The Pelham Hotel

3 stars
View map of 444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Pelham Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
slickbub
Friends
Garfield Hts, Ohio
Mar 28, 2012

The Pelham

Room was small, but comfy! For a quick weekend stay, I would recommend it absolutely!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpuroftheMomentTraveler
Friends
Boulder, CO, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Decent place to stay for a few nights

I enjoyed my stay at Pelham Hotel. Its only a few blocks from the trolly line and only a few blocks from the French Quarter. Good place to stay for a few nights in Nola.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jcyoung
Friends
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Old hotel with charm

For a hotel with value and in a good location; this was perfect. Had some trouble getting the big curtains to close tightly, and the old tube TV has seen better days, but we were just looking for a place to lay our heads and clean up and this hotel provided it. Their staff was super helpful too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring alot of cash. New Orleans is not an expensive city so not wanting to use my credit card for a $20 dinner for two we used cash.

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Texas fanily
Family
Texas
Jan 30, 2012

Horrible customer service

We didn't mind that the room was a little small but when we found hair in our "clean" bed and just handed me new sheets I was a little annoyed. At least an apology would have been nice! Then the loud banging noise ALL night kept my kids & I up... The only explanation we got was because it was due to the maintenance room being below us. If its going to sound like that don't put people in that room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MyLnn
Family
Westport, CT, USA
Jan 10, 2012

If u are desperate

the staff was friendly and nice as everyone in new Orleans seems to be.Overall though the hotel was awful. Our room did not have any window in it, I was so disoriented in the morning , thinking it was the middle of the night. the shower was a bare trickle of water. And the best was our toilet backed up and when I called I was given a plunger to work on it myself. Did I pay for this? It was a busy weekend in new Orleans so the hotel and everything else was packed, which is wh we had to stay there. The walls are also paper thin so you can hear every noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mylle
Couples
Metairie, LA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Windows

We just believe that customers should be warned that there might be rooms with no windows! Also the lift on the right smells moldy, other than that its a great place and the free internet is awesome not to mention the ruby sliper is a great recommendtaion for those who are staying at the pelham and wanna have great breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The ruby sliper! Excellent breakfast drinks and great meals as well!

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T. George
Single
Detroit, MI, USA
Dec 8, 2011

Great location!

If you are looking for a luxury hotel this is not it. If your looking for a quiet,charming,historic, hotel with charecter you have found it. The location is perfect for walking to the quarter, riverfront, and the superdome. The staff members were wonderful. Friendly and helpful in every way. I will stay at the Pelham on all future visits to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The WW2 museum is a must do, don't miss the movie there "Beyond all boundries" I really enjoyed the Natcez paddlewheel boat tour. Very historic information provided, combined with a live jazz band.

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love NewOrleans
Family
Mobile, AL, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Pelham Hotel

My stay in New Orleans was great, but my room was not, with all the extra fees and taxes, which is added to the cost of the room. The Pelham does not provide parking other them parking your car in the hotel parking lot down the street for 30.00 a night. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room we had was awful. The window and curtains had fresh blood on them. The fixtures in the bathroom was rusty and molding. The water pressure was a joke. The wall paper was peeling off. Never ate in there restaurant, there is not breakfast with the room, and if you want coffee they have a pot for the entire hotel in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SpuroftheMomentTraveler
Single
Boulder, CO, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Quick Trip

Hotel was pretty nice. Bathrooms could do with a little work, but the overall room was good. Rooms had a classic New Orleans feel to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ophelia
Friends
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Great for quick getaway

I did not expect a great stay due to some of the reviews I had read before I booked it and a very economical price, but was nicely surprised. Hotel had very comfortable beds, nice decor and great location. Clean and pleasant. Will stay there again and recommend to my friends. However if staying at the luxurious hotel is important to you, don't book this one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great seafood at Deannies Restaurant( raw and charbroiled oysters, BBQ shrimp and gumbo) within 10 min walk from Pelham hotel in French Q - corner Dauphine and Iberville. Much better than ACME and other overrated tourist traps.

Back to menu Return to top