$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

The Pelham Hotel

3 stars
View map of 444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
56 reviews
Perfect place to spend the weekend while being a tourist in your own city.

Awesome location, great room and an even better price! See full review

  • B. Norm
  • Nov 23, 2014
Great Hotel!

We had a fantastic stay at The Pelham! The staff were extremely nice and very helpful! It is in the... See full review

  • Betsyhow77
  • Sep 15, 2014
The Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old world European grace.The petite hotel that is brimming with old-world charm and hospitality is located between the New Orleans downtown business district and the French Quarter, and is situated within a stone's throw to Harrahs Casino, Riverwalk and The Warehouse District. A stately lobby greets guests with marble floor, Persian rug and leather couch. The 60 guest rooms are decorated in classic European style with four-poster beds and thick drapes. The location's history dates back to 1719 when Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, the founder of New Orleans, was granted a plantation on this spot.
Rooms

Each of the 60 uniquely appointed king and queen rooms are outfitted with iron and ironing board, hair dryer, full-length mirror, AM/FM clock radio, 25-inch television, phones with voicemail, Internet Access (fees apply) coffee maker and in-room safe (fees apply).  Some rooms feature carved four-poster beds and details such as 18-foot ceilings, crown molding, exposed brick walls and dramatic 10-foot windows. The overall vibe is old world and comfortable. 

Property features

This hotel does not offer food and beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is an important plus.  There is a dedicated tour desk to help guests plan excursions in New Orleans. Adjacent to The Pelham Hotel is the Ruby Slipper restaurant, featuring local flavors such as Barbecue Shrimp and Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. The hotel is a non-smoking property. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Pet friendly (up to 30 pounds, fees apply)
  • Convenient location
  • Budget friendly

 

Nearby attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's New Orleans Casino
  • Morial Convention Center
  • Riverwalk
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art
  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas
Business
  • Free internet access in public areas
Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (13 miles)
Policies
  • Parking fee is $33 with tax.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time non-refundable deep-cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and high-speed Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Pelham Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Pelham Hotel Rooms

Double Double
Double Double European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring two double beds, 18
Double Double Interior
Double Double Interior European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring two double
Queen
Queen European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring one queen bed, sitting area
King Interior
King Interior European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring one king bed, 18 fo
Queen Queen
Queen Queen European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring two queen beds, 18 fo
Queen Queen Interior
Queen Queen Interior European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring two queen be
King
King European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring one king bed, 18 foot ceilin

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Sitting area
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Pelham Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 56
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wjyjw
Business
Lubbock, texas
Jan 10, 2014

good hotel

It is a good hotel. convenient to visit some famous scenic spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ophelia
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Great for quick getaway

I did not expect a great stay due to some of the reviews I had read before I booked it and a very economical price, but was nicely surprised. Hotel had very comfortable beds, nice decor and great location. Clean and pleasant. Will stay there again and recommend to my friends. However if staying at the luxurious hotel is important to you, don't book this one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great seafood at Deannies Restaurant( raw and charbroiled oysters, BBQ shrimp and gumbo) within 10 min walk from Pelham hotel in French Q - corner Dauphine and Iberville. Much better than ACME and other overrated tourist traps.

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jcyoung
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Old hotel with charm

For a hotel with value and in a good location; this was perfect. Had some trouble getting the big curtains to close tightly, and the old tube TV has seen better days, but we were just looking for a place to lay our heads and clean up and this hotel provided it. Their staff was super helpful too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring alot of cash. New Orleans is not an expensive city so not wanting to use my credit card for a $20 dinner for two we used cash.

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpuroftheMomentTraveler
Business
Boulder, CO, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Decent place to stay for a few nights

I enjoyed my stay at Pelham Hotel. Its only a few blocks from the trolly line and only a few blocks from the French Quarter. Good place to stay for a few nights in Nola.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelTexas
Business
Germany
Nov 12, 2013

Great Rooms

Nice, clean rooms, windows well insulated which did not let in any noice from street. Bourbon Street just a few foodsteps away, nice staff at reception. Breakfast restaurant at ground floor. Would stay there another time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin'Teacher
Business
Lake Village, AR 71653, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Great Weekend Getaway!

We arrived late on Friday night and found that while the hotel was a bit difficult to find, the location was perfect for our purposes. We were close enough to Bourbon Street and the Waterfront to make for a quick trip, but it was nice and quiet when we wished to sleep in on Saturday morning. The room was a bit on the small side, but we weren't really in New Orleans to hang out in the room. The staff was friendly and very laid back. We would definitely consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingFun
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 19, 2011

Great Location for a Great price

This hotel is in a GREAT location for everything in New Orleans. It was a quick walk to Bourbon street and also an easy walk to Cafe Du Monde and Jackson Square area. It looks further on a map than it felt since there was so much to see along the walk. We never felt far away, always a short walk to whereever we wanted to go. The hotel was on a side street, so it was much less noisey than a Main street hotel. Hotel staff was very friendly and willing to give suggestions on places to eat and drink which was apprecaited. Parking was $25/night but that is typical of that city, you can't find it much cheaper. Only complaint, some of the rooms are VERY small. Our first room we were put in didnt have windows and seemed very small. But the floor was all wet due to an AC leak and they quickly changed us to a bigger corner room. Thanks to them for the quick move!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Ruby Slipper right next door/connected is an AWESOME brunch spot! Very lively atmosphere, very popular with locals and tourists alike. Make reservations or plan on waiting! It was worth it though, Shrimp and Grits were GREAT and even better was the Louisianan Omlete! Yum!

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austin H.
Business
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

pelicans game trip

the hotel was great. will be staying there again. the only thing I didn't like was that the only parking for the hotel was valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cincinnati
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Near French Quarters, The market , Bourbon Street

Over all a nice experience. We requested no house keeping for the 2 nights and couldn't understand why it was done anyway. It made us feel like they were checking on us. One disapointment was when it took an hour and a half to have our car brought to us which kept us fom experiencing some of our scheduled activities for that day because our time was very limited, We felt a refund for that day should have been offered. There was no coffee offered in the lobby which is that something special we have enjoyed at other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
slickbub
Business
Garfield Hts, Ohio
Mar 28, 2012

The Pelham

Room was small, but comfy! For a quick weekend stay, I would recommend it absolutely!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top