$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

4 stars
100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
58 reviews
Fantastic Anniversary getaway

Fantastic location for what we did. Awesome river view and very roomy. Staff was very... See full review

  • Nana Beryl
  • Sep 2, 2014
nba all star game 02-16-2014

needed a rollshe had a out bed. was sent to room immediately,everyone great southern hospitality... See full review

  • bigfluke
  • Feb 19, 2014
Top location in New Orleans for Mississippi views, shopping, and dining
From the Westin New Orleans Canal Place there are fabulous views of the mighty Mississippi River, as well as of the French Quarter area and the rest of the bustling New Orleans' downtown. The Westin New Orleans Canal Place places guests in the perfect location from which to explore the city, with its numerous restaurants, shops, and art galleries all within easy reach. There is plenty happening in the Crescent City, from the upscale boutiques to the downtown jazz venues.
3 Reasons To Stay
 
  • Fabulous views of the grand Mississippi River flowing by New Orleans

  • Great on-site amenities such as rooftop pool, gym, and renowned restaurant

  • Excellent location for accessing the best of city life, including shops, museums, and art galleries

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place Rooms
Rooms at the Westin New Orleans Canal Place locate guests above the center of the city close to the central business district. While making the most of the breathtaking views, guests enjoy top quality room amenities and comforts, which include ergonomic desk chairs (ideal if you have to work) and complimentary Wi-Fi access. The hotel also provides access to a great range of amenities for relaxation and entertainment. There is a rooftop pool on the 29th floor, gym, and the River 127 restaurant serving a continental cuisine.
Things To Do
 
  • Wyndham Riverfront (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • French Quarter New Orleans (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

  • Lafayette Square (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

  • Convention Center New Orleans (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

  • New Orleans Superdome (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

Policies and fees
NOTE: The following parking fees apply: self-parking, $18; and valet parking, $36.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9513 -90.0641
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin New Orleans Canal Place also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carriere,MS
Apr 19, 2010

Never Again!

Horrible! Payed way to much for 4 people to fit in 1 king size bed, when we payed for a suite. Had to have two rollaway beds brought up. Room wasn't ready when we went to check in at 3 had to wait until 4:30. The people at the next table had the Presidental Suite and had to wait until 5:30. [...] Sheets had holes in them and when we asked for them to be changed...well we are still waiting. The bath tub had the enamel peeling up. Will never stay again!! Finally the roof top deck with the "Great" view was closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jan 1, 2011

Could have stayed in a better hotel

Could have stayed in a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dfadgsadfg
hattiesburg,ms
Mar 16, 2013

Great Staff and location

Everyone was friendly during our stay and the location was great. After shopping around we found that we could have gotten a better price in the same area. Room was clean and updated however the bathroom was no thrills. The Hotel bar was VERY expensive and would not reccommend anyone stopping in for a drink unless you have money to burn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dragos charbroiled oysters!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Double Stuffs
Kansas City, Missouri
Apr 30, 2014

wonderful view of the river

For the price, our stay was not what we expected. The sign directing us to the ice machine was missing. We had to find someone from staff to show us. To print our boarding passes after our stay, we had to ask directions to the business office. Nothing was clearly marked. The coffee in the room was not replaced each day. But the staff was friendly and helpful and the view of the river from our room was spectacular. We have stayed at many other hotels in the quarter, and this one fell short of what we usually have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

It is a short walk to many of the attractions in the quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Follow Your Star
West Palm Beach, FL
Apr 5, 2010

Great location

Sightseeing, eating, drinking, ran the Crescent City 10K. Close to the French Quarter and transportation to outlying areas (Garden District, Magazine Street).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do one of the Hunted Historic Tours. Great guides, interesting information, bar break halfway through.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelin Dave
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Nov 15, 2011

OK business hotel

for most business hotels this would have been a very good hotel. As it was a Westin, I was expecting a bit more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

skip Landrys which is just across the parking lot (just average food). Head into the Quarters for some good LA food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Radica
Tampa, Fl
Feb 20, 2012

Valentines' Day getaway!

I enjoyed my visit. We spent 3 nights and had no problems. The location was excellent. The staff were very knowledgeable regarding any questions we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Crescent City Brewery. Good food, good prices, great beer and great service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Double Stuffs
Kansas City, Missouri
Apr 22, 2014

Beautiful View

We travel to New Orleans every spring and stay in different hotels each time. For the price, there was nothing special but the view. The signage for ice on our floor was missing, and we had to find someone to ask. For printing our boarding passes, we had to find someone to direct us. There were no signs to show where to find certain amenities. The complimentary coffee's sugar and cream packets were not replaced. Pretty pricey for average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to fabulous dining, shopping and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ktbug957
Mandeville, LA
Aug 6, 2012

Bachelorette Weekend

Everything about the Westin is great except the front desk staff was absolutely rude. We had some problems with my reservation which was fine, but instead of fixing it the front desk lady told me there was nothing she could do and that "was the problem with booking through a third party." Luckily the "third party" called and got us 2 rooms like we had originally booked. Then the same girl charged my credit card twice for the rooms and trying to get them to remove the charge was a nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pasadena, CA
Jan 23, 2010

Mediocre Property

Not worthy of a 4 star rating--it's more like a 3 star. The property needs an update and makeover.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search