$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2015 Check-out: Jul 16, 2015

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

4 stars
View map of 100 Rue Iberville, 100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
looking for a quick trip
Business
texas
Sep 10, 2013

fabulous

Easy checkin. Love the dual head shower. Big room with actual walking space even with 3 pieces of luggage. Great view and perfect location in new orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining people watching and shopping in the same building with the french quarter just blocks away.

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BusinessJack
Business
Mobile, Alabama
Jun 3, 2013

Great hotel - easy stay for New Orleans regulars

Booked at the last minute for a quick New Orleans weekend. Valet parking was easy and quick. Check in was also easy. Room was extraordinarily clean and well appointed. Clean lines without large furniture crammed in small spaces, as can be the case in even some of the best New Orleans hotels. Room service was very good. Very convenient to better shopping at Canal Place. I would, however, not suggest this hotel to those wanting to bring children or regular, first time New Orleans tourists. This is a sophisticated hotel for those who do not want to drink too much and pick up souvenirs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Quite simply the best in New Orleans, but not for children.

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dfadgsadfg
Business
hattiesburg,ms
Mar 16, 2013

Great Staff and location

Everyone was friendly during our stay and the location was great. After shopping around we found that we could have gotten a better price in the same area. Room was clean and updated however the bathroom was no thrills. The Hotel bar was VERY expensive and would not reccommend anyone stopping in for a drink unless you have money to burn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dragos charbroiled oysters!

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gail Ann
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 28, 2013

Fun long weekend

The staff, from the front desk, the valet and the hotel operator could not have been more pleasant. It appeared all of them truly cared about your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Del traveler
Business
WA. State
Jan 22, 2013

Great Location

Even though it was only one night, we could walk to everything we wanted to see and experience that evening. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We very much enjoyed the hotel and our room, would definitely recommend this hotel and area to stay. Thanks to all the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We were not sure where we wanted to eat that evening. Walking around the area led us down Royal St. to Mr. "B"s, and we really enjoyed our evening. Great staff, food, and drinks.

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John Miami
Business
North Miami, Florida
Jan 2, 2013

Great staff and value

The hotel is located right in front of the Canal AT the Canal Shopping Mall, what a great location with fine shoppes and Saks Fifth Avenue right in the door. Elevators where a bit of a problem because renovation. Staff at the hotel was great, bellboys very good, parking could not get any better because of easyness and rate of $18 USD per day. By far this is the best location and value in all New Orleans if getting a rate between $110-150 USD. Definitely would return to this hotel, great room including for kids because of close attractions. I didn't regret being far of French Quarter this was silent and luxurious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

IMAX and Aquarium are just walking distance and is a beautiful experience, Mortons Restaurant and Ruth Chris are right away. In front of Harrahs casino, best in town.

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
At Home Tourist
Business
New Orleans
Jan 1, 2013

Great Romantic Getawary

Great service, rooms are large, comfortable with excellent beds and linens. Fantastic view. Easy access to theatre, shopping and the French Quarter. Only downside is the parking is inconvenient and expensive. You do not have a in- out option

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Access to the Canal Street street car line which connects to the St. Charles street care line for an inexpensive tour of the City. Also access to the redline that runs along the French Quarter. Easy way to get to Café Dumond, Jackson Square and the French Market

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keonar Travel
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 28, 2012

Great Stay

The Westin had a great location and an even better view. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We decided on the River view was was not let down. Amazing view of new orleans. The only complaint was that the bathtub was not that big, (was looking for a garden tub). Also there wasnt a hottub in the pool area. The pool is heated and has an amazing view of the entire city on the 29th top floor though. They are doing construction so we heard lots of noise around 8:30 am but I assume that wont last forever and we were already up so it didnt bother us. Overall, very clean and nice, would probably stay there again in the summer (b/c of the pool, but if winter, Id opt for a place with a hot tub).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Overall quiet part of town, not directly in the French Quarter so the noise of the city isnt a problem but its only a few minutes on foot to get there.

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happyhusband
Business
Miami
Nov 26, 2012

Nice location - price just right

This is a decent hotel with a great location. easy to walk to all places in the french quarter. We had a good time there and would come back to it. Few things - there is no elevator to the swimming pool/rooftop. you must go up a narrow staircase in order to get to there. I just don't see elderly folks making it up there safely.... You need to switch elevators once, on the 11th floor, to go to your room. This is slightly annoying but you get used to it after a while. In spite of the above I would still recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a city tour outside of the french quarter - NO is a beautiful city.

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goettel family
Business
Fairmont, WV
Oct 14, 2012

Great hotel, great location.

Front desk staff could have been more helpful at check in. We like the pet friendly option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top