$113 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

The Pelham Hotel

3 stars
View map of 444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Pelham Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bowie19
Business
Netherlands
May 5, 2014

Great location but small room for 4 persons

Great location in the heart of NOLA, near Canal street and walking distance from French Quarter. Room too small for party of 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JustCameBackFromNOLA
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Nice stay at the Pelham

My experience at The Pelham was very nice. This hotel is obviously overlooked by many, but it was pretty nice for my taste. All I really wanted to do was sleep in the hotel, and it was a perfect place to crash. The hotel doesn't really have much in it, but it has a very antique feel to it. The ceilings are high, and aside from the walkway into the room, its basically just the bed and the bathroom. Its a little bit old, but I really didn't stay much in the room anyway. Its location was great b/c we were in perfect walking distance to Canal Street, the French Qtr, Harrah's, and the Riverfront, but far enough where the room was absolutely quiet. There are many people that work shifts in the hotel, but the very first girl was super helpful in telling us about places to go, but after a while we noticed the other ladies at the front desk didn't seem to have a clue about anything. Overall it was cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Its super close to everything. Canal street is right there, and Bourbon st is only a couple blocks up. You can easily just stay on Decatur street as soon as you are out of your hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rpalmer
Business
Ohio, NE, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Pelham Attention

Must say I was surprised at the quality and care given guests. The Owner lives on-sight and the Front Desk Staff could not be more helpful. The attached breakfast/lunch shop is a nice addition and it fits well in the general scheme of things. Would absolutely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 8, 2011

Charming Hotel

Arrived on a Friday night on our way back from Florida to Texas. Be patient when circling for a parking space in front of the hotel. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. The hotel and rooms were very charming. The only thing we did not enjoy was the cleanliness of the restroom! This hotel is in a great location - we walked to Bourbon Street and then the next day walked to the Riverwalk streetcar station to take it down to the Frence Market. Oh and by the way, you MUST have breakfast at The Ruby Slipper (attached to the hotel) - it was incredible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit MI
Jun 30, 2011

Sweet Little Hotel

I chose the Pelham for its proximity to the French Quarter, Convention Center, and streetcar and bus lines. It worked out beautifully. Close enough but not on the busy main drag or in the all-the-time busy Quarter. Only going to get better--new management is taking the little bit of shabby out of the hotel, making it fresh and still classic in appearance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the free concerts at the National Jazz Historic Park behind the French Market. One almost every day, different times of day, informal, but always good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin'Teacher
Business
Lake Village, AR 71653, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Great Weekend Getaway!

We arrived late on Friday night and found that while the hotel was a bit difficult to find, the location was perfect for our purposes. We were close enough to Bourbon Street and the Waterfront to make for a quick trip, but it was nice and quiet when we wished to sleep in on Saturday morning. The room was a bit on the small side, but we weren't really in New Orleans to hang out in the room. The staff was friendly and very laid back. We would definitely consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingFun
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 19, 2011

Great Location for a Great price

This hotel is in a GREAT location for everything in New Orleans. It was a quick walk to Bourbon street and also an easy walk to Cafe Du Monde and Jackson Square area. It looks further on a map than it felt since there was so much to see along the walk. We never felt far away, always a short walk to whereever we wanted to go. The hotel was on a side street, so it was much less noisey than a Main street hotel. Hotel staff was very friendly and willing to give suggestions on places to eat and drink which was apprecaited. Parking was $25/night but that is typical of that city, you can't find it much cheaper. Only complaint, some of the rooms are VERY small. Our first room we were put in didnt have windows and seemed very small. But the floor was all wet due to an AC leak and they quickly changed us to a bigger corner room. Thanks to them for the quick move!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Ruby Slipper right next door/connected is an AWESOME brunch spot! Very lively atmosphere, very popular with locals and tourists alike. Make reservations or plan on waiting! It was worth it though, Shrimp and Grits were GREAT and even better was the Louisianan Omlete! Yum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy Loo Who
Business
Wash DC
Oct 3, 2011

Good value, well situated

This hotel was well situated and basically just fine. It looked better than it actually was--everything was a little shoddy, but it didn't matter much. It was a good deal. Our room, however, did not have a single window--not even the bathroom. The hotel staff could not help us find anything but I guess it didn't matter much....they recommended the restaurant next door for breakfast in the morning but didn't tell us there would be a 20 min wait. The real bummer was the crowd in the hallway that was extremely loud...that went on until 4:00 am, until I reminded them that they were not the only hotel guests..got a very rude remark in return. After all that, I'd probably go back just for convenience, value, and cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
History Professor
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 20, 2011

Very good hotel but has surprise charges

Centrally located quaint hotel with old world charm in the historic section of New Orleans. I did not appreciate a surprise $8/day extra charge for "resort fees" which it does not have (see the small print in hotel description on the internet). Be aware that parking is a problem in this area of New Orleans, but the hotel will park your car in a safe location for $25 a day. You will find just about everything you want within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, carriage rides, casino, bars and the historic area of New Orleans within a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brent F
Business
New O rleans
Jun 19, 2014

Location and Staff

Only problem we had was that the bed was hard and old. You could feel the springs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top