$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
729 reviews
You can't beat it

The Wyndham is phenomenal. It's literally one block away from the French Quarter, so you get all of... See full review

  • The Knight Man
  • Apr 24, 2014
Wyndham stay

Great hotel at a great value in a perfect location. See full review

  • McCarthy Rd
  • Apr 19, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (729)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
729 out of 729
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Aug 2, 2011

Clean room, good location!

Although they had some serious computer issues when we checked in, the staff did everything they could to try to make up for the inconvenience. The suite in which we stayed was nice, but there was no outside window, giving it a somewhat "cave-like" feel when sleeping. Overall, however, we enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daisy Dukes, around the corner on Carondelet, was a good place for breakfast any time!

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biissonah
Florida
Jul 31, 2011

Great Hotel

Love the hotel, clean and really great deal for the price. Can't complain at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biissonah
Florida
Jul 31, 2011

Great Hotel

Love the hotel, clean and really great deal for the price. Can't complain at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
st. louis, mo.
Jul 27, 2011

great hotel & location

i booked this Hotel for the location. i was glad i did. it was only one block from Canal St. & a block and a half from Bourbon St. the staff was wonderful....the room was BEAUTIFUL!!!!! i would book here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
st. louis, mo.
Jul 27, 2011

great hotel & location

i booked this Hotel for the location. i was glad i did. it was only one block from Canal St. & a block and a half from Bourbon St. the staff was wonderful....the room was BEAUTIFUL!!!!! i would book here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bronx,NY
Jul 18, 2011

Hotel Was OK

We stayed at the Wyndham Gardens for one night as part of a weekend guys trip. Overall the hotel was nice and the staff was friendly. Positives: Hotel is in a great location for access to both French Quarter and Garden District. Staff allowed us to check in early with no hassels or extra fees. Negatives: Our rooms all had a sewage smell to them for some reason. We ordered a mini-fridge to our room and it took 2 hours before it came. Overall decent place though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bronx,NY
Jul 18, 2011

Hotel Was OK

We stayed at the Wyndham Gardens for one night as part of a weekend guys trip. Overall the hotel was nice and the staff was friendly. Positives: Hotel is in a great location for access to both French Quarter and Garden District. Staff allowed us to check in early with no hassels or extra fees. Negatives: Our rooms all had a sewage smell to them for some reason. We ordered a mini-fridge to our room and it took 2 hours before it came. Overall decent place though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patricia T.
Newark, Delaware
Jul 15, 2011

Essence Music Festival 2011

Me and Hubby attended the Essence Music Festival 2011. Our stay at the Garden Baronne was the best ever. The bed was super comfortable and our room was exceptionally cleaned daily. The desk clerks were very polite and very helpful especially on giving directions. This location is right around the corner from Walgreens and only two blocks from Bourbon Street. The day we arrived we immediately wanted to jump in the shower, but there was NO hot water. We called the front desk, two mainenance men showed up and fixed the problem within fifteen minutes (something to do with them adjusting the temparture) Yes, we would stay here again. Sidenote: No refrigerator or microwave are in the rooms, but you are allowed to use the frige and microwave down in the cafe area, which we did do. If you have special medications like insulin that needs to stay refrigerated there is a private frige behind the desk clerks area for use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment was only a hop, skip and jump away (Bourbon street was about two maybe three blocks away).

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patricia T.
Newark, Delaware
Jul 15, 2011

Essence Music Festival 2011

Me and Hubby attended the Essence Music Festival 2011. Our stay at the Garden Baronne was the best ever. The bed was super comfortable and our room was exceptionally cleaned daily. The desk clerks were very polite and very helpful especially on giving directions. This location is right around the corner from Walgreens and only two blocks from Bourbon Street. The day we arrived we immediately wanted to jump in the shower, but there was NO hot water. We called the front desk, two mainenance men showed up and fixed the problem within fifteen minutes (something to do with them adjusting the temparture) Yes, we would stay here again. Sidenote: No refrigerator or microwave are in the rooms, but you are allowed to use the frige and microwave down in the cafe area, which we did do. If you have special medications like insulin that needs to stay refrigerated there is a private frige behind the desk clerks area for use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment was only a hop, skip and jump away (Bourbon street was about two maybe three blocks away).

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 13, 2011

Great Experience!!

This hotel was in an excellent location, very short walk to Bourban St, the trolley..pretty much everything. We drove from Houston, so we had a car, but didn't use it once the whole trip! BTW....parking is pretty tight. If we would have brought our Surburban, I don't think it would have made the curve. Yes, there was no pool or window to the outside in our room, but the little time we spent in the hotel, it didn't matter. For the price, couldn't have got any better! The staff was very helpful and correct with their recommendations. Don't bother with IHop for breakfast, closer is Daisy Dukes. If you get there between 5:30 and 9:30 $3.99, breakfast that's $7.99 at Ihop and much better and bigger! Deanna's (I think or Deann's) had a great lunch special 2 soft shell crab for $12.95, was delish! Don't bother with Acme, staff was rude before we even got in the resturant, waiters were leaving using profane language referring to the manager about their schedule, right as we were going in, what? Plus most the locals said it was overpriced, and not worth it. We left and were glad we did. Pier 432(or 423) had awesome melt in your mouth shrimp and scallop quesadillas and delish chargrilled oysters. Deann's oysters were not as good, but everything else there was great! I'm no history buff, but the WWII museum was awesome. I wouldn't recommend to bring a child under 10 though, unless of couse they are a history buff. I saw many bored faces on young children and parents were rushing through. This is not something that you want to rush! I would allow 2 1/2 to 3 hours or more! Like I said, I'm no history buff, but it is that awesome!! We took the trolley to the garden district and walked around on our own, nice houses. We also visited the cemetery there, very intresting. We took one tour the first night, a "haunted tour". Guide just wanted to give us a history lesson, said he didn't believe in ghosts (which is fine, neither do I), but his attitude was like he enjoyed telling kids there was no Santa! We looked around, other groups were laughing and having fun, 5 people left before our tour was over. They're all $20, my advise, don't book with Magic Tours. The journey we did on our way home was the highlight of our trip, airboat tour!! The place had 2 albino aligators, way cool looking! The map on their booklet was misleading, so if you're driving, use GPS or your phone! From what I could understand, our guide was very knowledgable with a great sense of humor. We saw at least 20 aligators, stunning scenery and fun ride! To all the nay sayers, yes there were places it didn't smell pretty, but it wasn't as bad as I imagined. Only asked for change once. If you don't like drunks, don't go to Bourban at night. Great town, great people, great hotel. FUN long weekend!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top