$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

The Lafayette Hotel

3 stars
600 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
127 reviews
A great time

The Lafayette Hotel was beautiful nestled in the business District. It was very close to the place... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jun 4, 2014
Great get away

the staff were all personable and very helpful as to what to see and how to get there. See full review

  • jersey shore
  • Apr 19, 2014
Top amenities and services easy for historic New Orleans’ arts district

The Lafayette Hotel provides guests with immediate and convenient access to Lafayette Square in New Orleans.  The Lafayette Hotel is perfectly positioned as a base for exploration of many of the top sights in New Orleans. It is also a quiet romantic retreat, complete with all the comforts of top class amenities and hotel services.  There is hardly a better place from which to discover the real New Orleans.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Excellent location for historic New Orleans' attractions, convenient for the world renowned streetcar line
  • Top class amenities and the best in world class service
  • Splendid landmark hotel with restored historic features and a signature restaurant
The Lafayette Hotel Rooms

In each of the 44 rooms and suites, guests at the Lafayette Hotel in New Orleans can delight in the best of hotel amenities and luxuries, in surroundings that have been carefully restored from original historic furnishings. Wireless Internet access is available for a fee, and the hotel rooms are equipped with everything that guests have come to expect from such world class accommodation, including access to Mike's on the Avenue; which serves a contemporary cuisine with a breadth of influences from New Orleans' culinary traditions. 

Things To Do
  • Lafayette Square (0.04 mi/0.1 km)
  • Wyndham Riverfront  (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • New Orleans Superdome  (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.071
Area served
New Orleans
Nearby airports
Louis Armstron Intl APO -MSY- 12mi/Lakefront APO -NEW- 9mi
Area description
Located on fashionable St Charles Avenue

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lafayette Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The Lafayette Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one king size bed.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 2.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.8 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for The Lafayette Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 127
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs. Charlie
Alpharetta, GA
Apr 10, 2014

So much potential

The staff was very friendly. This is a beautiful building that needs attention to detail. I was concern that the upholstery showed old stains, the blanket between the sheets had an old stain too and a small hole. The lamps were nice but one was cracked and one electrical outlet was coming off the wall. Even the beautiful antique dresser in the hallway was missing a handle. It was clean but those details made me uncomfortable. The entrance was not well care for . If they can fix these details it would make a huge difference. Building is from 1916 not well insulated for noise. TV had a really bad connection in half of the channels. --Location was great, staff was great, price was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Find the Trolley routes and enjoy the ride, it's cheap, picturesque and it goes to lots of places.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDA in Norwalk
Monterey, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2013

First time in New Orleans

I was upgraded to a suite! Loved it! Very friendly staff. Great value for the price. I was in walking distance to the French Quarter. Parking is very limited on the street so be prepared to add parking to the cost. Other than that, I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

French Quarter.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MapBoy66
Rhode Island
Oct 26, 2013

Good Hotel

Great small old world hotel, with great access to the French Quarter, and the St. Charles trolley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Train Traveler
Arizona
Mar 4, 2012

Perfect For Me

I travel by train and that usually involves an overnight stay in New Orleans. This hotel is midway between Union Station and the French Quarter and walkable from each. Elegant but comfortable remodel of old building. Restaurant and bar in building quite nice (with view of streetcar passing by), and many restaurants in area are good and interesting. I lucked out and was upgraded to small suite so I was in heaven for a hundred bucks. No room service, pool or the like however. If the price remains reasonable I will stay again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the Arts District guide/map from the desk. It lists many good restaurants in the neighborhood.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quebton
Los Alamos, NM
Feb 13, 2011

A Classy place

The hotel was very comfortable, quiet, and well maintained. Service was friendly and prompt. It was in a great location for visiting the French quarter as well as the convention center. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quebton
Los Alamos, NM
Feb 13, 2011

A Classy place

The hotel was very comfortable, quiet, and well maintained. Service was friendly and prompt. It was in a great location for visiting the French quarter as well as the convention center. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ebeths
Seattle, WA
Nov 7, 2010

Less than zero frills - broken basic.

There are two elevators - one was always broken. The other worked only half the time so I had to walk up 4 flights of stairs. An acrylic ceiling panel in my bathroom fell down - I was lucky to be in the shower or it would have hit me in the head. i alerted the staff twice but it was still on the floor when I checked out. The decor is dingy and worn. The outlet next to my bed didn't work (this is dangerous). The other light needed a bulb replacement. Sad. This hotel has a lot of potential given the location etc. but management is shoddy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is not a breakfast or room service at the Lafayette so if you want your morning fix go to PJs around the corner on Girod Street or Between the Bread across the street.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ebeths
Seattle, WA
Nov 7, 2010

Less than zero frills - broken basic.

There are two elevators - one was always broken. The other worked only half the time so I had to walk up 4 flights of stairs. An acrylic ceiling panel in my bathroom fell down - I was lucky to be in the shower or it would have hit me in the head. i alerted the staff twice but it was still on the floor when I checked out. The decor is dingy and worn. The outlet next to my bed didn't work (this is dangerous). The other light needed a bulb replacement. Sad. This hotel has a lot of potential given the location etc. but management is shoddy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is not a breakfast or room service at the Lafayette so if you want your morning fix go to PJs around the corner on Girod Street or Between the Bread across the street.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen, the old-fashioned girl
Ann Arbor, MI
Nov 22, 2009

The Lafayette Hotel

The hotel was a very nice, old-fashioned, period experience. There were no amenities because it's just a small hotel. The staff were very nice and accommodating. The location was excellent. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who enjoys being part of an old-fashioned feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a restaurant kitty-corner from the hotel called PaulSaint that serves excellent food.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lantana
Jul 4, 2008

There is not a ...

There is not a restaurant, fitness center, business center, or a pool. You do get a spacious; charming room with old towels and old linens. I definitely would consider this hotel 3-star at the most. Overall I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top