$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

The Pelham Hotel

3 stars
444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
50 reviews
Perfect place to spend the weekend while being a tourist in your own city.

Awesome location, great room and an even better price! See full review

  • B. Norm
  • Nov 23, 2014
Quick Trip to NOLA

Just had a day to spend in NOLA, and hoped to stay in a nice, affordable hotel near French Quarter.... See full review

  • dwaskew
  • Jul 28, 2014
Small hotel with old-world charm near French Quarter, business district
The Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old world European grace.The petite hotel that is brimming with old-world charm and hospitality is located between the New Orleans downtown business district and the French Quarter, and is situated within a stone's throw to Harrahs Casino, Riverwalk and The Warehouse District. A stately lobby greets guests with marble floor, Persian rug and leather couch. The 60 guest rooms are decorated in classic European style with four-poster beds and thick drapes. The location's history dates back to 1719 when Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, the founder of New Orleans, was granted a plantation on this spot.
Highlights
  • Pet friendly (up to 30 pounds, fees apply)
  • Convenient location
  • Budget friendly

 

Rooms

Each of the 60 uniquely appointed king and queen rooms are outfitted with iron and ironing board, hair dryer, full-length mirror, AM/FM clock radio, 25-inch television, phones with voicemail, Internet Access (fees apply) coffee maker and in-room safe (fees apply).  Some rooms feature carved four-poster beds and details such as 18-foot ceilings, crown molding, exposed brick walls and dramatic 10-foot windows. The overall vibe is old world and comfortable. 

Features

This hotel does not offer food and beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is an important plus.  There is a dedicated tour desk to help guests plan excursions in New Orleans. Adjacent to The Pelham Hotel is the Ruby Slipper restaurant, featuring local flavors such as Barbecue Shrimp and Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. The hotel is a non-smoking property. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (13 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's New Orleans Casino
  • Morial Convention Center
  • Riverwalk
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art
  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas
Business
  • Free internet access in public areas
Policies and fees
  • Parking fee is $33 with tax.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time non-refundable deep-cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and high-speed Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Pelham Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Pelham Hotel Rooms

Queen
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 1 queen bed. Newly renovated-sitting area - no window
King Interior
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 1 king bed. Renovated - designer amenities - no window
King
Old New Orleans charm with high ceilings and 1 king beds. Newly renovated-designer amenities
Double Double Interior
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 2 double beds. Renovated- designer amenities - no window
Queen Queen
Old New Orleans charm with high ceilings and 2 queen beds. Newly renovated-designer amenities
Double Double
Old New Orleans charm with high ceilings and 2 double beds. Newly renovated-designer amenities
Queen Queen Interior
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 2 queen beds. Renovated-designer amenities - no window

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Sitting area
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for The Pelham Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PhillyLady
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 11, 2011

Someday it may be a great place

I was in New Orleans for a conference and since I enjoy traditional or boutique hotels, I tried the Pelham. Once a beautiful historic property, it has been neglected. Chipped and peeling paint, poor lighting, tired and worn furnishings. Amenities were lacking--only one sad coffee pot in the lobby, nothing in the room, no glasses, only one wastebasket, cheap soap and shampoo. The maid service was non-existent during my stay. Sad and depressing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MyLnn
Business
Westport, CT, USA
Jan 10, 2012

If u are desperate

the staff was friendly and nice as everyone in new Orleans seems to be.Overall though the hotel was awful. Our room did not have any window in it, I was so disoriented in the morning , thinking it was the middle of the night. the shower was a bare trickle of water. And the best was our toilet backed up and when I called I was given a plunger to work on it myself. Did I pay for this? It was a busy weekend in new Orleans so the hotel and everything else was packed, which is wh we had to stay there. The walls are also paper thin so you can hear every noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Texas fanily
Business
Texas
Jan 30, 2012

Horrible customer service

We didn't mind that the room was a little small but when we found hair in our "clean" bed and just handed me new sheets I was a little annoyed. At least an apology would have been nice! Then the loud banging noise ALL night kept my kids & I up... The only explanation we got was because it was due to the maintenance room being below us. If its going to sound like that don't put people in that room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I'mTravelAR
Business
Little Rock, AR
Jun 5, 2012

Much below my expectation. .

The bathroom was not cleaned , crowded extra small room. Would not recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Four Nurses
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 13, 2013

Great location

Not bad for the money. Clean. Friendly staff. Uncomfortable beds due to old mattress with springs that poked you. Coffee not always available. Usually gone by 11:00am. Old TVs with lousy reception. Good restaurant around the corner worth visiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do the tours. Well worth it. Although transporting to and from and picking up other passengers used up about quite a bit of the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Skip St Patty
Business
Manassas, VA
Apr 1, 2014

St Patty's Day

I only have two positive comments, location is good and it's clean. Our room was the closet for the room next door, or it seemed like it. The walls were taller than the room was long or wide. Outside parking means a city pay lot or you can opt for the $30 per day valet. Neither of which was revealed until check-in. Factor that in and there are much more comfortable places to stay with free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cincinnati
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Near French Quarters, The market , Bourbon Street

Over all a nice experience. We requested no house keeping for the 2 nights and couldn't understand why it was done anyway. It made us feel like they were checking on us. One disapointment was when it took an hour and a half to have our car brought to us which kept us fom experiencing some of our scheduled activities for that day because our time was very limited, We felt a refund for that day should have been offered. There was no coffee offered in the lobby which is that something special we have enjoyed at other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ilovekylerdog
Business
Columbus, OH, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Great hotel for the price

Hotel is in a great location. The staff was very friendly. The room we stayed in didn't have any windows and one of the plugs/lamps didn't work, so it was a little dark. Wallpaper was starting to come off the wall in the bathroom. The room overall was clean, but could definitely use a little tlc. If you don't plan on spending a lot of time in the room, the hotel is a bargain. The location is awesome! A block from the casino and just a couple of blocks to the french quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Ruby Slipper offers great breakfast and mimosas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love NewOrleans
Business
Mobile, AL, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Pelham Hotel

My stay in New Orleans was great, but my room was not, with all the extra fees and taxes, which is added to the cost of the room. The Pelham does not provide parking other them parking your car in the hotel parking lot down the street for 30.00 a night. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room we had was awful. The window and curtains had fresh blood on them. The fixtures in the bathroom was rusty and molding. The water pressure was a joke. The wall paper was peeling off. Never ate in there restaurant, there is not breakfast with the room, and if you want coffee they have a pot for the entire hotel in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vikmsu
Business
texas
Nov 8, 2011

Close enough to the action

the hotel had all the basics, but could have done better job with some little things. we had a problem with our bathroom door and couldn't get into our bathroom for a whole night b/c they couldn't find a maintenance man. also it took quite awhile to get our car out of valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

don't rent a car, save on the valet and walk, everything is within 8-10 blocks at the most.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top