$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Pelham Hotel

3 stars
444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
50 reviews
Perfect place to spend the weekend while being a tourist in your own city.

Awesome location, great room and an even better price! See full review

  • B. Norm
  • Nov 23, 2014
Quick Trip to NOLA

Just had a day to spend in NOLA, and hoped to stay in a nice, affordable hotel near French Quarter.... See full review

  • dwaskew
  • Jul 28, 2014
Small hotel with old-world charm near French Quarter, business district
The Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old world European grace.The petite hotel that is brimming with old-world charm and hospitality is located between the New Orleans downtown business district and the French Quarter, and is situated within a stone's throw to Harrahs Casino, Riverwalk and The Warehouse District. A stately lobby greets guests with marble floor, Persian rug and leather couch. The 60 guest rooms are decorated in classic European style with four-poster beds and thick drapes. The location's history dates back to 1719 when Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, the founder of New Orleans, was granted a plantation on this spot.
Highlights
  • Pet friendly (up to 30 pounds, fees apply)
  • Convenient location
  • Budget friendly

 

Rooms

Each of the 60 uniquely appointed king and queen rooms are outfitted with iron and ironing board, hair dryer, full-length mirror, AM/FM clock radio, 25-inch television, phones with voicemail, Internet Access (fees apply) coffee maker and in-room safe (fees apply).  Some rooms feature carved four-poster beds and details such as 18-foot ceilings, crown molding, exposed brick walls and dramatic 10-foot windows. The overall vibe is old world and comfortable. 

Features

This hotel does not offer food and beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is an important plus.  There is a dedicated tour desk to help guests plan excursions in New Orleans. Adjacent to The Pelham Hotel is the Ruby Slipper restaurant, featuring local flavors such as Barbecue Shrimp and Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. The hotel is a non-smoking property. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (13 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's New Orleans Casino
  • Morial Convention Center
  • Riverwalk
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art
  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas
Business
  • Free internet access in public areas
Policies and fees
  • Parking fee is $33 with tax.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time non-refundable deep-cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and high-speed Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Pelham Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Pelham Hotel Rooms

Queen
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 1 queen bed. Newly renovated-sitting area - no window
King Interior
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 1 king bed. Renovated - designer amenities - no window
King
Old New Orleans charm with high ceilings and 1 king beds. Newly renovated-designer amenities
Double Double Interior
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 2 double beds. Renovated- designer amenities - no window
Queen Queen
Old New Orleans charm with high ceilings and 2 queen beds. Newly renovated-designer amenities
Double Double
Old New Orleans charm with high ceilings and 2 double beds. Newly renovated-designer amenities
Queen Queen Interior
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 2 queen beds. Renovated-designer amenities - no window

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Sitting area
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for The Pelham Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T. George
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Dec 8, 2011

Great location!

If you are looking for a luxury hotel this is not it. If your looking for a quiet,charming,historic, hotel with charecter you have found it. The location is perfect for walking to the quarter, riverfront, and the superdome. The staff members were wonderful. Friendly and helpful in every way. I will stay at the Pelham on all future visits to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The WW2 museum is a must do, don't miss the movie there "Beyond all boundries" I really enjoyed the Natcez paddlewheel boat tour. Very historic information provided, combined with a live jazz band.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love NewOrleans
Business
Mobile, AL, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Pelham Hotel

My stay in New Orleans was great, but my room was not, with all the extra fees and taxes, which is added to the cost of the room. The Pelham does not provide parking other them parking your car in the hotel parking lot down the street for 30.00 a night. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room we had was awful. The window and curtains had fresh blood on them. The fixtures in the bathroom was rusty and molding. The water pressure was a joke. The wall paper was peeling off. Never ate in there restaurant, there is not breakfast with the room, and if you want coffee they have a pot for the entire hotel in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SpuroftheMomentTraveler
Business
Boulder, CO, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Quick Trip

Hotel was pretty nice. Bathrooms could do with a little work, but the overall room was good. Rooms had a classic New Orleans feel to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ophelia
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 10, 2011

Great for quick getaway

I did not expect a great stay due to some of the reviews I had read before I booked it and a very economical price, but was nicely surprised. Hotel had very comfortable beds, nice decor and great location. Clean and pleasant. Will stay there again and recommend to my friends. However if staying at the luxurious hotel is important to you, don't book this one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great seafood at Deannies Restaurant( raw and charbroiled oysters, BBQ shrimp and gumbo) within 10 min walk from Pelham hotel in French Q - corner Dauphine and Iberville. Much better than ACME and other overrated tourist traps.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vikmsu
Business
texas
Nov 8, 2011

Close enough to the action

the hotel had all the basics, but could have done better job with some little things. we had a problem with our bathroom door and couldn't get into our bathroom for a whole night b/c they couldn't find a maintenance man. also it took quite awhile to get our car out of valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

don't rent a car, save on the valet and walk, everything is within 8-10 blocks at the most.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middle age female
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Loved my room

The room was fabulous with tall ceilings and a 4-post bed with traditional step stool. The linens were so soft and the bed very comfortable. My only concern was the woman at the desk was unenthusiastic. I was early to check in (1:00pm) but she would not check with housekeeping to see if they could prepare my single room since I was waiting. I thought customer service meant doing what you can to ensure excellent service. This did not happen. And coffee is only available in the morning so I had to go next door to the restaurant and buy a cup. Not cool. But my room was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

In the French Quarter on Bourbon Street is a restaurant called Remoulade. Excellent food and service! Very good price and menu selection

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy sleeper
Business
Crestview Florida
Oct 23, 2011

Happy Trip

We only planed to stay two nights, after arriving we knew that we wanted to stay another night because of the charm and the staff. This caused a littles confusion but the orbits and the staff got it taken care of and we enjoyed our stay and paln to stay there again soon. If we had any complaint it would be that the AC had it's own mind and wanted to cool when it felt like not when we wanted it to. But the room was never what I would say was uncomfortable. If you like a lot of water when you shower do not take one in your room, they use water saver heads and they are that ,it is the finest spray I have ever had. But We WILL BE STAYING THERE AGIN. PS had a room with no windows ,but after a night on Burbon st. it is the best night sleep I have ever had . Major pluss for a hangover :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to the Frech Quarter, The Casinos, Burbon St. And lots of shopping. If you dont feel like walking to get something to eat after walking all day, ask the staff there are places that deliver for free and the food was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ilovekylerdog
Business
Columbus, OH, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Great hotel for the price

Hotel is in a great location. The staff was very friendly. The room we stayed in didn't have any windows and one of the plugs/lamps didn't work, so it was a little dark. Wallpaper was starting to come off the wall in the bathroom. The room overall was clean, but could definitely use a little tlc. If you don't plan on spending a lot of time in the room, the hotel is a bargain. The location is awesome! A block from the casino and just a couple of blocks to the french quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Ruby Slipper offers great breakfast and mimosas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PhillyLady
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 11, 2011

Someday it may be a great place

I was in New Orleans for a conference and since I enjoy traditional or boutique hotels, I tried the Pelham. Once a beautiful historic property, it has been neglected. Chipped and peeling paint, poor lighting, tired and worn furnishings. Amenities were lacking--only one sad coffee pot in the lobby, nothing in the room, no glasses, only one wastebasket, cheap soap and shampoo. The maid service was non-existent during my stay. Sad and depressing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rpalmer
Business
Ohio, NE, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Pelham Attention

Must say I was surprised at the quality and care given guests. The Owner lives on-sight and the Front Desk Staff could not be more helpful. The attached breakfast/lunch shop is a nice addition and it fits well in the general scheme of things. Would absolutely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top