$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

The Pelham Hotel

3 stars
444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
49 reviews
Excellent location & value

The hotel was in the perfect location for a family vacation with the kids to the zoo & aquarium. We... See full review

  • Mississippi Dad
  • Apr 4, 2013
Quick Trip to NOLA

Just had a day to spend in NOLA, and hoped to stay in a nice, affordable hotel near French Quarter.... See full review

  • dwaskew
  • Jul 28, 2014
Small hotel with old-world charm near French Quarter, business district
The Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old world European grace.The petite hotel that is brimming with old-world charm and hospitality is located between the New Orleans downtown business district and the French Quarter, and is situated within a stone's throw to Harrahs Casino, Riverwalk and The Warehouse District. A stately lobby greets guests with marble floor, Persian rug and leather couch. The 60 guest rooms are decorated in classic European style with four-poster beds and thick drapes. The location's history dates back to 1719 when Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, the founder of New Orleans, was granted a plantation on this spot.
Highlights
  • Pet friendly (up to 30 pounds, fees apply)
  • Convenient location
  • Budget friendly

 

Rooms

Each of the 60 uniquely appointed king and queen rooms are outfitted with iron and ironing board, hair dryer, full-length mirror, AM/FM clock radio, 25-inch television, phones with voicemail, Internet Access (fees apply) coffee maker and in-room safe (fees apply).  Some rooms feature carved four-poster beds and details such as 18-foot ceilings, crown molding, exposed brick walls and dramatic 10-foot windows. The overall vibe is old world and comfortable. 

Features

This hotel does not offer food and beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is an important plus.  There is a dedicated tour desk to help guests plan excursions in New Orleans. Adjacent to The Pelham Hotel is the Ruby Slipper restaurant, featuring local flavors such as Barbecue Shrimp and Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. The hotel is a non-smoking property. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (13 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's New Orleans Casino
  • Morial Convention Center
  • Riverwalk
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art
  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas
Business
  • Free internet access in public areas
Policies and fees
  • Parking fee is $33 with tax.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time non-refundable deep-cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and high-speed Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9509 -90.0668
Nearby airports
(MSY), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Tourist site

The Pelham Hotel Rooms

King Interior
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 1 king bed. Renovated - designer amenities - no window
Double Double Interior
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 2 double beds. Renovated- designer amenities - no window
Double
Old New Orleans charm with high ceilings and 1 double bed. Newly renovated-designer amenities
Queen
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 1 queen bed. Newly renovated-sitting area - no window
King
Old New Orleans charm with high ceilings and 1 king beds. Newly renovated-designer amenities
Double Double
Old New Orleans charm with high ceilings and 2 double beds. Newly renovated-designer amenities
Queen Queen
Old New Orleans charm with high ceilings and 2 queen beds. Newly renovated-designer amenities
Queen Queen Interior
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 2 queen beds. Renovated-designer amenities - no window

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Sitting area
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for The Pelham Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PhillyLady
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 11, 2011

Someday it may be a great place

I was in New Orleans for a conference and since I enjoy traditional or boutique hotels, I tried the Pelham. Once a beautiful historic property, it has been neglected. Chipped and peeling paint, poor lighting, tired and worn furnishings. Amenities were lacking--only one sad coffee pot in the lobby, nothing in the room, no glasses, only one wastebasket, cheap soap and shampoo. The maid service was non-existent during my stay. Sad and depressing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MyLnn
Westport, CT, USA
Jan 10, 2012

If u are desperate

the staff was friendly and nice as everyone in new Orleans seems to be.Overall though the hotel was awful. Our room did not have any window in it, I was so disoriented in the morning , thinking it was the middle of the night. the shower was a bare trickle of water. And the best was our toilet backed up and when I called I was given a plunger to work on it myself. Did I pay for this? It was a busy weekend in new Orleans so the hotel and everything else was packed, which is wh we had to stay there. The walls are also paper thin so you can hear every noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Four Nurses
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 13, 2013

Great location

Not bad for the money. Clean. Friendly staff. Uncomfortable beds due to old mattress with springs that poked you. Coffee not always available. Usually gone by 11:00am. Old TVs with lousy reception. Good restaurant around the corner worth visiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do the tours. Well worth it. Although transporting to and from and picking up other passengers used up about quite a bit of the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I'mTravelAR
Little Rock, AR
Jun 5, 2012

Much below my expectation. .

The bathroom was not cleaned , crowded extra small room. Would not recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Texas fanily
Texas
Jan 30, 2012

Horrible customer service

We didn't mind that the room was a little small but when we found hair in our "clean" bed and just handed me new sheets I was a little annoyed. At least an apology would have been nice! Then the loud banging noise ALL night kept my kids & I up... The only explanation we got was because it was due to the maintenance room being below us. If its going to sound like that don't put people in that room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Skip St Patty
Manassas, VA
Apr 1, 2014

St Patty's Day

I only have two positive comments, location is good and it's clean. Our room was the closet for the room next door, or it seemed like it. The walls were taller than the room was long or wide. Outside parking means a city pay lot or you can opt for the $30 per day valet. Neither of which was revealed until check-in. Factor that in and there are much more comfortable places to stay with free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
slickbub
Garfield Hts, Ohio
Mar 28, 2012

The Pelham

Room was small, but comfy! For a quick weekend stay, I would recommend it absolutely!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SpuroftheMomentTraveler
Boulder, CO, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Quick Trip

Hotel was pretty nice. Bathrooms could do with a little work, but the overall room was good. Rooms had a classic New Orleans feel to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mylle
Metairie, LA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Windows

We just believe that customers should be warned that there might be rooms with no windows! Also the lift on the right smells moldy, other than that its a great place and the free internet is awesome not to mention the ruby sliper is a great recommendtaion for those who are staying at the pelham and wanna have great breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The ruby sliper! Excellent breakfast drinks and great meals as well!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blnkmatti
Dallas, TX
Apr 1, 2013

Great Location

The hotel is nice and clean. The best part is how close it is to the French quarter and Bourbon Street. I only didn't like the fact that our room didn't have any windows! It felt a bit like a cave... other than that it was ok. (oh! and valet parking very expensive!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search