$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
729 reviews
You can't beat it

The Wyndham is phenomenal. It's literally one block away from the French Quarter, so you get all of... See full review

  • The Knight Man
  • Apr 24, 2014
Wyndham stay

Great hotel at a great value in a perfect location. See full review

  • McCarthy Rd
  • Apr 19, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (729)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
729 out of 729
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First time NOLA visitor
Indiana
Nov 29, 2012

Will stay here again

This was my second stay here, first driving. Self-parked in the below-ground garage for $20/day vs. $38 (plus tips) for valet. Room was spotless, bedding so comfortable that I wanted to take it all home. Desk staff friendly and helpful. Location is perfect - can walk to anyplace. The WWII Museum is fantastic! Plan to spend most of the say, if you like to read and take it all in. It's amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have breakfast any time at the Ruby Slipper. Bananas Foster French Toast!

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2 Disappointed 2 Return
Chicago, Il
Apr 20, 2013

A roof over your head

My visit to New Orleans was entirely self-researched, so I have no one to blame for the decision. However, I knew from the time I entered the room, with a non-working TV, that the trip was going to be less than memorable. Staff were friendly, but not enough staff were on duty to help you when you needed it. The hotel provided me with a roof over my head and a place to be when not sight-seeing. There are a lot of nice hotels and B&B's in New Orleans. I will try another place on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the super city tour on your first day in the city, and find the sights you would like to see. It wii save you some time an money.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Historic Hotel Aficionado
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 19, 2013

Not great - better options in New Orleans

I had a very disappointing stay - the room was small and windowless (aside from the window to an interior hall way), the sheets were old and uncomfortable, the towels small and scratchy, the carpet was tattered, and the entire building smelled of cheap air freshener. All in all there are many better options in New Orleans - I wouldn't stay here again. The location is great, but there are ample hotels in or near the CBD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Merchant is a great spot for breakfast or lunch and it is just down the street from this hotel. Great coffee, great crepes, great sandwiches, interesting decor - highly recommend you check it out.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Phonix
New Orleans
Apr 3, 2013

Not great, Not bad.

When I arrived to check in a young lady told me that she was still waiting for a room with a king bed to be cleaned, The young lady asked if I would have a seat that it should not be too long and that should would walk over and let me know when a room was ready. Well I wait over thirty five minutes and she never came, not even to tell me she was still waiting. So I had to get up and walk to the front desk and see about the room myself. Another young lady helped me with getting my room( which took all of 1 minute) and she did a better job the the first lady, plus the second young lady couldn't talk all that well but I had better, faster service from her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nash in NOLA
Business
New York
Mar 22, 2013

Great location, average accomodations

This was a very average hotel, with very little bells and whistles. Actually, no bells or whistles. There was a room, with a flat screen cable service available TV, no complaints there. The free internet was shoddy. However, the staff were very nice, pleasant, good people. They chatted with us and gave us a good run down on what to do in NOLA. I believe the front desk person was Randy, he was fun to talk to. The location was in the downtown area, so no complaints there. Its conveniently placed close to stores and restaurants to meet the needs you cant meet at the actual hotel. I would book there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourban Street is popping!

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MICABEE
Houston, TX
Mar 13, 2013

1st Time in NOLA

This was a good trip. The hotel was very nice and clean. Staff was nice and attentive. Clean linen was supplied. Room was upgraded to a suite, Nice! Love the bathroom. No microwave, but did have a fridge. Double TV's were very nice to have since more than one guest. Beds were sooo comfortable. OMG!! Jetted tub was even better after walking so much! No "free" breakfast, but there is a cafe and restaurant adjoined to the hotel. Also, walking distance to IHOP. We just hopped on in! Other dining options were close in the area as well. Parking garage ($20/nt). But cuz it was so close to everything, vehicle didn't come out. 1 blk from Bourbon St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1blk up to Canal St, lots of souvenir shops and stores. Also, 3 blks up there is a really, really nice shopping mall (expensive stores). Decatur St is 2 more blks and more shopping! The Harrah's Casino, Aquarium, Riverwalk, Jackson Square are all in walking distance.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Particular
Business
Arlington, TX, USA
Feb 24, 2013

Great Stay

Hotel was very clean and room was very comfortable. We were tired from the drive to New Orleans and our business interests after arrival,.The hotel clerk gave us menus from various local restaurants that deliver at no charge to the hotel room. We took advantage of this option and were pleased we did not have to venture out after a very long day. Valet parking was pricey ($30), but convenient. Self park is available at $20 per night. Holtel sits just below Canal Street in the French Quarter business district and is convenient to shopping, gambling, sight-seeing, restaurants, and entertainment. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Some local restaurants deliver to hotel rooms. Ask hotel desk clerk. Great in-house breakfast in hotel restaurant and good coffee shop.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R and DS
Temecula, Ca
Feb 24, 2013

Great Location

This was our first time to New Orleans and it was the end of Marde Gras. The hotel was the perfect place to walk to Bourbon Street, the Trolley and shopping. The bed was awesome and so was the shower. The Staff was very informative and helped us with all our questions.We ate at The Commander's Palace and were treated like royalty. We would return there again and plan to soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the all day pass for the Trolley, which is $3 a person. You can ride all the trolleys and buses all day. Otherwise, I believe it was $1.25 for one ride.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MartinandLiz
Denver, CO
Feb 16, 2013

No airport shuttle, contrary to their web site

We went there for Mardi Gras and found this hotel to be perfect. Our room was an interior room, as our "window" opened to an inside hallway. This was perfect for us as even at the height of Mardi Gras our room was very quiet. At 1 block off Canal Street, 2 blocks from Bourbon Street and 3 blocks from St. Charles Street, our room was perfectly located to see all the Mardi Gras parades and the Bourbob St craziness and still having a quiet place to sleep. Our only quibble is that the web site advertises that they have a shuttle. They don't, if you want to get to or from the airport, you have to take a taxi. Maybe they mean that the "airport shuttle" (which costs $20/person) serves the hotel, but that's not made clear in the web site. If you're by yourself, it makes sense to do the shuttle, otherwise a taxi is cheaper, $33 each way for 2 people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super teacher RJ
Los Angeles
Feb 14, 2013

Couldn't Be Any Better

Every thing about this hotel was wonderful. It was beautiful, service was amazing, and the location was perfect. Went for Mardi Gras and didn't give accommodations much of a thought. Was a pleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom that loves New Orlean
Down south
Jan 22, 2013

Wonderful family weekend

Was very troubled on arrival due to packed lobby with people for biker conference that we didn't know about. However everything else was fine except that the lobby stayed packed with these people the entire time we were there. But we didn't spend much time in the lobby anyway so it wasn't a big deal. Front dest staff were very nice & helpful. The room was small, but very clean & updated. The bed was WONDERFUL!!! It was so soft that I just sunk into it every night and slept like a baby. The bed & bedding were equally fantastic. Would definitely stay here again but will ask if any conferences are going on next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top