$92 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 28, 2015 Check-out: Jan 29, 2015

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
454 reviews
My safe Buckeye Sugar Bowl trip

From the minute I arrived by way of the airport shuttle to the drop-off at the airport to come home... See full review

  • Deborah J.
  • Jan 6, 2015
New Orleans Vacation

Hotel staff very friendly. Restaurant attached to hotel very good. Service also excellent. Be aware... See full review

  • Nettie1954
  • Dec 23, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (454)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
454 out of 454
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coolbird4
Business
emerald city, wa
Jun 29, 2010

great time

the staff was friendly and more then happy to help with anything from letting us in and out of the parking lot to giving us tooth brushes because we forgot ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal house, location near burbon street other then that your on your own cause we were drunk, best food i ever had and i told the waitress to surprise me! i think it was a short walk but when your walking around looking at stuff its hard to tell.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rockstarvolunteer
Business
Tlumach, Ukraine
Jun 29, 2010

Something to come back to

Check in and check out were very friendly, professional, and quick. The room was luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mixed Kid
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 28, 2010

Good value: 3 1/2 stars

This hotel (which switched its name to Wyndham Garden Hotel and Resort in the middle of our stay) is average. There aren't many extras here, but I knew that when I signed on the dotted line. You get a very comfortable bed in a decent-sized room with a decent-sized bathroom. I have no complaints, but not praise either... Except for the staff who were very helpful in answering all of our questions. I read before that someone did not have a window to outside, but we did. The rooms on the inside of the hallway have windows to the hotel and those on the outside have windows to the outside. The hotel was extremely quiet all week. People started showing up on Thursday and it was starting to feel full on Friday and Saturday. We had the hotel breakfast a couple of times which I only recommend if you are in a hurry. There's the same food everyday: grits, toast, eggs, cereal, not-so-fresh fruit, coffee, and orange drink (not juice). It was okay. I thought the location was great, because it was only 1 block from Canal Street within the Central Business District so it was close to everything without having any of the raucous noise of the French Quarter. I'd be annoyed if I had paid more to stay in the French Quarter and then couldn't sleep. But then, what would you expect staying in the French Quarter...? I felt safe walking around at night because of the location. There was never a time when I was on a street by myself even when I went walking alone. The hotel is also only a block from the street car that takes you to and from the Garden District so we spent a lot of time there. Check-in and check-out went very smoothly and quickly. They had a computer and printer set up to print boarding passes. That was useful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For the people who have about 50 minutes and want to save money on shuttle or cab, the bus that goes to and from the airport is only a few blocks away and is inexpensive. We saved $30 using the bus! It only runs on weekdays close to the hotel, but you can check the Jefferson Transit website for schedule info.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Wanda
Business
Jackson, MS
Jun 27, 2010

a must return

The hotel was very nice and clean. I have a big phobia when it comes to hotels and bathrooms, but I must say that it was very clean and comfortable. The only thing I didn't like was no microfrige. Whenever I return to New Orleans this will be the hotel I choose and I will bring my cooler!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxnard Ca
Jun 24, 2010

An Exception to the ordinary

The staff treated me like family,very clean and easy and safe walk to the Quarter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Picture Car Dennis
Business
Shreveport, LA
Jun 24, 2010

What should I say about this trip?

The hotel was located in a convenient location, however what they don't tell you is it costs $22.60 per night to park your vehicle, the room was small, the elevators were hot and smelled of hydraulic fluid. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you like Sushi, there is a great Sushi place in the lobby of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J-bear
Business
Regina, SK
Jun 23, 2010

Great place to stay

Was a great hotel for the price. The staff were very knowledgeable of the local things to do, even some less known things. Rooms were very clean and well appointed. Very fast internet. One block to the French Quarter and two blocks from Bourbon St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Frenchman St. for some great original jazz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack S.
Business
Tyrone, PA
Jun 21, 2010

Another 'special' memory from New Orlean

We enjoyed the fabulous dining, for 6 nights. And our recreation and sight seeing trips. At Anaurald's, the chef actually personally demostrated his art of 'correctly'preparing his puffed potatoes!!!!!!!!!!! We meet and spoke personally with the Governor at Acme's Oyster Bar. We could of done without all the rain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has been upgraded beautifully, I've been coming here for many years. The hotel, now, lacks nothing. Their staff is very helpful and pleasant! Enjoy yourselves.We were even able to get a refrig./microwave for our room; (we needed for our med's.) Having a safe parking area for our car was a plus, also.a Improvement, include the cost breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Jun 18, 2010

Great... But Customer Service was slow.

The staff was extremely friendly. Awesome location if you want to Burbon Street. I would not purchase the breakfast buffet. I would stay there again due to location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJdynomite
Business
Memphis, TN
Jun 16, 2010

great hotel

we had a late check in no problems great service 2 blocks up from bourbon st very clean room paying for parking is always a prob but its downtown new orleans not like its the 1st time ive seen that i would still suggest staying at this hotel just realize with the price of the room u will also pay 20+(what i paid for 1 night) to park ur car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top