$82 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
449 reviews
Great hotel near Bourbon St.

This stay was a great one. The hotel was in a great area and the walk to Bourbon was not bad at... See full review

  • Jon Moss
  • Nov 23, 2014
Great location

Perfect location to stores, food, and fun. Easy to find not far off the interstate. Right around... See full review

  • Asl8492
  • Nov 23, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (449)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
449 out of 449
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling Grifter
Business
TN
Jul 30, 2010

The Bad and the Ugly

The first thing you learn when checking into this hotel is that they do not have any street level parking--none. They do however have a parking garage that is the size of a sardine can that the hotel will graciously allow you to use for the small sum of $25.00 per day. When I say small I mean small. It was full when we checked in and had to park at a public parking garage a block and a half away. Imagine the fun of toting your belongings that distance in 95+ degree heat with about 80% humidity. We were able to park in the garage the next day but our bill for parking for 5 days was almost $150.00. That was a blow to the vacation fund. Check In was a lengthy process. There was only one person checking people in and we had to stand in line for about 30 minutes. The room itself was not bad but was cramped. The bed took up about 85% of the room. We also noticed that there seemed to be a problem with hot water. During your shower the water would mysteriously disappear for about 20-30 seconds and then come back on and we had to take several showers with luke warm water at best. One thing that would have made the room better would have been a small fridge. We like to carry soda's and snacks on our trips and had no way to keep them cool. We stayed on the top floor of the hotel and staying cool was not an issue in the room but the public hallways were a different story. The public areas on our floor were uncomfortably warm. This hotel was rated at 3 stars but I don't think we will be recommending this hotel to anyone. The one advantage of this hotel is that it is only 1 block from the French Quarter and within easy walking distance. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 29, 2010

Great Value

Check-in was easy and smooth. The room was spotless and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Overall one of the cleanest hotels in New Orleans and everything worked well. It was very quiet and a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Digby's Mom
Business
Mundelein,Il
Jul 29, 2010

Very happy visitor

Room was very nice.Bed was like sleeping on a cloud. We were very happy with everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shanghai
Jul 25, 2010

Great location

Great location, friendly staff, good fitness room, cable tv, comfortable room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim517
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 15, 2010

Had A Great Time

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in at this price range. The staff was helpful and friendly, no problem was ignored.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Harrah's casino for the brunch buffet. Great way to start the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 7, 2010

Served the purpose location

It was a pleasant atmosphere. There was no refrigerator in the room. Breakfast should be included. I would recommend it to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I loved the location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coolbird4
Business
emerald city, wa
Jun 29, 2010

great time

the staff was friendly and more then happy to help with anything from letting us in and out of the parking lot to giving us tooth brushes because we forgot ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal house, location near burbon street other then that your on your own cause we were drunk, best food i ever had and i told the waitress to surprise me! i think it was a short walk but when your walking around looking at stuff its hard to tell.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rockstarvolunteer
Business
Tlumach, Ukraine
Jun 29, 2010

Something to come back to

Check in and check out were very friendly, professional, and quick. The room was luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mixed Kid
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 28, 2010

Good value: 3 1/2 stars

This hotel (which switched its name to Wyndham Garden Hotel and Resort in the middle of our stay) is average. There aren't many extras here, but I knew that when I signed on the dotted line. You get a very comfortable bed in a decent-sized room with a decent-sized bathroom. I have no complaints, but not praise either... Except for the staff who were very helpful in answering all of our questions. I read before that someone did not have a window to outside, but we did. The rooms on the inside of the hallway have windows to the hotel and those on the outside have windows to the outside. The hotel was extremely quiet all week. People started showing up on Thursday and it was starting to feel full on Friday and Saturday. We had the hotel breakfast a couple of times which I only recommend if you are in a hurry. There's the same food everyday: grits, toast, eggs, cereal, not-so-fresh fruit, coffee, and orange drink (not juice). It was okay. I thought the location was great, because it was only 1 block from Canal Street within the Central Business District so it was close to everything without having any of the raucous noise of the French Quarter. I'd be annoyed if I had paid more to stay in the French Quarter and then couldn't sleep. But then, what would you expect staying in the French Quarter...? I felt safe walking around at night because of the location. There was never a time when I was on a street by myself even when I went walking alone. The hotel is also only a block from the street car that takes you to and from the Garden District so we spent a lot of time there. Check-in and check-out went very smoothly and quickly. They had a computer and printer set up to print boarding passes. That was useful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For the people who have about 50 minutes and want to save money on shuttle or cab, the bus that goes to and from the airport is only a few blocks away and is inexpensive. We saved $30 using the bus! It only runs on weekdays close to the hotel, but you can check the Jefferson Transit website for schedule info.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Wanda
Business
Jackson, MS
Jun 27, 2010

a must return

The hotel was very nice and clean. I have a big phobia when it comes to hotels and bathrooms, but I must say that it was very clean and comfortable. The only thing I didn't like was no microfrige. Whenever I return to New Orleans this will be the hotel I choose and I will bring my cooler!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top