$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

3 stars
201 Baronne St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
729 reviews
You can't beat it

The Wyndham is phenomenal. It's literally one block away from the French Quarter, so you get all of... See full review

  • The Knight Man
  • Apr 24, 2014
Wyndham stay

Great hotel at a great value in a perfect location. See full review

  • McCarthy Rd
  • Apr 19, 2014
An indispensable part of the rich Wyndham Hotels & Resorts brand, the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans houses a streamlined central atrium space, a nice contrast to the Art Deco-inspired granite façade. Get your morning off to a snappy start in the hotel café, with sweet croissants, fruit and a Starbucks coffee to fuel your day. During the evenings, the City Diner offers a packed menu, and fitness fanatics can burn off the calories with a weightlifting session inside the modern workout center. Built in 1931, the hotel offers history with a modern feel, and all suites come with a whirlpool bathtub.
Key facts
  • 170 guestrooms
  • 20 suites
  • 5 floors
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • Restaurants and cafes: City Diner and Sunrise Café
  • Gym
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel is located just two blocks from the French Quarter in the bustling Central Business District of New Orleans. Guests in the Big Easy can stroll to nearby attractions, including the Mercedes-Benz Superdome sports and entertainment complex, Canal Street, and the Mississippi River. For a literal taste of local flavor, stop at a quaint outdoor café for beignets and café au lait.
Hints and tips
A St. Charles Streetcar stop is located just one block from the hotel; guests can ride it all the way to lovely Audubon Park and Zoo, or get off in the picturesque Garden District and stroll among the extravagant mansions and vibrant flora.

When you're ready to check out, print your boarding pass in the business center and hop on the available airport shuttle for an easy ride to Louis Armstrong International (MSY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9532 -90.0721
Area served
New Orleans, LA
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport
Area description
Located in the National Historic Lower Central Business District, this building was constructed in 1931 and features the original Art Deco stone and granite facade. Its excellent location, only one block from Canal Street and the French Quarter, offers convenient access to New Orleans' most famous landmarks, including Jackson Square, French Market, Riverwalk, Casinos, New Orleans Convention Center, Jax Brewery, Riverfront Streetcar Line, Aquarium of the Americas, all Mississippi River attractions, and the Super Dome.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel Rooms

Rooms
170 Oversized Rooms featuring Kings, Double/Doubles, VIP and Honeymoon Suites with Jacuzzi Tubs, Microwave and mini-refrigerators. Room features include Coffee Makers, Hairdryers, Ironing Boards & Irons, Radio Alarm Clocks, Dry Cleaning at Front Desk, Jacuzzi Tubs in Luxury Room, Microwaves & Refrigerator in Luxury Room, Complimentary Cable Television, Voicemail Service, Electronic Key Locks.
Run of House
Standard Room Type. Includes (1) King or (2) Double Beds. Hotel to determine available room type.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.9 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.6 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Dining

On-Site Dining
* Yokohama Sushi Bar (lunch and dinner). * Breakfast Served in Hotel Cafe.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (729)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
729 out of 729
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No Coffee Joe
Starkville, MS 39759, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Geaux Saints

Good location for attending Saints game, located between French Quarter & Superdome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampton, NY
Oct 24, 2011

Wyndham Garden N'Awlins

Was good. Would have preferred a fridge in the room, but other thatn that, it was just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Domenica Restaurant for awesome Italien food!

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Courtz
Alliance, NE
Oct 17, 2011

Up all night

For a town that stays up all night, we were up for the wrong reasons. The pillows felt like sleeping on cement. Our cleaning crew tried to accomodate with softer pillows but only came up with one, which my husband and I fought over. We also thought that the restaurant and the Starbucks located in the lobby would have longer hours or be open all day. Not the case. The staff was friendly and helpful and gave us great directions and suggestions. The location is within walking distance to the French Quarter and the Riverwalk (a little longer trek, but doable). The location was good for noise---you couldn't hear any of the music/commotion from the parties downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The trolley stops 2 blocks from the hotel and will take you to various stops by the Riverwalk and up and down Canal street.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverview, MI
Oct 14, 2011

Quiet Retreat from French Quarter

Just a block away from Bourbon Street, close enough to St. Charles and Canal Street trolleys, reasonable fare at $3.00 for day pass. Great location for Harrah's and Jackson Square too. Hotel staff were great!! They were pleasant and oh so helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the St. Charles street trolley to the Garden District and check out the beautiful homes and the cemetery/mausoleum.

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maybe next time...
Shreveport, Louisiana
Oct 7, 2011

Not Clean at all....

Well let me start off with the only two good things about this Hotel experience, the first was the Front Desk Staff they were OUTSTANDING! The second the Location it is only a few blocks from Bourbon which was nice cause as much as parking is, it is nice to be able to walk there. Now the bad the Hotel doesnt look as nice as it does in the photos I was diappointed. The parking is a JOKE we decided to self park in the parking garage of the Hotel and it was AWEFUL there are big collums in the way and it is extremely difficult to park between that and another car. The room looked ok but it was obvious the sheets hadnt been changed and me and my mom kept feeling like we were getting bit by something. I hardly slept and could not wait to check out Im so glad it was only for one night. As someone who checks this site and others for reviews I felt I was mislead about the others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shutter
Business
palm beach gardens
Oct 4, 2011

Nice hotel

Nice quiet hotel. clean, comfortable, and nice location. Parking was a little bit of issue, but nothing to major.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food with very short walk to from hotel

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shutter
Business
palm beach gardens
Oct 4, 2011

Nice hotel

Nice quiet hotel. clean, comfortable, and nice location. Parking was a little bit of issue, but nothing to major.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food with very short walk to from hotel

Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aminn
Alexandria, LA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

good stuff

Went to NOLA on a whim, needed a reasonably priced nice hotel for my friend and I. Rooms were spacious, comfy, and the location is close to the action as well. Parking of note , they cannot fit trucks into their garage so they have to park it around the corner and its like 35 bucks so that may sway me from returning, but the staff and rooms were on the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aminn
Alexandria, LA, USA
Oct 2, 2011

good stuff

Went to NOLA on a whim, needed a reasonably priced nice hotel for my friend and I. Rooms were spacious, comfy, and the location is close to the action as well. Parking of note , they cannot fit trucks into their garage so they have to park it around the corner and its like 35 bucks so that may sway me from returning, but the staff and rooms were on the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rp1973
Business
Michigan City, IN, USA
Sep 30, 2011

A short walk to all the action...

I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference up the street. The room was massive. I don't know if it had to do with the fact they put me in a handicapped accessible room, or if all of the rooms are this large, but I certainly didn't trip over myself getting around. The bathroom was also large (once again, this could be due to the nature of the room), but did not have a bathtub. I was looking forward to a long soak after a long trip and was slightly disappointed by this. The water pressure is a little sporadic and hot water is sometimes slow to come in both the shower and the sink. The free internet and wide selection of TV channels was good to pass the time, but I rarely used them. It's New Orleans after all! The hotel is just a short walk (approx. 3 blocks) from Bourbon Street. So if you are looking to party, but don't want to have to pay for a cab, this is a reasonable distance. There is in-room coffee in single cup brewers, but no complementary breakfast is provided. My biggest surprise was finding out the hotel was actually an old Sears store. Knowing this, walking into the lobby, you can imagine what the place looked like in its heyday. The one negative I had was an inordinate amount of construction on the street below that was going on overnight. I was awakened late one night to the sound of jackhammers and construction equipment. I know this is out of the hotel's control, but it could be something to ask about when making reservations. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel to those looking to enjoy New Orleans, but not pay a lot for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street is just a short walk away. Take Baronne Street to Canal Street and turn right. Walk another block and you're in the heart of the French Quarter.

Back to menu Return to top