$92 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 29, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
454 reviews
My safe Buckeye Sugar Bowl trip

From the minute I arrived by way of the airport shuttle to the drop-off at the airport to come home... See full review

  • Deborah J.
  • Jan 6, 2015
New Orleans Vacation

Hotel staff very friendly. Restaurant attached to hotel very good. Service also excellent. Be aware... See full review

  • Nettie1954
  • Dec 23, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (454)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
454 out of 454
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Phildesu
Lake Charles, LA
Jul 30, 2012

Amazing hotel

I really enjoyed the hotel. The hotel was in a very convenient location, just 2-3 blocks from Bourbon st, the heart of New Orleans. The hotel staff was very friendly and provided information on the best places to eat/visit. The room was really nice and clean, all in all I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Live. It's a really fun place to get drunk and have a good time. One of the first few bars on Bourbon st.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hellothere
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Surprisingly spacious but...

When I went to my room I was pleasantly surprised by the tall ceiling and large beds. The staff was friendly and quick to respond to my needs. Only downside was that the cleaning services might have missed some of the mess the previous residents left behind...garbage was hidden in the ice box... Aside from that my stay here was overall pretty decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynne G
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Great place

Great Location. A very short walk to Bourbon Street. Would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TiaWinter
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Beautiful Hotel, Terrible Housekeeping

The hotel itself is beautiful and we even liked the rooms but only when they are cleaned. The 1st room we received had craisins and hot tamales on the floor but worst of all when we pulled back the sheets it was full of hair. On the comforter, the pillows, the sheets and even on the desk. It was apparent that room hadn’t been cleaned in some time. Thanks to Randy, and his Excellent customer service we got another room right next to it that was actually clean. Randy was so helpful and even called 10 minutes after he left to make sure it was suitable, and it was. All is well or so we thought. The next morning around 10am housekeeping knocked on the door and we asked her to come back later. She rudely said "What time are you leaving, I’m gonna be off this floor in a few minutes? " We stated again to come back later. Well needless to say we left about 2 hours of her initial visit and we even stopped by the front desk to remind them to have our room cleaned. It never was. We called the front desk and too bad we didn’t speak with Randy because we had to call back and complain 20 minutes later when no one showed up to clean it. Finally housekeeping shows up and she's yelling about how if we had left when she told us to at 10am we would've had a clean room. Are you kidding me? Since when do you have to leave your Hotel room that you paid for at a specific time in order to have it cleaned? Never heard of it. But the rest of the stay was fine, we just avoided getting our room cleaned again. Word to the wise….Be prepared to clean your room yourself if you sleep late or get up and out early in the day. Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel doesn’t like late sleepers!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betabrown
Business
Los Angeles,CA
Dec 27, 2011

Beautiful Day

Everyday was a beautiful day while I was there, Amazing staff, specially the night crew. Kuddos to LArry

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rib Room And enjoy some live jazz at Laundry's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lajdfkljdffdasfjkljf
Business
Mississippi
Dec 27, 2011

Night Away

Everything was great. Some Renovation were going on but could not hear them in room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AKermit
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Came for Convention

I stayed for 4 days, and was overall happy with the hotel. The location was good- close enough to a lot of food and entertainment, but a little far from the Convention center. I did have a problem with the hot water in the shower one morning, but otherwise the stay was problem-free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lucky jerk
Business
chicago
Dec 10, 2011

Over rated hotel

Night staff could not give directions to get to hotel . Later , hot water broke , and had to take "cold showers" to get to meetings. Had to micro manage hotel staff. When leaving, the front desk told me airport was in the opposite direction according to the posted road signs, they told me East when all signs absolutely said West going from New Orleans to the airport ( they could not read a map either) . Hotel in general needs help starting at the upper management level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Better to walk then take taxi or drive Save money

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stayed at a hotel
Business
New York, NY
Dec 9, 2011

OK Hotel for price, good location

Good location close to major attractions although felt somewhat uncomfortable returning to the hotel at night so needed to take cabs more than i usually would. Staff was helpfull rooms were ok but had some tattered fabrilc and carpet staines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davidinfinity
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Nov 27, 2011

conference travel

it was a clean, serviceable hotel near the french quarter. it's not a special experience, but that's not what i was looking for. it fit my expectations. the only downside is the free wireless was spotty and slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
france11
Business
Boise, ID, USA
Nov 25, 2011

Would stay again

Hotel is clean and comfortable. The sushi restaurant in the lobby is FANTASTIC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the New Orleans roll - it's unbelievable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top