$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
457 out of 457
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aimee Kat
Business
Hammond, LA
Jul 13, 2009

okay

I stayed one night. It was an okay experience. The hotel was under renovation. There was a very small staff. I had to call the hotel to even get in and out of teh garage. It was not an automatic garage and they did not have a large enough staff to have someone in teh garage to take care of teh guests. Other than that it was a great location and mosdt everyone was helpful on teh staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Harrah's then Bourbon street. Lots of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leesville, LA
Jul 10, 2009

Great location

I chose this hotel because of the prime location and affordable price for the Annual Essence Festival. Though the hotel was under construction, the service was still wonderful. I will definantly try to stay here next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Havelock, North Carolina
Jul 9, 2009

Great Location and Service

I was down for the July 4th Essence Music Festival was`nt really sure where to stay because events were happening at Superdome and the civic center, so I choose the Baronne because it was close to the Dome by the description on the Web site and it was. Everything was within a 15 minute walk, the Dome, the French Quarter and the Convention Center. I just wish ther was no construction being done, it did`nt bother me because I was`nt in my room much but it is a beautiful place but bar or club that would be a great addition a place to relax and compose after along day of Playing.I will not be using Cheaptickets again because after checking I know I could have gotten a better deal thru the airline and a much easier flight, I will do them seperate next year for sure. Did`nt see the pool area so I can`t speak on that. Overall my trip was pleasant. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is a just a walk away plus you`re in New Orleans you have to walk to get the Essence of the city by walking,during my stay there was always people out walking (visitors) even at 2am and later so walking was not a problem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Life
Business
New orleans
Jul 9, 2009

Great Hotel

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New Orleans Lover
Business
Sandusky, OH
Jul 7, 2009

Close to Quarter, reasonable, but small

Hotel was under construction, which we did not know. I did not like not having a pool and the small rooms, but the staff was very nice, the rooms were clean enough and we were in walking distance of the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Court
Business
Irving, TX
Jul 6, 2009

Will Be An A+ Hotel After Renovations

My overall stay at Baronne Plaza was great. The staff was great and helpful. The rooms were nice and clean. The only thing that was disappointing was the outside presentation. They are under renovation and you can vividly see once it is complete is will be a magnificant hotel. I can say that even with the renovations the hotel was very clean. I would highly recommend this hotel for an affordable vacation stay, I am more than sure the prices will increase once renovations are finished

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street is only a few blocks over from the hotel. Also the hotel staff recommended the best tradition New Orlean resturant Oceana, you must try it. Located off Bourbon St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lovetotravel
Business
NY,CT,PA
Jul 6, 2009

It was alright

We attended the Essence Festival in New Orleans. The hotel was under construction, it was isolated to the lobby area.We didnt hear any of the construction in our room. The construction made the hotel appear close. The Hotel room was a decent size and clean. The hotel housekeeping services were okay, could be better it seemed like they did their own thing on their time, but they were very nice. The Front desk staff need to communicate better with regards to setting up guest events. Please make sure you double-check pickup loaction, time for your event and price. Overal the staff was nice and they were as helpful as possible. The hotel lacks the luxury of other hotels like the Marriot and Intercontinental Hotel like a spa, pool and fitness center. But it is in a great location, walking distance to the trolly (street car), french quarters, convention center and Superdome. The price of the hotel was reasonable and the accommodations were cool too. If your on a budget or its a last minute trip this is one of the better hotels to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We did the Tour of the City and Katrina tour for $42 and it was great. You should also visit Mardi Gras world. Those two activities were a wonderful experience. The free shuttle services picked us up from the Hotel. you should also ride the trolly from one end to the next. $1.25 each time you enter the the (street car).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 6, 2009

Do Not Waste Your Money There!

Two of my girlfriends and I went to New Orleans from July 1st-July 5th. We picked the Baronne because of the location and due to the fact that we were going during the time of Essence Festival it was reasonably priced. After a horrible traveling experience we couldn't wait to arrive at the hotel and relax a bit. To our surprise when we got there we were greeted with a hotel that was under construction. The main entrance was blocked off, the sidewalk was being gutted, and we had to walk on the street to get into the hotels side entrance. When we walked in the hotel there was no lobby. The entire lobby was demolished. There were construction workers, paint, dirt, sut smoke everywhere! The only thing there was a reception desk. After the horrible flight experience I had that was not a pleasant welcome. I could barely breath in the smoke. I asked the receptionist how long have they been under construction and she replied for a year now. Really?!? If this is so why is it not posted on your website or on Orbitz website where I booked my room? She didn't have an answer for me. I checked in because I needed to relax and decided to call Orbitz when I got upstairs. When we got to the room, it was small, had one window but it was facing the inside of the hotel so there was no scenery or fresh air. When I called Orbitz I told them about the construction and asked why isn't it posted on their website and they said they had no idea the hotel was under construction. The hotel never notified them about it. I told them that it's been under construction for a year and it should be posted as such. We asked if we could get a refund because the description of the hotel is misleading and we wanted to move to another hotel. When Orbitz called the hotel, they said that in order for that to happen we would of had to cancel within 30 days prior to arrival. How was that even possible if we didn't know what type of condition the hotel was in until we got there. They basically trap you into going there. We then asked if we could get a refund for the one night that we didn't stay there due to the fact that our flight was delayed that we didn't get in till the next morning. The hotel would not even do that much. The walls were thin so you heard everything going on in every room nearby. The staff was unhelpful. Called the desk for directions to a restaurant, a club, and for a cab on three different occasions and was told they would call us back on all occasions and never recieved a call back. Had to get a map and figure it out on our own. You can not get any phone signal in the room. Had to leave the hotel to make phone calls. Got disconnected from Orbitz three times when trying to call from room. The only plus side is that the location of the hotel is great. Two blocks from Bourbon and walking distance to mostly everything. I would never stay there again though. I would stay some place within the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If in the need for great seafood go to Landry's which is on 400 N. Peter's street. The food there is to die for and all for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Turbo Brian
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 4, 2009

Great Room & Location

The room is very nice, comfortable, and comparable to Hyatt that I stayed before. The bathroom is nice too. Hotel lobby is still under construction and it doesn't bother me. 2 blocks from French Quarter & 1 block from St. Charles Street car are big plus. Hotel's own parking lot is narrow to get in. You should ask hotel staff (or your passenger) to guide you through the driveway since it's very narrow. Staffs are friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rome, Italy
Jun 24, 2009

Great hotel!!

We stayed in that hotel 3 nights, we were in New Orleans for vacation. Even if the hall is under renovations, the rooms are very confortable and big!The bathroom is very big too, there is A/C and free wireless in every room!The room was very clean too. The staff is so friendly and they help you in everything you need. They booked for us the plantation and swamp tours.The hotel is just a short walk from the french quarter, a really great location!The price was very cheap compared to the quality of the hotel. I would choose Baronne Plaza Hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top