$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

4 stars
100 Rue Iberville, 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
59 reviews
Fantastic Anniversary getaway

Fantastic location for what we did. Awesome river view and very roomy. Staff was very... See full review

  • Nana Beryl
  • Sep 2, 2014
nba all star game 02-16-2014

needed a rollshe had a out bed. was sent to room immediately,everyone great southern hospitality... See full review

  • bigfluke
  • Feb 19, 2014
Top location in New Orleans for Mississippi views, shopping, and dining
From the Westin New Orleans Canal Place there are fabulous views of the mighty Mississippi River, as well as of the French Quarter area and the rest of the bustling New Orleans' downtown. The Westin New Orleans Canal Place places guests in the perfect location from which to explore the city, with its numerous restaurants, shops, and art galleries all within easy reach. There is plenty happening in the Crescent City, from the upscale boutiques to the downtown jazz venues.
3 Reasons To Stay
 
  • Fabulous views of the grand Mississippi River flowing by New Orleans

  • Great on-site amenities such as rooftop pool, gym, and renowned restaurant

  • Excellent location for accessing the best of city life, including shops, museums, and art galleries

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place Rooms
Rooms at the Westin New Orleans Canal Place locate guests above the center of the city close to the central business district. While making the most of the breathtaking views, guests enjoy top quality room amenities and comforts, which include ergonomic desk chairs (ideal if you have to work) and complimentary Wi-Fi access. The hotel also provides access to a great range of amenities for relaxation and entertainment. There is a rooftop pool on the 29th floor, gym, and the River 127 restaurant serving a continental cuisine.
Things To Do
 
  • Wyndham Riverfront (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • French Quarter New Orleans (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

  • Lafayette Square (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

  • Convention Center New Orleans (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

  • New Orleans Superdome (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

Policies and fees
NOTE: The following parking fees apply: self-parking, $18; and valet parking, $36.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin New Orleans Canal Place also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Porters
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe
Mini bar
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.1 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ktbug957
Business
Mandeville, LA
Aug 6, 2012

Bachelorette Weekend

Everything about the Westin is great except the front desk staff was absolutely rude. We had some problems with my reservation which was fine, but instead of fixing it the front desk lady told me there was nothing she could do and that "was the problem with booking through a third party." Luckily the "third party" called and got us 2 rooms like we had originally booked. Then the same girl charged my credit card twice for the rooms and trying to get them to remove the charge was a nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C2ShiningC
Business
Pensacola FL
Jul 28, 2012

Quiet, secure, spacious room with FABULOUS pool

On our recent family vacation to New Orleans, we stayed at the Westin. great deal, and the parking fee was under $20! (almost unheard of in N.O...). We believe in a good nights sleep, and with my 10 year old daughter, I didn't want to overhear/see the night activity in the French Quarter vicinity. That said, this is with walking distance of the FQ, where we went during the day. The Westin is very close to the Aquarium, which was our answer to the hot afternoon temps! And it was absolutely awesome. In the evening we went up to the 29th floor rooftop pool, which offered a stunning 360 view of the Mississippi and the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Desire Bistro and Oyster Bar--- if you are a sodium aficionado you might really like it... A couple reviews raved about the BBQ shrimp and crab étouffée -- both ended up being very one dimensional, with the dimension being SALT! Disappointing, but we took it as a learning experience....we regret that we have but one stomach to give for our dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viva traveling
Business
Mobile, Alabama
Jul 17, 2012

Self contained place

Great view of the Mississippi river! You don't have to go very far to shop or go to the movies. IMAX and Aquarium are within walking distance, also the river walk. The elevator situation is a little annoying, but unless you are going up and down a lot, is not a big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Maspero is about 6 blocks and is one of my favorite places to eat in New Orleans. Just know that they only accept cash, but they have an ATM inside the restaurant. Great food!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frank133
Business
Latrobe Pa
Jul 12, 2012

Couple of Seabees

A bike trip to the gulf coast. Went back after 30 years. All was good in New Orleans. Hotel is located in a very central location. Thanks for the good time and great information from the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4th of July Vacation
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 9, 2012

Vacation

Price, room, and hotel location were great! The only issues we had were with housekeeping since they didn't clean the room until after the 2nd day we were there and access to the rooftop pool was difficult since our hotel key and many other guest's hotel keys were deactivated, which means we would have to wait for someone to open the door, or wait until a hotel attendant came to open it for us. Overall, considering the hotel location, price and comfort of the room, it was a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gorkie
Business
New Orleans
Jun 21, 2012

Great Hotel but Bad Experience with discount online charges!

The hotel was wonderful; however, I realized after checkout that I was actually charged less than the amount the amount a well known on-line discount company "O" charged me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaiian in TX
Business
Katy, TX
Jun 20, 2012

Great overnighter!

Great experience! What attacted us was that the hotel excepted visitors with dogs. Got an excellent room with the best view in town! Was able to walk the French Quarter and enjoy the food, music, ambiance, etc...it was great! Staying at the Westin was the key. One problem was the hotel parking...it can be a little expensive (but even public parking is very expensive). But, all in all, my family enjoyed the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
keeta
Business
hattiesburg ms
Jun 5, 2012

adult getaway

just perfect loved it..would go back anytime and would tell friends and family to stay if they ever travel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
H. John
Business
Lafayette,LA
Jun 4, 2012

Awesome weekend getaway

This hotel is dog friendly which was a huge plus for traveling with our French bulldog. The staff was wonderful and the rooms were clean and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall attached to the hotel is a wonderful extra!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa Ann
Business
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Jun 4, 2012

Much needed getaway

Nice way to have quality time with my husband for our nine year anniversary

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top