$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

The Pelham Hotel

3 stars
View map of 444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
56 reviews
Perfect place to spend the weekend while being a tourist in your own city.

Awesome location, great room and an even better price! See full review

  • B. Norm
  • Nov 23, 2014
Great Hotel!

We had a fantastic stay at The Pelham! The staff were extremely nice and very helpful! It is in the... See full review

  • Betsyhow77
  • Sep 15, 2014
The Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old world European grace.The petite hotel that is brimming with old-world charm and hospitality is located between the New Orleans downtown business district and the French Quarter, and is situated within a stone's throw to Harrahs Casino, Riverwalk and The Warehouse District. A stately lobby greets guests with marble floor, Persian rug and leather couch. The 60 guest rooms are decorated in classic European style with four-poster beds and thick drapes. The location's history dates back to 1719 when Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, the founder of New Orleans, was granted a plantation on this spot.
Rooms

Each of the 60 uniquely appointed king and queen rooms are outfitted with iron and ironing board, hair dryer, full-length mirror, AM/FM clock radio, 25-inch television, phones with voicemail, Internet Access (fees apply) coffee maker and in-room safe (fees apply).  Some rooms feature carved four-poster beds and details such as 18-foot ceilings, crown molding, exposed brick walls and dramatic 10-foot windows. The overall vibe is old world and comfortable. 

Property features

This hotel does not offer food and beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is an important plus.  There is a dedicated tour desk to help guests plan excursions in New Orleans. Adjacent to The Pelham Hotel is the Ruby Slipper restaurant, featuring local flavors such as Barbecue Shrimp and Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. The hotel is a non-smoking property. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Pet friendly (up to 30 pounds, fees apply)
  • Convenient location
  • Budget friendly

 

Nearby attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's New Orleans Casino
  • Morial Convention Center
  • Riverwalk
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art
  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas
Business
  • Free internet access in public areas
Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (13 miles)
Policies
  • Parking fee is $33 with tax.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time non-refundable deep-cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and high-speed Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Pelham Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Pelham Hotel Rooms

Double Double
Double Double European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring two double beds, 18
Double Double Interior
Double Double Interior European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring two double
Queen
Queen European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring one queen bed, sitting area
King Interior
King Interior European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring one king bed, 18 fo
Queen Queen
Queen Queen European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring two queen beds, 18 fo
Queen Queen Interior
Queen Queen Interior European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring two queen be
King
King European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring one king bed, 18 foot ceilin

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Sitting area
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Pelham Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 56
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Superman07
Business
Natchez
Jan 12, 2015

TERRIBLE

This hotel is really close to everything, that is its only good feature. The room was small, the beds were as hard as a rock! The bathroom door did not close! The shower did not drain well, we were taking a shower in over ankle deep water! The air did not work right, we were burning up the whole time! The walls were thin we could hear the people next to use fight all night.. They have no parking other than the unattended lot across the street or pricey valet.. We were so miserable we left early even though we were paid! Stayed at a lot of hotels in New Orleans I will not go back to this one..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bowie19
Business
Netherlands
May 5, 2014

Great location but small room for 4 persons

Great location in the heart of NOLA, near Canal street and walking distance from French Quarter. Room too small for party of 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mother2daughters trip
Business
Minnesota
May 14, 2013

Good location walking distance to everything

We were pleased with the hotel. There was no extras such as a refrigerator or microwave but that was ok. We did not spend much time in the room other than to sleep. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was quiet. The staff were awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mississippi Dad
Business
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Apr 4, 2013

Excellent location & value

The hotel was in the perfect location for a family vacation with the kids to the zoo & aquarium. We will definitely be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Landry's Seafood

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blnkmatti
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 1, 2013

Great Location

The hotel is nice and clean. The best part is how close it is to the French quarter and Bourbon Street. I only didn't like the fact that our room didn't have any windows! It felt a bit like a cave... other than that it was ok. (oh! and valet parking very expensive!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevvin
Business
Pensacola, florida
Jan 6, 2013

I would stay again

Good hotel. It's close to bourbon st. The room was beautiful. Parking was extremely expensive. (almost $28). I. Asked the receptionist if that was expensive and he said everywhere its the same price. (a. Big lie. Because across the street it's. $15 for overnight parking). I would rate about 3.5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rhiannon
Business
NW Indiana
Apr 3, 2012

Great Value! Would stay again!

The hotel was a great value and just one block off canal street & decatur street by the french quarter. The room was very clean and the staff extremely helpful. Answered all our questions, gave suggestions, and was prompt on service. I recommend using the valet service because it is secure and you can come and go as much as you want for 1 price. Only down side was that rooms do not have a mini fridge so you can't bring back left-overs. Would have been nice since they feed you so well where ever you go to eat. No contenental breakfast served but the Ruby Slipper in hotel has a great breakfast. Overall a great room for a great price. Would definatly stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ruby Slipper is a great place to eat breakfast. They do breakfast and luch, only open until 2pm. Try the banana foster french toast!! Excellent!!!

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Texas fanily
Business
Texas
Jan 30, 2012

Horrible customer service

We didn't mind that the room was a little small but when we found hair in our "clean" bed and just handed me new sheets I was a little annoyed. At least an apology would have been nice! Then the loud banging noise ALL night kept my kids & I up... The only explanation we got was because it was due to the maintenance room being below us. If its going to sound like that don't put people in that room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MyLnn
Business
Westport, CT, USA
Jan 10, 2012

If u are desperate

the staff was friendly and nice as everyone in new Orleans seems to be.Overall though the hotel was awful. Our room did not have any window in it, I was so disoriented in the morning , thinking it was the middle of the night. the shower was a bare trickle of water. And the best was our toilet backed up and when I called I was given a plunger to work on it myself. Did I pay for this? It was a busy weekend in new Orleans so the hotel and everything else was packed, which is wh we had to stay there. The walls are also paper thin so you can hear every noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love NewOrleans
Business
Mobile, AL, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Pelham Hotel

My stay in New Orleans was great, but my room was not, with all the extra fees and taxes, which is added to the cost of the room. The Pelham does not provide parking other them parking your car in the hotel parking lot down the street for 30.00 a night. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room we had was awful. The window and curtains had fresh blood on them. The fixtures in the bathroom was rusty and molding. The water pressure was a joke. The wall paper was peeling off. Never ate in there restaurant, there is not breakfast with the room, and if you want coffee they have a pot for the entire hotel in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top