$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

W New Orleans - French Quarter

5 stars
316 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
39 reviews
awesome

Staff was excellent. Due to an overbooking they complimentary gave us a free room at another hotel... See full review

  • drphatty 37
  • Mar 6, 2014
A gem in the Quarter

Tucked away on Chartres, the W has the feel of a boutique hotel. Although the hotel was undergoing... See full review

  • Kmazz
  • Jul 2, 2012
Intimate contemporary hotel with a boutique flavor
 

The W New Orleans French Quarter hotel sits in the center of the action in the New Orleans entertainment district. Tucked away, a serene inner courtyard lies at its heart. Here guests can escape the excitement of the French Quarter and enjoy delicious New Orleans cuisine at the on-site restaurant, SoBou, where chandeliers vie with decorative angels for attention. The W New Orleans French Quarter hotel offers the personal service guests expect from a smaller hotel. It is big enough to meet all their accommodation needs but small enough to care.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Located next to historic Jackson Square and close to all the New Orleans attractions
  • European style courtyard and elegant outdoor living room with pretty fountain
  • Contemporary hotel with a cool vibe that blends seamlessly into its historic New Orleans setting
W New Orleans French Quarter Rooms
 

There are 97 guest rooms including four carriage houses and two deluxe suites in the accommodation selection of this contemporary, central hotel. Here at the W New Orleans French Quarter hotel, there is an emphasis on comfort and style. Interiors are minimalist but comfortable, and the outdoor Living Room, part of the inner courtyard area, is a triumph of innovative design. Guests can easily forget that busy New Orleans is on the doorstep. Choose rooms with views over the French Quarter or the European courtyard. High-speed Internet access is available in guest rooms (fees apply). Wi-Fi access is available in the Living Room and courtyrad of the hotel and is free of charge. All rooms at the W New Orleans French Quarter hotel have beds with elegant 350-thread-count linen and Bliss bathroom toiletries, for the indulgence of the guests. Amenities are extensive and include cable 40-inch flat-screen TV, DVD player, Tivoli Radio, iPod dock, infrared keyboard, safe deposit box and mini bar.

Things To Do:

  • Bourbon Street (0.1 mi/0.3 km)
  • Jackson Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Harrah's Casino (0.3 mi/ 0.6 km))
  • Confederate Memorial Hall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Morial Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • French Market (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (11.6 mi/18.7 km)
Policies and fees

  • Effective 01 April, overnight valet parking fee will be $42 USD + 12% tax. Oversized vehicles will be charged more.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

W New Orleans - French Quarter Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doorman
Audio visual equipment
Cellular telephone rental
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New Orleans - French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9544 -90.0665
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.2 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for W New Orleans - French Quarter

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Louisiana
Jun 27, 2011

Beautiful hotel/ Horrible stay

My friend and I were so excited when we went into the hotel. It was beautiful. The valet parked our car, we got our key and to the room we went. When we get to rooom 213 It sounds like there is a jet liner in our room about to take off. We figured maybe they had some heavy machinery above up doing construction and it would end when we got back. So we went to dinner and all around to see the sights. When we returned it was still making that noise. We got less than 2 hours sleep because of that noise. I would have rathered the city noise to keep me up. When we were checking out I was starting to tell the person but she just picked her hand to wave me off. In the night it was hard to find someone to let them know this noise is unacceptable. Seriously this was a VERY loud noise coming on and off. Absolutley horrible for such a beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We watched a band called, "The Pack" at My Bar bar for a little while they were fantastic.

Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 9, 2007

The W New Orleans was ...

The W New Orleans was amazing and I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Louisiana
Jun 27, 2011

Beautiful hotel/ Horrible stay

My friend and I were so excited when we went into the hotel. It was beautiful. The valet parked our car, we got our key and to the room we went. When we get to rooom 213 It sounds like there is a jet liner in our room about to take off. We figured maybe they had some heavy machinery above up doing construction and it would end when we got back. So we went to dinner and all around to see the sights. When we returned it was still making that noise. We got less than 2 hours sleep because of that noise. I would have rathered the city noise to keep me up. When we were checking out I was starting to tell the person but she just picked her hand to wave me off. In the night it was hard to find someone to let them know this noise is unacceptable. Seriously this was a VERY loud noise coming on and off. Absolutley horrible for such a beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We watched a band called, "The Pack" at My Bar bar for a little while they were fantastic.

Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
benjeb
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 18, 2009

Overcharged - and still not resolved

I stayed at the W for the weekend with my girlfriend following a business trip to New Orleans. I booked through orbitz that charged my credit card ahead of time. At checkout, they double charged me For Parking (88$). This was supposed to be included and billed up front. I have spent hours on the phone trying to get my money back. Both Orbitz and the Hotel agree I should get it. Orbitz even gave me a 15$ voucher. Anyway still waiting on the hotel and it has been over a month.The parking/concierge guys are great. If you need assistance around the city, ask [...].Otherwise stay away from this hotel. I would NEVER stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the ugly madness and hit frenchman's street.

Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
benjeb
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 18, 2009

Overcharged - and still not resolved

I stayed at the W for the weekend with my girlfriend following a business trip to New Orleans. I booked through orbitz that charged my credit card ahead of time. At checkout, they double charged me For Parking (88$). This was supposed to be included and billed up front. I have spent hours on the phone trying to get my money back. Both Orbitz and the Hotel agree I should get it. Orbitz even gave me a 15$ voucher. Anyway still waiting on the hotel and it has been over a month.The parking/concierge guys are great. If you need assistance around the city, ask [...].Otherwise stay away from this hotel. I would NEVER stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the ugly madness and hit frenchman's street.

Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 9, 2007

The W New Orleans was ...

The W New Orleans was amazing and I would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MSpringer
Bahamas
Jul 23, 2012

what a shame

Stile and ambiance is great. The staff is more then nice. Very accommodating and trying to deal with what they have been handed. I was told, the Hotel is owned by the management company. so nobody else is to blame when a place is under construction and still tries to operate. the elevator motors are making at least 3 rooms uninhabitable, the pool cannot be used, because there is construction going on and gardeners are cutting even single leaves with motorized equipment. Doors and walls are not sound prove. I would still go back once construction is over, but certainly never stay in any of the rooms around the elevators on any floor of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

well, French Quarter. there's not much more to say ;-)

Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mex
Mar 29, 2010

Made it Better

Room was not ready at check in 3:00pm.. Saturday.. Room was very mediocre for a 5 star hotel, closet like feeling with elevator noise. Ask for interior rooms if staying weekends... e.i. weddings or other parties. However, staff did make changes to our accomodations and we left on a happier note.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ATXGirl
Austin
Sep 16, 2013

Fun weekend!

The W in the French Quarter is seconds from Bourbon Street and many attractions but is quiet and wasn't as touristy. The hotel attracts seasoned New Orleans visitors and has an adult vibe. Asides from a snooty waitress/bartender, we had a fantastic time! The staff was attentive and polite. We loved the Acura service- the hotel will drive you anywhere within a five mile radius within certain hours. The hotel staff gave us great recommendations for dinner and local gems around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mex
Mar 29, 2010

Made it Better

Room was not ready at check in 3:00pm.. Saturday.. Room was very mediocre for a 5 star hotel, closet like feeling with elevator noise. Ask for interior rooms if staying weekends... e.i. weddings or other parties. However, staff did make changes to our accomodations and we left on a happier note.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top