$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

W New Orleans - French Quarter

5 stars
316 Chartres Street, 316 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
24 reviews
Super cool, trendy stay

This hotel was perfect. My husband and I went for a birthday weekend and when the hotel staff found... See full review

  • Jennilynn
  • Aug 3, 2014
awesome

Staff was excellent. Due to an overbooking they complimentary gave us a free room at another hotel... See full review

  • drphatty 37
  • Mar 6, 2014
Intimate contemporary hotel with a boutique flavor
 

The W New Orleans French Quarter hotel sits in the center of the action in the New Orleans entertainment district. Tucked away, a serene inner courtyard lies at its heart. Here guests can escape the excitement of the French Quarter and enjoy delicious New Orleans cuisine at the on-site restaurant, SoBou, where chandeliers vie with decorative angels for attention. The W New Orleans French Quarter hotel offers the personal service guests expect from a smaller hotel. It is big enough to meet all their accommodation needs but small enough to care.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Located next to historic Jackson Square and close to all the New Orleans attractions
  • European style courtyard and elegant outdoor living room with pretty fountain
  • Contemporary hotel with a cool vibe that blends seamlessly into its historic New Orleans setting
W New Orleans French Quarter Rooms
 

There are 97 guest rooms including four carriage houses and two deluxe suites in the accommodation selection of this contemporary, central hotel. Here at the W New Orleans French Quarter hotel, there is an emphasis on comfort and style. Interiors are minimalist but comfortable, and the outdoor Living Room, part of the inner courtyard area, is a triumph of innovative design. Guests can easily forget that busy New Orleans is on the doorstep. Choose rooms with views over the French Quarter or the European courtyard. High-speed Internet access is available in guest rooms (fees apply). Wi-Fi access is available in the Living Room and courtyrad of the hotel and is free of charge. All rooms at the W New Orleans French Quarter hotel have beds with elegant 350-thread-count linen and Bliss bathroom toiletries, for the indulgence of the guests. Amenities are extensive and include cable 40-inch flat-screen TV, DVD player, Tivoli Radio, iPod dock, infrared keyboard, safe deposit box and mini bar.

Things To Do:

  • Bourbon Street (0.1 mi/0.3 km)
  • Jackson Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Harrah's Casino (0.3 mi/ 0.6 km))
  • Confederate Memorial Hall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Morial Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • French Market (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (11.6 mi/18.7 km)
Policies and fees

  • Effective 01 April, overnight valet parking fee will be $42 USD + 12% tax. Oversized vehicles will be charged more.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9544 -90.0665
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport, (MSY), 24.14, KM;
Area description
City Center, City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New Orleans - French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

W New Orleans - French Quarter Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Doorman
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

SoBou
Revel in intricate creations by Consulting Chef Tony McPhail and Executive Chef Juan Carlos Gonzalez, who punctuates local ingredients with Puerto Rican flavors. Drink from the cocktail menu selectively curated by Bar Chefs Lu Brow and Abigail Gullo.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for W New Orleans - French Quarter

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennilynn
Dallas, tx
Aug 3, 2014

Super cool, trendy stay

This hotel was perfect. My husband and I went for a birthday weekend and when the hotel staff found out, they sen is champagne and cheesecake! All the staff I spoke with we super helpful, knowledgable, and friendly (even the room service staff!) the location was far enough from bourbon that you didn't hear the noise, but close enough to everything great about the city that you aren't left out. Would recommend this to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drphatty 37
Dallas
Mar 6, 2014

awesome

Staff was excellent. Due to an overbooking they complimentary gave us a free room at another hotel until our room was ready the next day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ATXGirl
Austin
Sep 16, 2013

Fun weekend!

The W in the French Quarter is seconds from Bourbon Street and many attractions but is quiet and wasn't as touristy. The hotel attracts seasoned New Orleans visitors and has an adult vibe. Asides from a snooty waitress/bartender, we had a fantastic time! The staff was attentive and polite. We loved the Acura service- the hotel will drive you anywhere within a five mile radius within certain hours. The hotel staff gave us great recommendations for dinner and local gems around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MSpringer
Bahamas
Jul 23, 2012

what a shame

Stile and ambiance is great. The staff is more then nice. Very accommodating and trying to deal with what they have been handed. I was told, the Hotel is owned by the management company. so nobody else is to blame when a place is under construction and still tries to operate. the elevator motors are making at least 3 rooms uninhabitable, the pool cannot be used, because there is construction going on and gardeners are cutting even single leaves with motorized equipment. Doors and walls are not sound prove. I would still go back once construction is over, but certainly never stay in any of the rooms around the elevators on any floor of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

well, French Quarter. there's not much more to say ;-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kmazz
Greensboro, North Carolina
Jul 2, 2012

A gem in the Quarter

Tucked away on Chartres, the W has the feel of a boutique hotel. Although the hotel was undergoing renovations to the lobby, bar and restaurant area, staying there was still enjoyable in large part due to their staff. Everyone from the front desk to the housekeeping personel were friendly and efficient. The room was typically W - colorful and comfortable and the bathroom was large with a great shower. The windows were able to be opened and overlooked the swimming pool (music could get a little loud and a lovely courtyard. Room service was brought in from a restaurant nearby and was delicious (but expensive). The hotel has a complimentary shuttle on a first come first serve basis which will take you anywhere within a five mile radius. I would definitely stay at the W French Quarter on my next trip to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have breakfast at The Camelia Grill- right down Chartres from the hotel - delicious food in a fun place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CaitlinSakura
Meridian, MS, USA
Nov 25, 2011

AMAZING! <3

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend and it was AMAZING! It was definitely the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The room was amazing with a balcony and we absolutely loved the courtyard. The staff was also equally amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana is one of my favorite places to eat in New Orleans and is only a short distance walk from the W.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unhappy Traveler 23
DeLand FL
Nov 23, 2011

Details

We were not informed that the hotel was undergoing renovations. Also, as we have a small child, we booked a king size bed. When we arrived, there were no kings available. Furthermore, there was no room service. Wish we would have know these details before we booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
someFluff
Oakland, CA, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Location location location

This hotel is in the nice part of the French Quarter. It's chic. The pool is more for lounging, too small to swim in. There is a bartender by the pool only Thurs- Sun. But other than that, the staff is hospitable and they remembered my name. And off course, the room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Louisiana
Jun 27, 2011

Beautiful hotel/ Horrible stay

My friend and I were so excited when we went into the hotel. It was beautiful. The valet parked our car, we got our key and to the room we went. When we get to rooom 213 It sounds like there is a jet liner in our room about to take off. We figured maybe they had some heavy machinery above up doing construction and it would end when we got back. So we went to dinner and all around to see the sights. When we returned it was still making that noise. We got less than 2 hours sleep because of that noise. I would have rathered the city noise to keep me up. When we were checking out I was starting to tell the person but she just picked her hand to wave me off. In the night it was hard to find someone to let them know this noise is unacceptable. Seriously this was a VERY loud noise coming on and off. Absolutley horrible for such a beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We watched a band called, "The Pack" at My Bar bar for a little while they were fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pensacola, FL
Jun 17, 2011

The W French Quarter

This hotel is great location if you are looking to hang out in the quarter. One block off of Bourbon. Very nice and quaint. Windows that open up to the street. Very small hotel but accented very nicely. Fits in very well. There is no restaurant or bar in the hotel which is not a big deal since you are in the middle of the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search