$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

4 stars
100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
77 reviews
nba all star game 02-16-2014

needed a rollshe had a out bed. was sent to room immediately,everyone great southern hospitality... See full review

  • bigfluke
  • Feb 19, 2014
Great Location!

We had a great experience at the Westin that started with an early check-in. The location is... See full review

  • U of M 76
  • Jun 4, 2014
Top location in New Orleans for Mississippi views, shopping, and dining
From the Westin New Orleans Canal Place there are fabulous views of the mighty Mississippi River, as well as of the French Quarter area and the rest of the bustling New Orleans' downtown. The Westin New Orleans Canal Place places guests in the perfect location from which to explore the city, with its numerous restaurants, shops, and art galleries all within easy reach. There is plenty happening in the Crescent City, from the upscale boutiques to the downtown jazz venues.
3 Reasons To Stay
 
  • Fabulous views of the grand Mississippi River flowing by New Orleans

  • Great on-site amenities such as rooftop pool, gym, and renowned restaurant

  • Excellent location for accessing the best of city life, including shops, museums, and art galleries

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place Rooms
Rooms at the Westin New Orleans Canal Place locate guests above the center of the city close to the central business district. While making the most of the breathtaking views, guests enjoy top quality room amenities and comforts, which include ergonomic desk chairs (ideal if you have to work) and complimentary Wi-Fi access. The hotel also provides access to a great range of amenities for relaxation and entertainment. There is a rooftop pool on the 29th floor, gym, and the River 127 restaurant serving a continental cuisine.
Things To Do
 
  • Wyndham Riverfront (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

  • French Quarter New Orleans (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

  • Lafayette Square (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

  • Convention Center New Orleans (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

  • New Orleans Superdome (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

Policies and fees
NOTE: The following parking fees apply: self-parking, $18; and valet parking, $36.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin New Orleans Canal Place also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9513 -90.0641
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.8 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.1 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 1 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 1 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.9 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Let's Do It Again
New Orleans
Aug 7, 2012

Pleasant Surprise

Excellent experience in every way! Great location, customer service, and ammenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
U of M 76
Flint, MI, USA
Jun 4, 2014

Great Location!

We had a great experience at the Westin that started with an early check-in. The location is perfect for French Quarter wandering and the hotel is right next door to the casino. There are plenty of great dining opportunities close by and lots things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Grand Isle restaurant. Great food and wait staff.

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Double Stuffs
Kansas City, Missouri
Apr 30, 2014

wonderful view of the river

For the price, our stay was not what we expected. The sign directing us to the ice machine was missing. We had to find someone from staff to show us. To print our boarding passes after our stay, we had to ask directions to the business office. Nothing was clearly marked. The coffee in the room was not replaced each day. But the staff was friendly and helpful and the view of the river from our room was spectacular. We have stayed at many other hotels in the quarter, and this one fell short of what we usually have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

It is a short walk to many of the attractions in the quarter.

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Double Stuffs
Kansas City, Missouri
Apr 22, 2014

Beautiful View

We travel to New Orleans every spring and stay in different hotels each time. For the price, there was nothing special but the view. The signage for ice on our floor was missing, and we had to find someone to ask. For printing our boarding passes, we had to find someone to direct us. There were no signs to show where to find certain amenities. The complimentary coffee's sugar and cream packets were not replaced. Pretty pricey for average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to fabulous dining, shopping and entertainment.

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bigfluke
westfield.nj
Feb 19, 2014

nba all star game 02-16-2014

needed a rollshe had a out bed. was sent to room immediately,everyone great southern hospitality from all staff. door men out standing. when not busy, seemed to enjoy hearing about our adventures of the day. one concierge seem not to like her job and i felt uneasy dealing with here. no southern charm. it seem to be an effort to show directions on a map. SHE SEEMED TO THINK I WAS STUPID WHEN I ASKED HER TO REPEAT SOMETHING. she also thinks it is only a 1 and1/2 hour cab ride to the airport almost missed my plane.. i understand rush hour traffic but have indication of it i new orleans all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

always know where you want to go. most restaurants looked very not to eat at.

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDMH
Iowa
Dec 3, 2013

Great location

Greeat location, but it was difficult to get an answer about the area & no little store - the staff state there a store around the corner etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goettel family
Business
Fairmont, WV
Oct 9, 2013

Great hotel

Very nice hotel. Great location. Staff is very nice and accommodating. Very comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
looking for a quick trip
texas
Sep 10, 2013

fabulous

Easy checkin. Love the dual head shower. Big room with actual walking space even with 3 pieces of luggage. Great view and perfect location in new orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining people watching and shopping in the same building with the french quarter just blocks away.

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BusinessJack
Business
Mobile, Alabama
Jun 3, 2013

Great hotel - easy stay for New Orleans regulars

Booked at the last minute for a quick New Orleans weekend. Valet parking was easy and quick. Check in was also easy. Room was extraordinarily clean and well appointed. Clean lines without large furniture crammed in small spaces, as can be the case in even some of the best New Orleans hotels. Room service was very good. Very convenient to better shopping at Canal Place. I would, however, not suggest this hotel to those wanting to bring children or regular, first time New Orleans tourists. This is a sophisticated hotel for those who do not want to drink too much and pick up souvenirs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Quite simply the best in New Orleans, but not for children.

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dfadgsadfg
hattiesburg,ms
Mar 16, 2013

Great Staff and location

Everyone was friendly during our stay and the location was great. After shopping around we found that we could have gotten a better price in the same area. Room was clean and updated however the bathroom was no thrills. The Hotel bar was VERY expensive and would not reccommend anyone stopping in for a drink unless you have money to burn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dragos charbroiled oysters!

Review of The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gail Ann
Dallas, TX
Jan 28, 2013

Fun long weekend

The staff, from the front desk, the valet and the hotel operator could not have been more pleasant. It appeared all of them truly cared about your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top