$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
423 out of 423
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
May 9, 2009

...or a building site

We were not informed prior to our trip that the hotel was being renovated and that the restaurant would be closed. In this respect we were misled by Orbitz (see above description). Therefore we are not in a position to give any more feedback than that the room was fine and the staff helpful but that the 'elegant lobby' was a building site. We have filled in the required fields only because they are required, most did not apply at the time of our stay. A strong fog of cement dust filled the air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lewisville, TX
Apr 24, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

The Hotel Staff were fabulous, very friendly and helpful. They made us feel welcome. Even though the Hotel was undergoing some renovation I would venture to say that it will be phenomenal once all work is completed. Very pretty Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy souvenirs at the French Market instead of on Canal Street, they are much cheaper.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 23, 2009

good value but shabby lobby, intersectio

The price was good. The room was clean. modern and well-maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel lobby is under construction. There is nowhere to sit in the lobby and no bathroom to use while waiting for shuttle pick-up . The coffee shop/bar is being rehabbed and there is nowhere to grab coffee or food except for subway shop. The intersection is old deco hotels that are being reahabbed and I imagine it will all be stunning and interesting when it is done. But right now, it feels neglected and slightly dangerous. The staff arranged for my tour by taxi of the 9th ward. the price turned out to be double the $40 I was promised. watch your pockets!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is near Bourbon Street andRoyal Street. jackson Park is a longish walk away and that is much more interesting than around this hotel

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
English Bob
Business
Memphis, TN
Apr 22, 2009

Great location and good value.

Small, clean rooms, recently refurbished. Ideal location for exploring the French Quarter, CBD and further afield. Walking distance from all major attractions and from the St Charles Avenue streetcar line. Staff were highly courteous, knowledgeable about the city and able to assist with booking tours. Parking is available onsite and is reasonable given the location. The lobby area is undergoing extensive remodelling, so amenities are non-existent, but then you probably aren't visiting New Orleans to sit in a hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Apr 20, 2009

Would not go back if life depended on it

I'm going to make this short, sweet, and point form: * They were doing construction in the hotel. Not construction on the hotel...but *in* the hotel. What kind of construction? They were making picture frames. In the hotel! Circular saws and staple guns...to make picture frames! * The rooms look like they came out of the 1960s. * My laptop got stolen from inside my room. Hotel staff did not care. In fact, they yelled at me and called me belligerent. Which, even if true (it wasn't), is inexcusable. Do not go to this hotel. Trust me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bamachic
Business
alabama
Mar 16, 2009

beware tourists!

I just wanted to kind of tell about my experience, since in other reviews it didn't explain everything that my husband and I experienced! First of all, when I was checking in the girl at the front desk asked for my card that I booked the room with, and an i.d. So i did, and she went and swiped my card...I informed her that I had already paid for the room through this website, and she proceeded to bring me a receipt to sign with a $25.00 "hold" (which really DOES debit your account, no matter what she tells you) so I couldn't spend that money, incase there was damage to the room, or if long distance calls were made...I was NOT happy about it for the simple fact that they already had my information from where I had already charged the room, so it would make sense to just charge that card if any damage was done!! Then after we unloaded our car, we asked where the hotel parking was...They have a parking deck and they charge $22.50 A NIGHT!! We ended up parking accross the street in another parking deck for $20.00 a night, it's valet parking and it is cash only at pick up!! So dont leave anything valuable in your cars b/c they aren't responsible for any lost properties or damage! When we were walking back to the hotel this car stopped in the middle of the street and the driver got out and then he walked over to the dumpster, and PEED ON IT!! I was very disgusted!!Whenever we got to our room I noticed it was not what was shown in the pictures! The pictures look old and dated, but the also look spacious...the room had been updated since those pictures were taken but the room was not big at all! Also on almost every street corner there are homeless guys...which is sad and all but they will basically cuss you out if you dont give them change! The aquarium is okay it's just not worth $18.00 a person in my opinion! I wish we couldv'e gotten out and done more sight seeing, but the weather was awful, so the aquarium and little shops on canal street, and bourbon street were all we got to do. I hope everyone else has a better experience than we did!!Oh, and just to warn parents about bringing their children downtown,it is really not family oriented! I saw parents dragging their kids down bourbon street when there are nothing but drunks everywhere and topless strippers begging you to come into Larry Flynt's Hustler club and "have fun"! It was definatley an experience and hopefully one day we can go back, but it is not likely we will stay at the same place and hopefully the weather will be better! I just wanted to disclose some things that were not disclosed to me when we went!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2tricky
Business
Columbus, OH
Mar 3, 2009

Jackpot!

We picked this hotel because of the great price package (air & hotel)that was offered at the time we booked. We were a little nervous because of the current pictures available on Orbitz site seemed a little dated but the price was too good to pass up, especially for Mardi Gras. When the shuttle pulled up to the hotel we were even more skeptacle as this hotel is in a converted Sears and Roebuck building. However, once we were inside our fears started to subside. The desk clerk was very friendly, courteous and helpful. We had arrived early and without fanfare were given two adjacent rooms on the top floor of the hotel. We went directly to the rooms to drop our luggage and found, much to our delight, a very clean, modern and updated rooms! We had read that the hotel had been going through an extensive remodeling and even though we saw remnants of construction in the lobby we were pleased to find that the rooms had been renovated rather nicely. The hotel currently doesn't have a full restaurant or bar but did offer a breakfast buffet for a fee. Not to worry as the hotel is a short two blocks walk from Bourbon Street and the French Quarter where on can find a myriad of drinking and dining choices. Did I mention it was Mardi Gras? The hotel was in a great location just outside the French Quarter and a block from the parade route on Canal Street and as long as you didn't get caught on the wrong side of the parades you were fine (you can't cross the street during a parade!)The hotel was relatively quiet (it was Mardi Gras) and the beds and pillows were VERY comfortable. Maid service was great as well as they kept the roms very clean and we didn't have to request any additional services.All in all we could not have been happier with this hotel and would DEFINITELY stay there again if in New Orleans any time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bmcgov
Business
Lafayette. LA
Mar 3, 2009

Wonderful experience!!

My wife and I decided to take a weekend getaway. We travel to New Orleans several times a year since it is only a couple of hours away and we really love the city. We have stayed at numerous hotels and B&B's the last 20 years or so both in the French Quarter, downtown, Uptown and in the Garden District. Seldom staying at the same hotel more than twice. When we arrived at the hotel, the first thing I noticed was how clean the lobby was. It was apparent that there was construction taking place at the hotel and I was a little concerned about dust and noise. Turned out the rest of the hotel was as clean as the lobby. The staff was very friendly and helpful and check in was quiet easy. The parking was probably the best and most efficiant I've ever experience in New Orleans. The parking lot was right under the hotel and extremely easy to access from the lobby!! Not bad for a city under sea level!!! the staff was. The room was an interior room with no view of the city, but it was probably the most surprising of all. Extremely clean and the bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in in a hotel. No restaurant or lounge on premisis, but this is New Orleans there's one on every corner. When we go back to New Orleans, the Baronne will be our first choice for a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from the French Quarter and right in downtown. We discovered a little bar on Gravier St. called Joes or something like that just about 3 blocks from the hotel. It's kinda tucked away but a place where the locals go. Play a little rock and roll trivia with the bar tender.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbiana
Jan 4, 2009

Wonderful Surprise

The Baronne Hotel was a wonderful surprise. The hotel was very nice and the staff was pleasant and very helpful. The room was very nice, clean, and confortable. My only complaint is that the dining options were limited, although we had a fantastic meal at the Palace Cafe, which is only 3 blocks away. Overall, I would return to the Baronne without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City
Jan 3, 2009

Great locale

Great location - off the beaten path and yet easy walking to Bourbon street, French Quarter, and the SuperDome. Hotel was full and were unable to fufill requests for a roll-a-bed or extra bedding. Also, toliet was leaking. Did appreciate willingness to accomodate early check-in. Overall, can't beat the location for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top