$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

The Pelham Hotel

3 stars
444 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
50 reviews
Perfect place to spend the weekend while being a tourist in your own city.

Awesome location, great room and an even better price! See full review

  • B. Norm
  • Nov 23, 2014
Quick Trip to NOLA

Just had a day to spend in NOLA, and hoped to stay in a nice, affordable hotel near French Quarter.... See full review

  • dwaskew
  • Jul 28, 2014
Small hotel with old-world charm near French Quarter, business district
The Pelham Hotel offers a grand scale of personal service and attention to detail in an intimate boutique setting reminiscent of old world European grace.The petite hotel that is brimming with old-world charm and hospitality is located between the New Orleans downtown business district and the French Quarter, and is situated within a stone's throw to Harrahs Casino, Riverwalk and The Warehouse District. A stately lobby greets guests with marble floor, Persian rug and leather couch. The 60 guest rooms are decorated in classic European style with four-poster beds and thick drapes. The location's history dates back to 1719 when Jean Baptist Lemoyne de Bienville, the founder of New Orleans, was granted a plantation on this spot.
Highlights
  • Pet friendly (up to 30 pounds, fees apply)
  • Convenient location
  • Budget friendly

 

Rooms

Each of the 60 uniquely appointed king and queen rooms are outfitted with iron and ironing board, hair dryer, full-length mirror, AM/FM clock radio, 25-inch television, phones with voicemail, Internet Access (fees apply) coffee maker and in-room safe (fees apply).  Some rooms feature carved four-poster beds and details such as 18-foot ceilings, crown molding, exposed brick walls and dramatic 10-foot windows. The overall vibe is old world and comfortable. 

Features

This hotel does not offer food and beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is an important plus.  There is a dedicated tour desk to help guests plan excursions in New Orleans. Adjacent to The Pelham Hotel is the Ruby Slipper restaurant, featuring local flavors such as Barbecue Shrimp and Grits and Bananas Foster Pain Perdu along with traditional favorites for breakfast and lunch. The hotel is a non-smoking property. Valet parking is available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (13 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's New Orleans Casino
  • Morial Convention Center
  • Riverwalk
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art
  • Audubon Aquarium of the Americas
Business
  • Free internet access in public areas
Policies and fees
  • Parking fee is $33 with tax.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time non-refundable deep-cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and high-speed Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Pelham Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Pelham Hotel Rooms

Queen
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 1 queen bed. Newly renovated-sitting area - no window
King Interior
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 1 king bed. Renovated - designer amenities - no window
King
Old New Orleans charm with high ceilings and 1 king beds. Newly renovated-designer amenities
Double Double Interior
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 2 double beds. Renovated- designer amenities - no window
Queen Queen
Old New Orleans charm with high ceilings and 2 queen beds. Newly renovated-designer amenities
Double Double
Old New Orleans charm with high ceilings and 2 double beds. Newly renovated-designer amenities
Queen Queen Interior
Old N. O. charm with high ceilings and 2 queen beds. Renovated-designer amenities - no window

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Sitting area
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for The Pelham Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevvin
Business
Pensacola, florida
Jan 6, 2013

I would stay again

Good hotel. It's close to bourbon st. The room was beautiful. Parking was extremely expensive. (almost $28). I. Asked the receptionist if that was expensive and he said everywhere its the same price. (a. Big lie. Because across the street it's. $15 for overnight parking). I would rate about 3.5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
littlecat
Business
los angeles, california
Jun 21, 2012

hot water

If hot water or small coffee maker can be provided, it will be more convenient. Warm water was needed for taking medication.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Slipper is great for breakfast and lunch. No dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I'mTravelAR
Business
Little Rock, AR
Jun 5, 2012

Much below my expectation. .

The bathroom was not cleaned , crowded extra small room. Would not recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rhiannon
Business
NW Indiana
Apr 3, 2012

Great Value! Would stay again!

The hotel was a great value and just one block off canal street & decatur street by the french quarter. The room was very clean and the staff extremely helpful. Answered all our questions, gave suggestions, and was prompt on service. I recommend using the valet service because it is secure and you can come and go as much as you want for 1 price. Only down side was that rooms do not have a mini fridge so you can't bring back left-overs. Would have been nice since they feed you so well where ever you go to eat. No contenental breakfast served but the Ruby Slipper in hotel has a great breakfast. Overall a great room for a great price. Would definatly stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ruby Slipper is a great place to eat breakfast. They do breakfast and luch, only open until 2pm. Try the banana foster french toast!! Excellent!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
slickbub
Business
Garfield Hts, Ohio
Mar 28, 2012

The Pelham

Room was small, but comfy! For a quick weekend stay, I would recommend it absolutely!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SpuroftheMomentTraveler
Business
Boulder, CO, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Decent place to stay for a few nights

I enjoyed my stay at Pelham Hotel. Its only a few blocks from the trolly line and only a few blocks from the French Quarter. Good place to stay for a few nights in Nola.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jcyoung
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Old hotel with charm

For a hotel with value and in a good location; this was perfect. Had some trouble getting the big curtains to close tightly, and the old tube TV has seen better days, but we were just looking for a place to lay our heads and clean up and this hotel provided it. Their staff was super helpful too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring alot of cash. New Orleans is not an expensive city so not wanting to use my credit card for a $20 dinner for two we used cash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Texas fanily
Business
Texas
Jan 30, 2012

Horrible customer service

We didn't mind that the room was a little small but when we found hair in our "clean" bed and just handed me new sheets I was a little annoyed. At least an apology would have been nice! Then the loud banging noise ALL night kept my kids & I up... The only explanation we got was because it was due to the maintenance room being below us. If its going to sound like that don't put people in that room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MyLnn
Business
Westport, CT, USA
Jan 10, 2012

If u are desperate

the staff was friendly and nice as everyone in new Orleans seems to be.Overall though the hotel was awful. Our room did not have any window in it, I was so disoriented in the morning , thinking it was the middle of the night. the shower was a bare trickle of water. And the best was our toilet backed up and when I called I was given a plunger to work on it myself. Did I pay for this? It was a busy weekend in new Orleans so the hotel and everything else was packed, which is wh we had to stay there. The walls are also paper thin so you can hear every noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Pelham Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mylle
Business
Metairie, LA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Windows

We just believe that customers should be warned that there might be rooms with no windows! Also the lift on the right smells moldy, other than that its a great place and the free internet is awesome not to mention the ruby sliper is a great recommendtaion for those who are staying at the pelham and wanna have great breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The ruby sliper! Excellent breakfast drinks and great meals as well!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top