$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

5 stars
921 Canal Street, 921 CANAL STREET, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
45 reviews
Top notch!

Every staff member we encountered went above and beyond our expectations usually anticipating our... See full review

  • CamyCamCam
  • May 26, 2014
Great NOLA hotel

The hotel was great and the M Bistro was wonderful. See full review

  • EMK2014
  • May 20, 2014
The distinctive decor, art and antiques of New Orleans have combined with the luxury of the Ritz-Carlton to create the Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. Grand ballrooms and exclusive garden courtyards filled with flowers and wrought iron furnishings show off an antebellum elegance. Luxury linens, goose down pillows and feather beds make overnights at the Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans a rejuvenating experience. The hotel's 25,000-square-foot destination spa has 22 magnolia-scented treatment rooms, offering services such as warm stone massage, sugar scrubs and hot towel shaves. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans' suites contains Italian marble baths, for a personal touch of decadence to pamper weary muscles.
Key facts
  • 527 guestrooms
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Resistance pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness center
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Conference/meeting areas
  • 24-hour business services
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located on Canal Street near the historic French Quarter of New Orleans, the Ritz-Carlton is one block from Bourbon Street. The hotel is close to the action and attractions of Bourbon Street and the French Quarter, while being far enough away for guests to enjoy the quiet and relaxation of their luxury accommodations. Championship golf courses, the New Orleans Arena, the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, and the Audubon Institute's Park and Zoological Garden are all within close proximity.
Hints and tips
Unwind after a day of sightseeing in the hotel's Davenport Lounge, and enjoy classic cocktails like mint juleps or Bloody Mary's while listening to live entertainment.
Fresh, local and organic seafood, meat and produce are the staples of fine dining at M Bistro.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9545 -90.071
Area served
French Quarter/Downtown
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 14.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi

Dining

M Bistro
Fresh and Fabulous Louisiana dishes. With the launch of M Bistro, the menu is completely and uniquely the outcropping of Chef Russo's culinary talents using local produce and participating in a green waste program.
The Davenport Lounge
The lounge, adjacent to M Bistro is The Davenport Lounge in honor of the hotel's headline entertainer Jeremy Davenport. Afternoon Tea Service is available Thurs-Sun (Reservations Required). Live entertainment Thurs-Sat nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 45
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.5

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ollie5678
Fleetwood, New York
Jul 31, 2013

Perfect

They were so kind & gracious! I loved the whole experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lena Xu
New York, NY, USA
Sep 4, 2012

Very good hotel

great location, nice breakfast buffet and afternoon tea, very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lena Xu
New York, NY, USA
Sep 4, 2012

Very good hotel

Great location, 10 mins walk to French Quarter. Hotel itself is great, breakfast buffet and afternoon tea are both five stars. The only thing I would suggest is the dinner entree can be better, not enough options to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denham Spring, La
Mar 16, 2011

Great time! Friendly service!

We take a yearly Mardi Gras trip and have stayed at many hotels. This stay was one of our best. Hotel staft was helpful, rooms were enjoyable, house keeping was on top of everything, and location great. The prices were comparative to previous hotels we visted before, in New Orleans and at that time of the year. We only have one complaint, an emergency (long distance) phone call was made from the room phone. We did expect to pay a higher price for the call, but not near as high as charged. We learned a costly lession.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The employees were helpful in telling us about great place to dine.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Jun 12, 2010

Great hotel

Clean hotel, great location. Very quiet. Nice bar and live music on the weekend. No coffee in the room and room service is super expensive with all the added fees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
atlanta, GA
Feb 19, 2010

not that great

doesn't prepare for all room guesses

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, ca
Feb 19, 2010

Mardi Gras @ Ritz Carlton

Great location, right on the parade route. 1 block to Bourbon Street. First class treatment by the staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. R-C
Hattiesburg, MS
Feb 17, 2010

Awesome stay!

My best friend and I have always wanted to go to Mardi Gras, and at the last minute, we were able to put together a trip. Believe it or not, the Ritz was one of the more affordable hotels! The room was very nice and relaxing. Once in the room, we couldn't hear a peep from any of the adjoining rooms despite the fact that it was a full house. From our corner room, we could see Bourbon Street, and the location is about 2 blocks north of where all the parades were going by (in other words, close enough to easily get to the action but far enough away that it didn't feel like a zoo when we stepped out of the lobby). We had a really great time, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. If we go back next year (we had a blast!), I will definitely book there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brandynana
Ball, LA
Feb 17, 2010

Very nice

Staff was very courteous and helpful. Room was beautiful and had a great view. We were in town for Mardi Gras and several parades ran right in front of the hotel. Great location. Only negative was that we were not aware parking was an extra charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

One block from Bourbon Street. Many places to eat, shop, attractions and festivities nearby.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
QOTLP
Houston, Tx
Jan 4, 2010

Fantastic stay

Have stayed in many hotels in New Orleans, this was definately the best. Very clean and beautiful. Room was huge. Beds were very comfortable just wish that they were queens instead of fulls. All employees were very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search