$275 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

W New Orleans - French Quarter

5 stars
316 Chartres Street, 316 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
24 reviews
Super cool, trendy stay

This hotel was perfect. My husband and I went for a birthday weekend and when the hotel staff found... See full review

  • Jennilynn
  • Aug 3, 2014
awesome

Staff was excellent. Due to an overbooking they complimentary gave us a free room at another hotel... See full review

  • drphatty 37
  • Mar 6, 2014
A quiet spot in the city that purrs with nightlife during even the sun-drenched hours, W New Orleans French Quarter is adjacent to historic Jackson Square and boutique shops, and is a short walk from galleries, the Riverwalk and Harrah's casino. Savor the French Quarter's charms. Lounge in the outdoor courtyard's Living Room or by the fountain. Stroll along the gothic cast-iron gate surrounding the illuminated outdoor pool. Dine beneath Venetian chandeliers and angels at Bacco, owned and operated by Ralph Brennan. Watch evening settle on the balcony, or unwind, indulging in the legendary Bliss Sinkside Six. Redefine the dream state, tucked into 350-thread count linens, featherbed, and down duvet in our 98 guest rooms, including 4 carriage houses and 2 deluxe suites.

Hotel Map

29.9544 -90.0665
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 24.14, KM;
Area description
City Center, Urban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New Orleans - French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

W New Orleans - French Quarter Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Doorman
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

SoBou
Revel in intricate creations by Consulting Chef Tony McPhail and Executive Chef Juan Carlos Gonzalez, who punctuates local ingredients with Puerto Rican flavors. Drink from the cocktail menu selectively curated by Bar Chefs Lu Brow and Abigail Gullo.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for W New Orleans - French Quarter

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 24
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CaitlinSakura
Business
Meridian, MS, USA
Nov 25, 2011

AMAZING! <3

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend and it was AMAZING! It was definitely the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The room was amazing with a balcony and we absolutely loved the courtyard. The staff was also equally amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana is one of my favorite places to eat in New Orleans and is only a short distance walk from the W.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennilynn
Business
Dallas, tx
Aug 3, 2014

Super cool, trendy stay

This hotel was perfect. My husband and I went for a birthday weekend and when the hotel staff found out, they sen is champagne and cheesecake! All the staff I spoke with we super helpful, knowledgable, and friendly (even the room service staff!) the location was far enough from bourbon that you didn't hear the noise, but close enough to everything great about the city that you aren't left out. Would recommend this to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
someFluff
Business
Oakland, CA, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Location location location

This hotel is in the nice part of the French Quarter. It's chic. The pool is more for lounging, too small to swim in. There is a bartender by the pool only Thurs- Sun. But other than that, the staff is hospitable and they remembered my name. And off course, the room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michaeltx
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Dec 26, 2010

Best place to stay in the Quarter

Location is fabulous. Close to everything you need to visit. You're in the heart of the French Quarter but far enough away from the Bourbon Street obnoxiousness. The beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept on at a hotel. Love the hotel's cool vibe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derek-n-Rob
Business
Columbus, OH
Mar 3, 2009

Civility Surrounded by Debauchery

We enjoyed our room, the hotel and its location in the Quarter. The only two minuses of the hotel are the room service menu [if you use room service as much as we do]...its REALLY good just limited...and the lack of tubs, only showers [which is fine with us but could be a deterrent for others]...the hotel staff was warm and helpful and the remainder of the hotel was all typical "W" albeit a boutique version of "W". Great location to whatever you wish and retire to QUIET and restful oasis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 11, 2009

W- French Quarter review

This was my best vacation yet. New Orleans is a wonderful city and the hotel stay made it that much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nola me
Business
Alexandria, LA
Nov 12, 2009

W

Great time. We were worried when we pulled up and didn't see any valet or assistance for 10 minutes (there was a Saints game on, guess they were preoccupied). But everything turned out great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many good restaurants within walking distance, although reservations would be wise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 15, 2010

Great location, comfy room

I had read some bad reviews of this hotel and I disagree with them. This was a very comfortable hotel in a good location in the French Quarter. I loved the Bliss products in the bathroom and the beds were very comfortable. You are away from the crazy noise of Bourbon St but still on a very desirable street with many great shops and restaurants. I didn't find the front desk to be all that nice, but the valets were great. No concierge though. No fitness center. Almost $15/day for internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jun 17, 2011

The W French Quarter

This hotel is great location if you are looking to hang out in the quarter. One block off of Bourbon. Very nice and quaint. Windows that open up to the street. Very small hotel but accented very nicely. Fits in very well. There is no restaurant or bar in the hotel which is not a big deal since you are in the middle of the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mex
Mar 29, 2010

Made it Better

Room was not ready at check in 3:00pm.. Saturday.. Room was very mediocre for a 5 star hotel, closet like feeling with elevator noise. Ask for interior rooms if staying weekends... e.i. weddings or other parties. However, staff did make changes to our accomodations and we left on a happier note.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top