$205 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

W New Orleans - French Quarter

5 stars
316 Chartres Street, 316 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
25 reviews
Super cool, trendy stay

This hotel was perfect. My husband and I went for a birthday weekend and when the hotel staff found... See full review

  • Jennilynn
  • Aug 3, 2014
Great rooms great stuff

Great location friendly stuff good food. Clean and modern ace great for couple or friends we enjoy... See full review

  • merave44
  • Oct 19, 2014
Intimate contemporary hotel with a boutique flavor
 

The W New Orleans French Quarter hotel sits in the center of the action in the New Orleans entertainment district. Tucked away, a serene inner courtyard lies at its heart. Here guests can escape the excitement of the French Quarter and enjoy delicious New Orleans cuisine at the on-site restaurant, SoBou, where chandeliers vie with decorative angels for attention. The W New Orleans French Quarter hotel offers the personal service guests expect from a smaller hotel. It is big enough to meet all their accommodation needs but small enough to care.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • Located next to historic Jackson Square and close to all the New Orleans attractions
  • European style courtyard and elegant outdoor living room with pretty fountain
  • Contemporary hotel with a cool vibe that blends seamlessly into its historic New Orleans setting
W New Orleans French Quarter Rooms
 

There are 97 guest rooms including four carriage houses and two deluxe suites in the accommodation selection of this contemporary, central hotel. Here at the W New Orleans French Quarter hotel, there is an emphasis on comfort and style. Interiors are minimalist but comfortable, and the outdoor Living Room, part of the inner courtyard area, is a triumph of innovative design. Guests can easily forget that busy New Orleans is on the doorstep. Choose rooms with views over the French Quarter or the European courtyard. High-speed Internet access is available in guest rooms (fees apply). Wi-Fi access is available in the Living Room and courtyrad of the hotel and is free of charge. All rooms at the W New Orleans French Quarter hotel have beds with elegant 350-thread-count linen and Bliss bathroom toiletries, for the indulgence of the guests. Amenities are extensive and include cable 40-inch flat-screen TV, DVD player, Tivoli Radio, iPod dock, infrared keyboard, safe deposit box and mini bar.

Things To Do:

  • Bourbon Street (0.1 mi/0.3 km)
  • Jackson Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Harrah's Casino (0.3 mi/ 0.6 km))
  • Confederate Memorial Hall (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Morial Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • French Market (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (11.6 mi/18.7 km)
Policies and fees

  • Effective 01 April, overnight valet parking fee will be $42 USD + 12% tax. Oversized vehicles will be charged more.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W New Orleans - French Quarter also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

W New Orleans - French Quarter Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

SoBou
Revel in intricate creations by Consulting Chef Tony McPhail and Executive Chef Juan Carlos Gonzalez, who punctuates local ingredients with Puerto Rican flavors. Drink from the cocktail menu selectively curated by Bar Chefs Lu Brow and Abigail Gullo.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for W New Orleans - French Quarter

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 25
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennilynn
Business
Dallas, tx
Aug 3, 2014

Super cool, trendy stay

This hotel was perfect. My husband and I went for a birthday weekend and when the hotel staff found out, they sen is champagne and cheesecake! All the staff I spoke with we super helpful, knowledgable, and friendly (even the room service staff!) the location was far enough from bourbon that you didn't hear the noise, but close enough to everything great about the city that you aren't left out. Would recommend this to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MSpringer
Business
Bahamas
Jul 23, 2012

what a shame

Stile and ambiance is great. The staff is more then nice. Very accommodating and trying to deal with what they have been handed. I was told, the Hotel is owned by the management company. so nobody else is to blame when a place is under construction and still tries to operate. the elevator motors are making at least 3 rooms uninhabitable, the pool cannot be used, because there is construction going on and gardeners are cutting even single leaves with motorized equipment. Doors and walls are not sound prove. I would still go back once construction is over, but certainly never stay in any of the rooms around the elevators on any floor of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

well, French Quarter. there's not much more to say ;-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CaitlinSakura
Business
Meridian, MS, USA
Nov 25, 2011

AMAZING! <3

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend and it was AMAZING! It was definitely the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The room was amazing with a balcony and we absolutely loved the courtyard. The staff was also equally amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana is one of my favorite places to eat in New Orleans and is only a short distance walk from the W.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
someFluff
Business
Oakland, CA, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Location location location

This hotel is in the nice part of the French Quarter. It's chic. The pool is more for lounging, too small to swim in. There is a bartender by the pool only Thurs- Sun. But other than that, the staff is hospitable and they remembered my name. And off course, the room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jun 17, 2011

The W French Quarter

This hotel is great location if you are looking to hang out in the quarter. One block off of Bourbon. Very nice and quaint. Windows that open up to the street. Very small hotel but accented very nicely. Fits in very well. There is no restaurant or bar in the hotel which is not a big deal since you are in the middle of the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michaeltx
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Dec 26, 2010

Best place to stay in the Quarter

Location is fabulous. Close to everything you need to visit. You're in the heart of the French Quarter but far enough away from the Bourbon Street obnoxiousness. The beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept on at a hotel. Love the hotel's cool vibe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mex
Mar 29, 2010

Made it Better

Room was not ready at check in 3:00pm.. Saturday.. Room was very mediocre for a 5 star hotel, closet like feeling with elevator noise. Ask for interior rooms if staying weekends... e.i. weddings or other parties. However, staff did make changes to our accomodations and we left on a happier note.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 15, 2010

Great location, comfy room

I had read some bad reviews of this hotel and I disagree with them. This was a very comfortable hotel in a good location in the French Quarter. I loved the Bliss products in the bathroom and the beds were very comfortable. You are away from the crazy noise of Bourbon St but still on a very desirable street with many great shops and restaurants. I didn't find the front desk to be all that nice, but the valets were great. No concierge though. No fitness center. Almost $15/day for internet access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nola me
Business
Alexandria, LA
Nov 12, 2009

W

Great time. We were worried when we pulled up and didn't see any valet or assistance for 10 minutes (there was a Saints game on, guess they were preoccupied). But everything turned out great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So many good restaurants within walking distance, although reservations would be wise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W New Orleans - French Quarter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
benjeb
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 18, 2009

Overcharged - and still not resolved

I stayed at the W for the weekend with my girlfriend following a business trip to New Orleans. I booked through orbitz that charged my credit card ahead of time. At checkout, they double charged me For Parking (88$). This was supposed to be included and billed up front. I have spent hours on the phone trying to get my money back. Both Orbitz and the Hotel agree I should get it. Orbitz even gave me a 15$ voucher. Anyway still waiting on the hotel and it has been over a month.The parking/concierge guys are great. If you need assistance around the city, ask [...].Otherwise stay away from this hotel. I would NEVER stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid the ugly madness and hit frenchman's street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top