$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
729 reviews
You can't beat it

The Wyndham is phenomenal. It's literally one block away from the French Quarter, so you get all of... See full review

  • The Knight Man
  • Apr 24, 2014
Wyndham stay

Great hotel at a great value in a perfect location. See full review

  • McCarthy Rd
  • Apr 19, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (729)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
729 out of 729
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time at Mardi Gras
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Mar 7, 2011

Great place to stay in NOLA

We went for Mardi Gras and this hotel was wonderful. I couldn't believe how quiet it was at night. The management also took security very seriously. All hotel customers were given a wristband and we had to show it in order to go through the lobby. Our room was very nice and the location was ideal. Just a block off Canal Street. I was very pleased. There is a little snack shop to get coffee, yogurt, muffins in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ruby Slipper restaurant had a wonderful menu for breakfast. Not far from hotel.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
rockwall, tx
Mar 5, 2011

mardi gras

nice hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick and Marianne
Philadelphia, Pa
Mar 3, 2011

Great location

Great staff. Nice facility. Provided the perfect jump off point for our travels around the city. Dining option limited, but we didn't come to New Orleans to eat at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Easy fan
Charlotte, NC
Mar 3, 2011

Good hotel

This is a nice hotel overall. Very clean which is very important to my wife and I. Also very close to Bourbon Street, French Quarter, Canal Street and Harrahs Casino. My wife lost a piece of jewelry in the room and we believe the house keeping stole it. We should have used the safe in the room which was free we were told. Outside of that it was a nice stay for a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street is very close but the hotel is in a very quiet area so you will sleep peacefully.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Easy fan
Charlotte, NC
Mar 3, 2011

Good hotel

This is a nice hotel overall. Very clean which is very important to my wife and I. Also very close to Bourbon Street, French Quarter, Canal Street and Harrahs Casino. My wife lost a piece of jewelry in the room and we believe the house keeping stole it. We should have used the safe in the room which was free we were told. Outside of that it was a nice stay for a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street is very close but the hotel is in a very quiet area so you will sleep peacefully.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick and Marianne
Philadelphia, Pa
Mar 3, 2011

Great location

Great staff. Nice facility. Provided the perfect jump off point for our travels around the city. Dining option limited, but we didn't come to New Orleans to eat at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Celebrating couple!
OH
Mar 2, 2011

Good time!!!!

We were treated so nice by everyone at the hotel and it was a nice location to stay. It was a short walk to everything we wanted to see. The tours were great and they picked up right from the front door. The week before the Mardi Gras was a great time to go. It was alot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take one of the tours of the city when you get there, it makes it a lot easier to get aquainted with where you are and what you want to do. It was a great time.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Celebrating couple!
OH
Mar 2, 2011

Good time!!!!

We were treated so nice by everyone at the hotel and it was a nice location to stay. It was a short walk to everything we wanted to see. The tours were great and they picked up right from the front door. The week before the Mardi Gras was a great time to go. It was alot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take one of the tours of the city when you get there, it makes it a lot easier to get aquainted with where you are and what you want to do. It was a great time.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, Texas
Feb 28, 2011

Great Area, Fair hotel

The room and the hotel are very nice. The BIG problem is that ther is essentially NO PARKING! There is a very nice porter but NO Valet parking. The lot is in the basement but there is no elevator service there and you have to carry your bags up to the lobby if the porter isn't available. I do not drive and my wife could not climb the stairs. It took a while, but one of the people working the desk did park for us. Had the same problem leaving. On the good side the hotel is located only one block from the French Quarter and a few blocks from the convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, Texas
Feb 28, 2011

Great Area, Fair hotel

The room and the hotel are very nice. The BIG problem is that ther is essentially NO PARKING! There is a very nice porter but NO Valet parking. The lot is in the basement but there is no elevator service there and you have to carry your bags up to the lobby if the porter isn't available. I do not drive and my wife could not climb the stairs. It took a while, but one of the people working the desk did park for us. Had the same problem leaving. On the good side the hotel is located only one block from the French Quarter and a few blocks from the convention center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top