$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
732 reviews
Loved, loved, loved the Wyndam Baronne Hotel!

I absolutely loved this hotel! It's on Baronne street. A bit tricky to get to the destination... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jul 10, 2014
You can't beat it

The Wyndham is phenomenal. It's literally one block away from the French Quarter, so you get all of... See full review

  • The Knight Man
  • Apr 24, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (732)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
732 out of 732
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PhysAnthro
Business
Long Island, NY
Nov 22, 2010

Excellent place to stay!

I was in town for a meeting at the Marriott, but was looking for a less expensive hotel to stay at. I found the Wyndham Baronne Plaza [...] and stayed for 4 nights. Because the price was about 1/3 the price of the Marriott I was fairly unsure about what to expect of the hotel before I arrived (Marriott was ca. $200/night, Wyndham averaged ca.$70/night). However, once I got there, I was very impressed by the quality of the Wyndham Baronne. It was spacious, clean, well-appointed, and the people were amazingly kind, thoughtful, & nice. One day, there was some sort of catastrophic breakdown at the N.O. sewage plant that put much of the city on a "boil water" alert. This meant no one could drink or bathe in the tap water. The staff at the Wyndham immediately put up signs, notified everyone, and offered free bottles of water during the crises. I thought they handled the situation very well and with good cheer. This is the type of place I would definitely stay at again, recommend highly, and even recommend to my parents. It's quite a deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is about 2 blocks from Bourbon St & the French Quarter.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Nov 19, 2010

Business trip/French Quarter

Decent hotel at a good price. Beds were extremely comfortable; bathroom decor was great; bath towels were sub-par, it took two towels to dry off. Not reflective of the trip in general but the bathroom had a ceiling water leak in the middle of the night -- when I mentioned it to the front desk the next day, no big apology, no discount was offered for my inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

only 1 block from Canal Street

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Nov 19, 2010

Business trip/French Quarter

Decent hotel at a good price. Beds were extremely comfortable; bathroom decor was great; bath towels were sub-par, it took two towels to dry off. Not reflective of the trip in general but the bathroom had a ceiling water leak in the middle of the night -- when I mentioned it to the front desk the next day, no big apology, no discount was offered for my inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

only 1 block from Canal Street

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Superwife
Morgantown, WV
Nov 18, 2010

Great location

We booked this trip in September so when we arrived and were given the handicapped room I was surprised. The shower was awful and the water pressure worse. However, for the price and location it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Beignet on Bourbon was a short walk and had good breakfasts.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AgentK
New York
Nov 18, 2010

OK hotel

It was an average hotel. The room I got was pretty cozy with NO window. The AC wasn't working, when I told front desk the next day, they did give me another room with AC which was spacious. Overall OK but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street is right across the street.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AgentK
New York
Nov 18, 2010

OK hotel

It was an average hotel. The room I got was pretty cozy with NO window. The AC wasn't working, when I told front desk the next day, they did give me another room with AC which was spacious. Overall OK but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street is right across the street.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moe Money
Miami, Fl
Nov 16, 2010

Great get away!

We arrived late evening/early morning at the hotel and we were hungry but there was no room service available. This would have been an amenity that would have put the Hotel over the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

While in New Orleans get the full day pass for the trolley system which can be used until 4am.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moe Money
Miami, Fl
Nov 16, 2010

Great get away!

We arrived late evening/early morning at the hotel and we were hungry but there was no room service available. This would have been an amenity that would have put the Hotel over the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

While in New Orleans get the full day pass for the trolley system which can be used until 4am.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palm City, FL
Nov 15, 2010

Stay at Barronne Plaza Wyndham

Hotel is very conveniant to French Quarter, staff was friendly, room is clean but very small. Parking rate was ridiculous($20 a night)Hotel is just far enough away to be in quiet area, we were able to walk to everthing or catch the streetcar easily.If you are going to move around the city alot on a given day, buy the all day streetcar pass for $5.00(you must have exact change)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Felix's restaraunt across the street from the Acme Oyster House off of Bourbin Street has better food and prices and not nearly the lines.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winona, MN
Nov 15, 2010

Great Stay in NOLA

The hotel location was great - walking distance to French Quarter, Riverwalk, Trolly, shopping. While the hotel staff was very friendly, we did have some issues with housekeeping staff. Our room was not cleaned for two days. Once front desk was notified, they reponded immediately. The room was nice and the beds were comfortable. Overall, we had a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Ritas on Bourbon Street on Tuesday for $2 Margaritas, tacos, nachos. A fun place, great staff, happy hour prices from 4:00 - 9:00.

Back to menu Return to top