$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
443 reviews
Loved, loved, loved the Wyndam Baronne Hotel!

I absolutely loved this hotel! It's on Baronne street. A bit tricky to get to the destination... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jul 10, 2014
You can't beat it

The Wyndham is phenomenal. It's literally one block away from the French Quarter, so you get all of... See full review

  • The Knight Man
  • Apr 24, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (443)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
443 out of 443
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Palm Beach, FL
Sep 28, 2009

Don't Make The Mistake We Made

I should have listened to all that I had read in previous reviews. I thought that some construction in the lobby area was something I could overlook, and I was right. However, this hotel has too many other problems which affect hotel guests. After checking in, we discovered that the King room we had requested was not what we got. We had to go back downstairs, turn in the old keys, and go to a different room. When we went to this room, we found that it was not the exterior room we had been told we had when we called to confirm our reservation. We chose to overlook this and stay in the room. We quickly learned that the cold water faucet in the bathroom was really the hot, and the hot was really the cold. This didn't matter much since we had only luke warm water in the sink and shower. We had to have both of these fixed. Everything seemed okay until their wireless Internet access went down. Then of course there was the LOUD party in a room down the hall in the middle of the night. Despite calling the front desk and being told that it would be handled, it was not. The second night saw more of the same when we were awaken at 3:55am with the lould carrying on from another party in the same room. We called the front desk again and were told it would be handled. It of course was not. The noise continued up until 6:30am. From the appearance of things at this hotel, it looked more like a frat house based on the guests and the partying that was apparently allowed. The air conditioning vent points straight at the bed, blowing directly on you. We tried to move the vent slats, doing the best we could (not easy to do), and found they were filthy, as if they have never been cleaned. We also had to laugh at the $20 they charge to your card for "incidentals". What incidentals? There is no mini-bar...no pay per view. And we certainly weren't going to steal the small thin towels they give you for the shower. With the rooms supposedly being refurbished, I didn't expect to see cracks in the bathroom ceiling, and lumps under the carpet that you can easily trip on. When we called to confirm our reservation, my fiancee asked if there was a gym. She was told there was and given the hours. What they failed to tell her was that at least 3 machines had "out of order" signs on them. We should have listened to all the "don't stay here" reviews. We know better now, and will not be staying there on our next New Orleans trip. Maybe they will eventually get their act together, but it appears that is a long way off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B-rad Easy
Atlanta, Ga
Aug 11, 2009

Great Location For The Price

Great hotel for the price. Location was perfect (only a block or two away from Bourbon Street). Friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms and extremely comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
atlanta, ga
Aug 4, 2009

under construction majorly

The whole hotel is under construction. I didn't know this when I booked the room. We didn't have and fitness center, lounge, room service, ect. All the things that were listed on the Orbitz website. The room was clean and spacious. But we didn't get to experience ANY of the hotel ammenities. The location to Burbon Street is one block up and 1 block over. Hopefully the hotel will be nicer the next time around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Really close to Burbon Street. They charge only 22 dollars to park there as opposed to $33-$35 on the other hotels.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OLIMPIA
Temple, GA
Jul 29, 2009

Family Reunion

I love my visit @ your hotel :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clarksville, TN
Jul 19, 2009

The outside of the building is scary...

The room was nice and comfy. The staff was very nice and courteous. The only problem I had is that the outside of the building looked condemned. When i first arrived i thought i was in the wrong place but i wasn't. It just looks very unprofessional when you see a bunch of chairs stacked up in front of one of the main windows and writings on it as well. Other than that I had a good stay and I enjoyed myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
monae'
Detroit,Mi
Jul 14, 2009

Great Hotel

The hotel wasn't far at all from bourbon st,I walked to everything the riverwalk, casino, and the french market.The room was just like the picture i loved it so much i stayed in one day and just relaxed in bed and the bed was very comfortable! Everyone at the front desk were very friendly!The only thing that would have made it a little better was if they had internet service but they didn't. Everytime i go to New Orleans i will stay at this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aimee Kat
Hammond, LA
Jul 13, 2009

okay

I stayed one night. It was an okay experience. The hotel was under renovation. There was a very small staff. I had to call the hotel to even get in and out of teh garage. It was not an automatic garage and they did not have a large enough staff to have someone in teh garage to take care of teh guests. Other than that it was a great location and mosdt everyone was helpful on teh staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Harrah's then Bourbon street. Lots of fun.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Leesville, LA
Jul 10, 2009

Great location

I chose this hotel because of the prime location and affordable price for the Annual Essence Festival. Though the hotel was under construction, the service was still wonderful. I will definantly try to stay here next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Havelock, North Carolina
Jul 9, 2009

Great Location and Service

I was down for the July 4th Essence Music Festival was`nt really sure where to stay because events were happening at Superdome and the civic center, so I choose the Baronne because it was close to the Dome by the description on the Web site and it was. Everything was within a 15 minute walk, the Dome, the French Quarter and the Convention Center. I just wish ther was no construction being done, it did`nt bother me because I was`nt in my room much but it is a beautiful place but bar or club that would be a great addition a place to relax and compose after along day of Playing.I will not be using Cheaptickets again because after checking I know I could have gotten a better deal thru the airline and a much easier flight, I will do them seperate next year for sure. Did`nt see the pool area so I can`t speak on that. Overall my trip was pleasant. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is a just a walk away plus you`re in New Orleans you have to walk to get the Essence of the city by walking,during my stay there was always people out walking (visitors) even at 2am and later so walking was not a problem.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Life
New orleans
Jul 9, 2009

Great Hotel

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search