$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

4 stars
100 Rue Iberville, 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
59 reviews
Fantastic Anniversary getaway

Fantastic location for what we did. Awesome river view and very roomy. Staff was very... See full review

  • Nana Beryl
  • Sep 2, 2014
nba all star game 02-16-2014

needed a rollshe had a out bed. was sent to room immediately,everyone great southern hospitality... See full review

  • bigfluke
  • Feb 19, 2014
Top location in New Orleans for Mississippi views, shopping, and dining
From the Westin New Orleans Canal Place there are fabulous views of the mighty Mississippi River, as well as of the French Quarter area and the rest of the bustling New Orleans' downtown. The Westin New Orleans Canal Place places guests in the perfect location from which to explore the city, with its numerous restaurants, shops, and art galleries all within easy reach. There is plenty happening in the Crescent City, from the upscale boutiques to the downtown jazz venues.
3 Reasons To Stay
 
  • Fabulous views of the grand Mississippi River flowing by New Orleans

  • Great on-site amenities such as rooftop pool, gym, and renowned restaurant

  • Excellent location for accessing the best of city life, including shops, museums, and art galleries

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place Rooms
Rooms at the Westin New Orleans Canal Place locate guests above the center of the city close to the central business district. While making the most of the breathtaking views, guests enjoy top quality room amenities and comforts, which include ergonomic desk chairs (ideal if you have to work) and complimentary Wi-Fi access. The hotel also provides access to a great range of amenities for relaxation and entertainment. There is a rooftop pool on the 29th floor, gym, and the River 127 restaurant serving a continental cuisine.
Things To Do
 
  • Wyndham Riverfront (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • French Quarter New Orleans (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

  • Lafayette Square (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

  • Convention Center New Orleans (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

  • New Orleans Superdome (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

Policies and fees
NOTE: The following parking fees apply: self-parking, $18; and valet parking, $36.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin New Orleans Canal Place also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Porters
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe
Mini bar
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 59
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nana Beryl
Business
Houma, Louisiana
Sep 2, 2014

Fantastic Anniversary getaway

Fantastic location for what we did. Awesome river view and very roomy. Staff was very accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinner cruise on a paddlewheel river boat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
U of M 76
Business
Flint, MI, USA
Jun 4, 2014

Great Location!

We had a great experience at the Westin that started with an early check-in. The location is perfect for French Quarter wandering and the hotel is right next door to the casino. There are plenty of great dining opportunities close by and lots things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Grand Isle restaurant. Great food and wait staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Double Stuffs
Business
Kansas City, Missouri
Apr 30, 2014

wonderful view of the river

For the price, our stay was not what we expected. The sign directing us to the ice machine was missing. We had to find someone from staff to show us. To print our boarding passes after our stay, we had to ask directions to the business office. Nothing was clearly marked. The coffee in the room was not replaced each day. But the staff was friendly and helpful and the view of the river from our room was spectacular. We have stayed at many other hotels in the quarter, and this one fell short of what we usually have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

It is a short walk to many of the attractions in the quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Double Stuffs
Business
Kansas City, Missouri
Apr 22, 2014

Beautiful View

We travel to New Orleans every spring and stay in different hotels each time. For the price, there was nothing special but the view. The signage for ice on our floor was missing, and we had to find someone to ask. For printing our boarding passes, we had to find someone to direct us. There were no signs to show where to find certain amenities. The complimentary coffee's sugar and cream packets were not replaced. Pretty pricey for average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to fabulous dining, shopping and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gail Ann
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 28, 2013

Fun long weekend

The staff, from the front desk, the valet and the hotel operator could not have been more pleasant. It appeared all of them truly cared about your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Del traveler
Business
WA. State
Jan 22, 2013

Great Location

Even though it was only one night, we could walk to everything we wanted to see and experience that evening. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We very much enjoyed the hotel and our room, would definitely recommend this hotel and area to stay. Thanks to all the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We were not sure where we wanted to eat that evening. Walking around the area led us down Royal St. to Mr. "B"s, and we really enjoyed our evening. Great staff, food, and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
At Home Tourist
Business
New Orleans
Jan 1, 2013

Great Romantic Getawary

Great service, rooms are large, comfortable with excellent beds and linens. Fantastic view. Easy access to theatre, shopping and the French Quarter. Only downside is the parking is inconvenient and expensive. You do not have a in- out option

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Access to the Canal Street street car line which connects to the St. Charles street care line for an inexpensive tour of the City. Also access to the redline that runs along the French Quarter. Easy way to get to Café Dumond, Jackson Square and the French Market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keonar Travel
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 28, 2012

Great Stay

The Westin had a great location and an even better view. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We decided on the River view was was not let down. Amazing view of new orleans. The only complaint was that the bathtub was not that big, (was looking for a garden tub). Also there wasnt a hottub in the pool area. The pool is heated and has an amazing view of the entire city on the 29th top floor though. They are doing construction so we heard lots of noise around 8:30 am but I assume that wont last forever and we were already up so it didnt bother us. Overall, very clean and nice, would probably stay there again in the summer (b/c of the pool, but if winter, Id opt for a place with a hot tub).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Overall quiet part of town, not directly in the French Quarter so the noise of the city isnt a problem but its only a few minutes on foot to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happyhusband
Business
Miami
Nov 26, 2012

Nice location - price just right

This is a decent hotel with a great location. easy to walk to all places in the french quarter. We had a good time there and would come back to it. Few things - there is no elevator to the swimming pool/rooftop. you must go up a narrow staircase in order to get to there. I just don't see elderly folks making it up there safely.... You need to switch elevators once, on the 11th floor, to go to your room. This is slightly annoying but you get used to it after a while. In spite of the above I would still recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a city tour outside of the french quarter - NO is a beautiful city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Let's Do It Again
Business
New Orleans
Aug 7, 2012

Pleasant Surprise

Excellent experience in every way! Great location, customer service, and ammenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top