$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

The Lafayette Hotel

3 stars
View map of 600 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
109 reviews
Family trip

Great hotel, very clean, friendly staff and close everything. See full review

  • MJDLR
  • Jun 14, 2015
Overall Great

Perfect for both business and leisure travel. Easy access in and out yet close enough to walk to... See full review

  • CLCIV
  • Jun 13, 2015

The Lafayette Hotel provides guests with immediate and convenient access to Lafayette Square in New Orleans.  The Lafayette Hotel is perfectly positioned as a base for exploration of many of the top sights in New Orleans. It is also a quiet romantic retreat, complete with all the comforts of top class amenities and hotel services.  There is hardly a better place from which to discover the real New Orleans.

Rooms

In each of the 44 rooms and suites, guests at the Lafayette Hotel in New Orleans can delight in the best of hotel amenities and luxuries, in surroundings that have been carefully restored from original historic furnishings. Wireless Internet access is available for a fee, and the hotel rooms are equipped with everything that guests have come to expect from such world class accommodation, including access to Mike's on the Avenue; which serves a contemporary cuisine with a breadth of influences from New Orleans' culinary traditions. 

Highlights
  • Excellent location for historic New Orleans' attractions, convenient for the world renowned streetcar line
  • Top class amenities and the best in world class service
  • Splendid landmark hotel with restored historic features and a signature restaurant
Nearby attractions
  • Lafayette Square (0.04 mi/0.1 km)
  • Wyndham Riverfront  (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • New Orleans Superdome  (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lafayette Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Lafayette Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one king size bed.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Lafayette Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 109
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jean O.
Business
N/A
Mar 18, 2015

Wonderful small hotel with style and service

This was my first trip to New Orleans. I wanted to stay in or near the French Quarter. This hotel is located a few blocks from the Quarter so is much quieter yet just as convenient. My room was classic New Orleans. The staff was gracious. I plan to make this my "go to" whenever I am in NOLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs. Charlie
Business
Alpharetta, GA
Apr 10, 2014

So much potential

The staff was very friendly. This is a beautiful building that needs attention to detail. I was concern that the upholstery showed old stains, the blanket between the sheets had an old stain too and a small hole. The lamps were nice but one was cracked and one electrical outlet was coming off the wall. Even the beautiful antique dresser in the hallway was missing a handle. It was clean but those details made me uncomfortable. The entrance was not well care for . If they can fix these details it would make a huge difference. Building is from 1916 not well insulated for noise. TV had a really bad connection in half of the channels. --Location was great, staff was great, price was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Find the Trolley routes and enjoy the ride, it's cheap, picturesque and it goes to lots of places.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDA in Norwalk
Business
Monterey, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2013

First time in New Orleans

I was upgraded to a suite! Loved it! Very friendly staff. Great value for the price. I was in walking distance to the French Quarter. Parking is very limited on the street so be prepared to add parking to the cost. Other than that, I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

French Quarter.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MapBoy66
Business
Rhode Island
Oct 26, 2013

Good Hotel

Great small old world hotel, with great access to the French Quarter, and the St. Charles trolley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Train Traveler
Business
Arizona
Mar 4, 2012

Perfect For Me

I travel by train and that usually involves an overnight stay in New Orleans. This hotel is midway between Union Station and the French Quarter and walkable from each. Elegant but comfortable remodel of old building. Restaurant and bar in building quite nice (with view of streetcar passing by), and many restaurants in area are good and interesting. I lucked out and was upgraded to small suite so I was in heaven for a hundred bucks. No room service, pool or the like however. If the price remains reasonable I will stay again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the Arts District guide/map from the desk. It lists many good restaurants in the neighborhood.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quebton
Business
Los Alamos, NM
Feb 13, 2011

A Classy place

The hotel was very comfortable, quiet, and well maintained. Service was friendly and prompt. It was in a great location for visiting the French quarter as well as the convention center. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ebeths
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 7, 2010

Less than zero frills - broken basic.

There are two elevators - one was always broken. The other worked only half the time so I had to walk up 4 flights of stairs. An acrylic ceiling panel in my bathroom fell down - I was lucky to be in the shower or it would have hit me in the head. i alerted the staff twice but it was still on the floor when I checked out. The decor is dingy and worn. The outlet next to my bed didn't work (this is dangerous). The other light needed a bulb replacement. Sad. This hotel has a lot of potential given the location etc. but management is shoddy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is not a breakfast or room service at the Lafayette so if you want your morning fix go to PJs around the corner on Girod Street or Between the Bread across the street.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen, the old-fashioned girl
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Nov 22, 2009

The Lafayette Hotel

The hotel was a very nice, old-fashioned, period experience. There were no amenities because it's just a small hotel. The staff were very nice and accommodating. The location was excellent. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who enjoys being part of an old-fashioned feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a restaurant kitty-corner from the hotel called PaulSaint that serves excellent food.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen, the old-fashioned girl
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Nov 22, 2009

The Lafayette Hotel

The hotel was a very nice, old-fashioned, period experience. There were no amenities because it's just a small hotel. The staff were very nice and accommodating. The location was excellent. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who enjoys being part of an old-fashioned feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a restaurant kitty-corner from the hotel called PaulSaint that serves excellent food.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lantana
Jul 4, 2008

There is not a ...

There is not a restaurant, fitness center, business center, or a pool. You do get a spacious; charming room with old towels and old linens. I definitely would consider this hotel 3-star at the most. Overall I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top