$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

The Pelham Hotel

3 stars
View map of 444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
57 reviews
First time to NOLA

The hotel was in prime location. It is close enough to walk to Bourbon street and the French market... See full review

  • Viet L.
  • Aug 8, 2015
Perfect place to spend the weekend while being a tourist in your own city.

Awesome location, great room and an even better price! See full review

  • B. Norm
  • Nov 23, 2014
The Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old world European grace.The petite hotel that is brimming with old-world charm and hospitality is located between the New Orleans downtown business district and the French Quarter, and is situated within a stone's throw to Harrahs Casino, Riverwalk and The Warehouse District. A stately lobby greets guests with marble floor, Persian rug and leather couch. The 60 guest rooms are decorated in classic European style with four-poster beds and thick drapes. The location's history dates back to 1719 when Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, the founder of New Orleans, was granted a plantation on this spot.
Rooms

Each of the 60 uniquely appointed king and queen rooms are outfitted with iron and ironing board, hair dryer, full-length mirror, AM/FM clock radio, 25-inch television, phones with voicemail, Internet Access (fees apply) coffee maker and in-room safe (fees apply).  Some rooms feature carved four-poster beds and details such as 18-foot ceilings, crown molding, exposed brick walls and dramatic 10-foot windows. The overall vibe is old world and comfortable. 

Property features

This hotel does not offer food and beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is an important plus.  There is a dedicated tour desk to help guests plan excursions in New Orleans. Adjacent to The Pelham Hotel is the Ruby Slipper restaurant, featuring local flavors such as Barbecue Shrimp and Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. The hotel is a non-smoking property. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Pet friendly (up to 30 pounds, fees apply)
  • Convenient location
  • Budget friendly

 

Nearby attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's New Orleans Casino
  • Morial Convention Center
  • Riverwalk
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art
  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas
Business
  • Free internet access in public areas
Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (13 miles)
Policies
  • Parking fee is $33 with tax.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time non-refundable deep-cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and high-speed Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Pelham Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$85
3.8 / 5 425 reviews
★★★
$80
3.7 / 5 98 reviews
★★★★
$78
3.1 / 5 190 reviews
★★★★
$90
3.8 / 5 107 reviews
★★★★
$109
4.0 / 5 237 reviews
★★★★
$111
4.2 / 5 14 reviews

The Pelham Hotel Rooms

Double Double
Double Double European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring two double beds, 18
Double Double Interior
Double Double Interior European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring two double
Queen
Queen European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring one queen bed, sitting area
King Interior
King Interior European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring one king bed, 18 fo
Queen Queen
Queen Queen European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring two queen beds, 18 fo
Queen Queen Interior
Queen Queen Interior European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring two queen be
King
King European elegance and old New Orleans architecture featuring one king bed, 18 foot ceilin

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Sitting area
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Pelham Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mississippi Dad
Family
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Apr 4, 2013

Excellent location & value

The hotel was in the perfect location for a family vacation with the kids to the zoo & aquarium. We will definitely be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Landry's Seafood

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B. Norm
Single
New Orleans
Nov 23, 2014

Perfect place to spend the weekend while being a tourist in your own city.

Awesome location, great room and an even better price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Casino, night life and entertainment right at your feet!

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Betsyhow77
Couples
Mobile, Al
Sep 15, 2014

Great Hotel!

We had a fantastic stay at The Pelham! The staff were extremely nice and very helpful! It is in the perfect spot right of Canal! We will be staying there from now on!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viet L.
Friends
N/A
Aug 8, 2015

First time to NOLA

The hotel was in prime location. It is close enough to walk to Bourbon street and the French market without the noise and chaos from being on Canal street. The room was clean and gorgeous. The staff was very nice and was able to hold our bags before we checked in and after we checked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wjyjw
Friends
Lubbock, texas
Jan 10, 2014

good hotel

It is a good hotel. convenient to visit some famous scenic spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soccerfc0087
Couples
Knoxville, Tennessee
Feb 1, 2014

Great place!

We were looking to be close to all the action and this hotel was perfect. 10 min walk to bourbon street. Tall ceilings, clean rooms, and a neat place overall. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Csavoy
Couples
Opelousas, Louisiana
Apr 14, 2014

Weekend get away

The hotel was very clean. Service was really nice! Walking distance from New Orleans sightseeing. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bowie19
Family
Netherlands
May 5, 2014

Great location but small room for 4 persons

Great location in the heart of NOLA, near Canal street and walking distance from French Quarter. Room too small for party of 4.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy sleeper
Business
Crestview Florida
Oct 23, 2011

Happy Trip

We only planed to stay two nights, after arriving we knew that we wanted to stay another night because of the charm and the staff. This caused a littles confusion but the orbits and the staff got it taken care of and we enjoyed our stay and paln to stay there again soon. If we had any complaint it would be that the AC had it's own mind and wanted to cool when it felt like not when we wanted it to. But the room was never what I would say was uncomfortable. If you like a lot of water when you shower do not take one in your room, they use water saver heads and they are that ,it is the finest spray I have ever had. But We WILL BE STAYING THERE AGIN. PS had a room with no windows ,but after a night on Burbon st. it is the best night sleep I have ever had . Major pluss for a hangover :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to the Frech Quarter, The Casinos, Burbon St. And lots of shopping. If you dont feel like walking to get something to eat after walking all day, ask the staff there are places that deliver for free and the food was good.

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middle age female
Single
St Paul, MN, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Loved my room

The room was fabulous with tall ceilings and a 4-post bed with traditional step stool. The linens were so soft and the bed very comfortable. My only concern was the woman at the desk was unenthusiastic. I was early to check in (1:00pm) but she would not check with housekeeping to see if they could prepare my single room since I was waiting. I thought customer service meant doing what you can to ensure excellent service. This did not happen. And coffee is only available in the morning so I had to go next door to the restaurant and buy a cup. Not cool. But my room was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

In the French Quarter on Bourbon Street is a restaurant called Remoulade. Excellent food and service! Very good price and menu selection

Back to menu Return to top