$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

5 stars
921 Canal Street, 921 CANAL STREET, New Orleans, LA 70112
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
66 reviews
Top notch!

Every staff member we encountered went above and beyond our expectations usually anticipating our... See full review

  • CamyCamCam
  • May 26, 2014
Great NOLA hotel

The hotel was great and the M Bistro was wonderful. See full review

  • EMK2014
  • May 20, 2014
The distinctive decor, art and antiques of New Orleans have combined with the luxury of the Ritz-Carlton to create the Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans. Grand ballrooms and exclusive garden courtyards filled with flowers and wrought iron furnishings show off an antebellum elegance. Luxury linens, goose down pillows and feather beds make overnights at the Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans a rejuvenating experience. The hotel's 25,000-square-foot destination spa has 22 magnolia-scented treatment rooms, offering services such as warm stone massage, sugar scrubs and hot towel shaves. The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans' suites contains Italian marble baths, for a personal touch of decadence to pamper weary muscles.
Key facts
  • 527 guestrooms
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Resistance pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness center
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Conference/meeting areas
  • 24-hour business services
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Located on Canal Street near the historic French Quarter of New Orleans, the Ritz-Carlton is one block from Bourbon Street. The hotel is close to the action and attractions of Bourbon Street and the French Quarter, while being far enough away for guests to enjoy the quiet and relaxation of their luxury accommodations. Championship golf courses, the New Orleans Arena, the Mercedes-Benz Superdome, and the Audubon Institute's Park and Zoological Garden are all within close proximity.
Hints and tips
Unwind after a day of sightseeing in the hotel's Davenport Lounge, and enjoy classic cocktails like mint juleps or Bloody Mary's while listening to live entertainment.
Fresh, local and organic seafood, meat and produce are the staples of fine dining at M Bistro.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9545 -90.071
Area served
French Quarter/Downtown
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 14.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Storyville: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.6 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.4 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Dining

M Bistro
Fresh and Fabulous Louisiana dishes. With the launch of M Bistro, the menu is completely and uniquely the outcropping of Chef Russo's culinary talents using local produce and participating in a green waste program.
The Davenport Lounge
The lounge, adjacent to M Bistro is The Davenport Lounge in honor of the hotel's headline entertainer Jeremy Davenport. Afternoon Tea Service is available Thurs-Sun (Reservations Required). Live entertainment Thurs-Sat nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Phillip0615
Hattiesburg, MS
Jan 2, 2013

Stay was awesome! Holiday decor was great!

This was a bring in the New Year getaway for my wife and I. We couldn't have picked a better place to spend New Years! Everything about the hotel was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All activity is a short walk or quick cab ride from hotel.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pace Ripley
Boston, MA
Oct 15, 2012

The Ritz living up to high expectations

If you are heading to New Orleans and are willing to splurge a little, the Ritz is the ultimate choice. Excellent location (just an inch away from everything but quieter), terrific caring staff and immaculate rooms, this is the place to go. We had a great time and recommend upgrading to the club level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's restaurant offers quick excellent southern food.

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jdbpcb
Panama city beach,FL
Sep 26, 2012

club level

Try the club level-you will like it! Service and rooms all 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lena Xu
New York, NY, USA
Sep 4, 2012

Very good hotel

Great location, 10 mins walk to French Quarter. Hotel itself is great, breakfast buffet and afternoon tea are both five stars. The only thing I would suggest is the dinner entree can be better, not enough options to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lena Xu
New York, NY, USA
Sep 4, 2012

Very good hotel

great location, nice breakfast buffet and afternoon tea, very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
szabela
los angeles
Jul 10, 2012

fabulous

lovely hotel, good location- not great. on the edge of the french quarter - next time i'd look for something within the quarter. great service first day- none on the 2nd day? fabulous suite-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Noel P
Business
CT
Jan 22, 2012

Great New Orleans Location

The location was great a short walk to the French Quarter and the hotel staff was extremely helpful. The room was spacious and very clean. The concierge was helpful and gave excellent suggestions for dinner. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy from Virginia
Prattville, AL, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Thaksgiving at the Ritz

We arrived to a very friendly and hepful staff. My wife commented about the location of the room (looking at a roof) and immediately the bellman called the front desk and got a room that my wife and daughter loved. For me, it was all uphill from there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tres
Austin
Nov 8, 2011

Great place, poor organization

The hotel is super, our suite was very comfortable but... Our room was not ready until 6:00PM. Later the front desk gave a very drunk couple a key to our room in the middle of the night then called to ask I if I was a guest in to the hotel! Once I told him my name, he said, "oh yes, there you are in the system, that is your room!" Really? You give a drunk a key to my room in the middle of the night then call up to challenge why I am in MY room. I could have forgiven this but the front desk clerk did not even offer an apology for giving out a key to my room; instead he called to challenge why I was in the room. On the whole the staff was friendly but they could use some organizational training (and this was not an event weekend).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday surprise
Hudson Valley, New York
Nov 1, 2011

The best service staff ever!

I took my husband to NOLA as a surprise for his 50th birthday. The best decision I made was to spend a little extra money and stay at the Ritz. The staff in every area - from the bartenders to the back office - bent over backwards to make sure my husband enjoyed a birthday that he was less than happy about reaching! Absolutely beautiful corner room, happy and helpful staff, convenient location, excellent food and drinks at the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Although I did a lot of research before we got there, we were given excellent recommendations on transportation, shopping and attractions. Trust the locals, the street cars are cheap, but it will take a lot longer to get to your destination than a taxi.

Back to menu Return to top