$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Pelham Hotel

3 stars
444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
50 reviews
Perfect place to spend the weekend while being a tourist in your own city.

Awesome location, great room and an even better price! See full review

  • B. Norm
  • Nov 23, 2014
Quick Trip to NOLA

Just had a day to spend in NOLA, and hoped to stay in a nice, affordable hotel near French Quarter.... See full review

  • dwaskew
  • Jul 28, 2014
Small hotel with old-world charm near French Quarter, business district
The Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old world European grace.The petite hotel that is brimming with old-world charm and hospitality is located between the New Orleans downtown business district and the French Quarter, and is situated within a stone's throw to Harrahs Casino, Riverwalk and The Warehouse District. A stately lobby greets guests with marble floor, Persian rug and leather couch. The 60 guest rooms are decorated in classic European style with four-poster beds and thick drapes. The location's history dates back to 1719 when Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, the founder of New Orleans, was granted a plantation on this spot.
Highlights
  • Pet friendly (up to 30 pounds, fees apply)
  • Convenient location
  • Budget friendly

 

Rooms

Each of the 60 uniquely appointed king and queen rooms are outfitted with iron and ironing board, hair dryer, full-length mirror, AM/FM clock radio, 25-inch television, phones with voicemail, Internet Access (fees apply) coffee maker and in-room safe (fees apply).  Some rooms feature carved four-poster beds and details such as 18-foot ceilings, crown molding, exposed brick walls and dramatic 10-foot windows. The overall vibe is old world and comfortable. 

Features

This hotel does not offer food and beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is an important plus.  There is a dedicated tour desk to help guests plan excursions in New Orleans. Adjacent to The Pelham Hotel is the Ruby Slipper restaurant, featuring local flavors such as Barbecue Shrimp and Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. The hotel is a non-smoking property. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (13 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's New Orleans Casino
  • Morial Convention Center
  • Riverwalk
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art
  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas
Business
  • Free internet access in public areas
Policies and fees
  • Parking fee is $33 with tax.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time non-refundable deep-cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and high-speed Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Pelham Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Pelham Hotel Rooms

Queen
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 1 queen bed. Newly renovated-sitting area - no window
King Interior
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 1 king bed. Renovated - designer amenities - no window
King
Old New Orleans charm with high ceilings and 1 king beds. Newly renovated-designer amenities
Double Double Interior
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 2 double beds. Renovated- designer amenities - no window
Queen Queen
Old New Orleans charm with high ceilings and 2 queen beds. Newly renovated-designer amenities
Double Double
Old New Orleans charm with high ceilings and 2 double beds. Newly renovated-designer amenities
Queen Queen Interior
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 2 queen beds. Renovated-designer amenities - no window

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Sitting area
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for The Pelham Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 50
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ophelia
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Great for quick getaway

I did not expect a great stay due to some of the reviews I had read before I booked it and a very economical price, but was nicely surprised. Hotel had very comfortable beds, nice decor and great location. Clean and pleasant. Will stay there again and recommend to my friends. However if staying at the luxurious hotel is important to you, don't book this one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great seafood at Deannies Restaurant( raw and charbroiled oysters, BBQ shrimp and gumbo) within 10 min walk from Pelham hotel in French Q - corner Dauphine and Iberville. Much better than ACME and other overrated tourist traps.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jcyoung
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Old hotel with charm

For a hotel with value and in a good location; this was perfect. Had some trouble getting the big curtains to close tightly, and the old tube TV has seen better days, but we were just looking for a place to lay our heads and clean up and this hotel provided it. Their staff was super helpful too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring alot of cash. New Orleans is not an expensive city so not wanting to use my credit card for a $20 dinner for two we used cash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpuroftheMomentTraveler
Business
Boulder, CO, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Decent place to stay for a few nights

I enjoyed my stay at Pelham Hotel. Its only a few blocks from the trolly line and only a few blocks from the French Quarter. Good place to stay for a few nights in Nola.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelTexas
Business
Germany
Nov 12, 2013

Great Rooms

Nice, clean rooms, windows well insulated which did not let in any noice from street. Bourbon Street just a few foodsteps away, nice staff at reception. Breakfast restaurant at ground floor. Would stay there another time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Simplesays
Business
Tampa, Fl
Nov 13, 2013

Great location, cute place

The front desk staff were very pleasant and welcoming! The hotel was modest, only 4 floors but rooms had high ceilings and a vintage feel. Right downstairs is the Ruby Slipper--a nice breakfast/brunch place. Location was great because it was far enough away from the crazies but everything was walking distance. The House of Blues is literally down the street across Canal St which was perfect for our trip. Overall, it was easy to find yourself back after a night on Bourbon St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a nice Hookah bar and cheap drinks/Mediterranean food, I recommend Attiki bar (I think it's called) it's right across the street from House of Blues, which is just across Canal St from the hotel. :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wjyjw
Business
Lubbock, texas
Jan 10, 2014

good hotel

It is a good hotel. convenient to visit some famous scenic spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin'Teacher
Business
Lake Village, AR 71653, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Great Weekend Getaway!

We arrived late on Friday night and found that while the hotel was a bit difficult to find, the location was perfect for our purposes. We were close enough to Bourbon Street and the Waterfront to make for a quick trip, but it was nice and quiet when we wished to sleep in on Saturday morning. The room was a bit on the small side, but we weren't really in New Orleans to hang out in the room. The staff was friendly and very laid back. We would definitely consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingFun
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 19, 2011

Great Location for a Great price

This hotel is in a GREAT location for everything in New Orleans. It was a quick walk to Bourbon street and also an easy walk to Cafe Du Monde and Jackson Square area. It looks further on a map than it felt since there was so much to see along the walk. We never felt far away, always a short walk to whereever we wanted to go. The hotel was on a side street, so it was much less noisey than a Main street hotel. Hotel staff was very friendly and willing to give suggestions on places to eat and drink which was apprecaited. Parking was $25/night but that is typical of that city, you can't find it much cheaper. Only complaint, some of the rooms are VERY small. Our first room we were put in didnt have windows and seemed very small. But the floor was all wet due to an AC leak and they quickly changed us to a bigger corner room. Thanks to them for the quick move!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Ruby Slipper right next door/connected is an AWESOME brunch spot! Very lively atmosphere, very popular with locals and tourists alike. Make reservations or plan on waiting! It was worth it though, Shrimp and Grits were GREAT and even better was the Louisianan Omlete! Yum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cincinnati
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Near French Quarters, The market , Bourbon Street

Over all a nice experience. We requested no house keeping for the 2 nights and couldn't understand why it was done anyway. It made us feel like they were checking on us. One disapointment was when it took an hour and a half to have our car brought to us which kept us fom experiencing some of our scheduled activities for that day because our time was very limited, We felt a refund for that day should have been offered. There was no coffee offered in the lobby which is that something special we have enjoyed at other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
slickbub
Business
Garfield Hts, Ohio
Mar 28, 2012

The Pelham

Room was small, but comfy! For a quick weekend stay, I would recommend it absolutely!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top