$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

4 stars
100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
77 reviews
nba all star game 02-16-2014

needed a rollshe had a out bed. was sent to room immediately,everyone great southern hospitality... See full review

  • bigfluke
  • Feb 19, 2014
Great Location!

We had a great experience at the Westin that started with an early check-in. The location is... See full review

  • U of M 76
  • Jun 4, 2014
Along the mighty Mississippi River and adjacent to the historical French Quarter, The Westin New Orleans Canal Place is the perfect address to savor the Crescent City's zest for living. Just steps from fine dining, Harrah's Casino, upscale shopping, museums, art galleries, and the central business district, you will enjoy comfort and service that will make you feel right at home. With richly appointed French influences, the guest rooms and suites provide breathtaking views of the Mississippi River, French Quarter, and downtown. Guest rooms are oversized and are ideal for conducting business with ergonomic desk chairs and High Speed Internet Access. When it's time for a break, stroll up to the 29th floor rooftop pool, unwind at the WestinWORKOUT® Gym, or drop by our renowned River 127 Restaurant and enjoy continental cuisine with a touch of Louisiana spice, 127 feet above the river. Find total renewal at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place.

Hotel Map

29.9513 -90.0641
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin New Orleans Canal Place also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.8 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 77
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bigfluke
westfield.nj
Feb 19, 2014

nba all star game 02-16-2014

needed a rollshe had a out bed. was sent to room immediately,everyone great southern hospitality from all staff. door men out standing. when not busy, seemed to enjoy hearing about our adventures of the day. one concierge seem not to like her job and i felt uneasy dealing with here. no southern charm. it seem to be an effort to show directions on a map. SHE SEEMED TO THINK I WAS STUPID WHEN I ASKED HER TO REPEAT SOMETHING. she also thinks it is only a 1 and1/2 hour cab ride to the airport almost missed my plane.. i understand rush hour traffic but have indication of it i new orleans all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

always know where you want to go. most restaurants looked very not to eat at.

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDMH
Iowa
Dec 3, 2013

Great location

Greeat location, but it was difficult to get an answer about the area & no little store - the staff state there a store around the corner etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
looking for a quick trip
texas
Sep 10, 2013

fabulous

Easy checkin. Love the dual head shower. Big room with actual walking space even with 3 pieces of luggage. Great view and perfect location in new orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining people watching and shopping in the same building with the french quarter just blocks away.

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dfadgsadfg
hattiesburg,ms
Mar 16, 2013

Great Staff and location

Everyone was friendly during our stay and the location was great. After shopping around we found that we could have gotten a better price in the same area. Room was clean and updated however the bathroom was no thrills. The Hotel bar was VERY expensive and would not reccommend anyone stopping in for a drink unless you have money to burn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dragos charbroiled oysters!

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John Miami
North Miami, Florida
Jan 2, 2013

Great staff and value

The hotel is located right in front of the Canal AT the Canal Shopping Mall, what a great location with fine shoppes and Saks Fifth Avenue right in the door. Elevators where a bit of a problem because renovation. Staff at the hotel was great, bellboys very good, parking could not get any better because of easyness and rate of $18 USD per day. By far this is the best location and value in all New Orleans if getting a rate between $110-150 USD. Definitely would return to this hotel, great room including for kids because of close attractions. I didn't regret being far of French Quarter this was silent and luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

IMAX and Aquarium are just walking distance and is a beautiful experience, Mortons Restaurant and Ruth Chris are right away. In front of Harrahs casino, best in town.

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C2ShiningC
Pensacola FL
Jul 28, 2012

Quiet, secure, spacious room with FABULOUS pool

On our recent family vacation to New Orleans, we stayed at the Westin. great deal, and the parking fee was under $20! (almost unheard of in N.O...). We believe in a good nights sleep, and with my 10 year old daughter, I didn't want to overhear/see the night activity in the French Quarter vicinity. That said, this is with walking distance of the FQ, where we went during the day. The Westin is very close to the Aquarium, which was our answer to the hot afternoon temps! And it was absolutely awesome. In the evening we went up to the 29th floor rooftop pool, which offered a stunning 360 view of the Mississippi and the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Desire Bistro and Oyster Bar--- if you are a sodium aficionado you might really like it... A couple reviews raved about the BBQ shrimp and crab étouffée -- both ended up being very one dimensional, with the dimension being SALT! Disappointing, but we took it as a learning experience....we regret that we have but one stomach to give for our dinner!

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaiian in TX
Katy, TX
Jun 20, 2012

Great overnighter!

Great experience! What attacted us was that the hotel excepted visitors with dogs. Got an excellent room with the best view in town! Was able to walk the French Quarter and enjoy the food, music, ambiance, etc...it was great! Staying at the Westin was the key. One problem was the hotel parking...it can be a little expensive (but even public parking is very expensive). But, all in all, my family enjoyed the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kajun
LA
Jan 3, 2012

Location, location, location

I can't say enough about the great location of this hotel. It puts you right in the action and in the heart of the French Quarter experience. We were in short walking distance to all the great sites of New Orleans. Very easy access to all major venues such as the Super Dome. Easy in, easy out. Good staff. The only negative I have is that our room was not set up with new towels, shampoo and other needs on the second day. However, I will stay at this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top