here again

This was my second stay here, first driving. Self-parked in the below-ground garage for $20/day vs. $38 (plus tips) for valet. Room was spotless, bedding so comfortable that I wanted to take it all home. Desk staff friendly and helpful. Location is perfect - can walk to anyplace. The WWII Museum is fantastic! Plan to spend most of the say, if you like to read and take it all in. It's amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have breakfast any time at the Ruby Slipper. Bananas Foster French Toast!

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Doc O
Walberg, Texas
Nov 26, 2012

Bayou Classic

Only thing wrong was one elevator was broke and it was needed to avoid delays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaysaw
Business
Memphis, TN
Nov 17, 2012

Comfortable and reasonable

Very nice stay, but the restaurant was under construction which made it difficult locating a good place to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business near Bourbon
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 4, 2012

Great Overall

Location is easy walking distance from Bourbon Street, about two blocks away. The perfume smell in the room was a little overwhelming when got there, but got used to it. The room was also pretty small but they did a good job of making it very nice in it. Overall, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soldiers
ft. benning, ga
Aug 13, 2012

nice

It was an wonderful little trip with family .. will return with friends next Summer..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A. Villanueva
Houston, Texas
Aug 12, 2012

Had a Great Time!

Out of the few places I've stayed, this was by far the best! Comfortable beds, friendly staff, great location, clean rooms; An overall great experience. If I had to say anything negative, it would be that there was no kind of breakfast available. Other than that, there's nothing bad I can say about this hotel. I'll definitely be staying again... as long as we get the same rates. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Bourbon Street trolley stop has a machine where you can buy multi-day Jazzy Passes. Invest in one and you'll never need a car to get around!

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sum Sum
Florida
Aug 10, 2012

GREAT HOTEL!

My husband and I took a trip to New Orleans for a little buisiness and a little relaxation. I found a great rate on our King Room at the Wyndham Garden Baronne and could not have been more pleased with the lovely hotel and the very affordable rate. The hotel was rich with New Orleans history and decorated with a healthy combination of modern and historical decor. The staff was very nice and efficient and our room was actually more than I expected it to be. The huge King sized bed was extremely comfortable, so much so that we slept later than we normally would at home. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly be checking their availability the next time we visit New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you walk across the block on Baronne Street, their is a wonderful restaurant called "DOMENICA" (one of John Besh's) located in the bottom floor of the Roosevelt Hotel. They have a wonderful selection of house made pastas, pizzas and salad's and their coffee and desserts were exquisite!

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texan Big Easy
Austin, TX
Aug 9, 2012

Excellent Service!

I loved the Customer Service and the room was super clean!!! I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time en new orleans
laredo, tx
Aug 7, 2012

family vacations

services was good...rooms were clean and pepole were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

souvenirs.

Back to menu Return to top