$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

The Lafayette Hotel

3 stars
600 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
95 reviews
A great time

The Lafayette Hotel was beautiful nestled in the business District. It was very close to the place... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jun 4, 2014
Great get away

the staff were all personable and very helpful as to what to see and how to get there. See full review

  • jersey shore
  • Apr 19, 2014
Top amenities and services easy for historic New Orleans’ arts district

The Lafayette Hotel provides guests with immediate and convenient access to Lafayette Square in New Orleans.  The Lafayette Hotel is perfectly positioned as a base for exploration of many of the top sights in New Orleans. It is also a quiet romantic retreat, complete with all the comforts of top class amenities and hotel services.  There is hardly a better place from which to discover the real New Orleans.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Excellent location for historic New Orleans' attractions, convenient for the world renowned streetcar line
  • Top class amenities and the best in world class service
  • Splendid landmark hotel with restored historic features and a signature restaurant
The Lafayette Hotel Rooms

In each of the 44 rooms and suites, guests at the Lafayette Hotel in New Orleans can delight in the best of hotel amenities and luxuries, in surroundings that have been carefully restored from original historic furnishings. Wireless Internet access is available for a fee, and the hotel rooms are equipped with everything that guests have come to expect from such world class accommodation, including access to Mike's on the Avenue; which serves a contemporary cuisine with a breadth of influences from New Orleans' culinary traditions. 

Things To Do
  • Lafayette Square (0.04 mi/0.1 km)
  • Wyndham Riverfront  (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • New Orleans Superdome  (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lafayette Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Lafayette Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one king size bed.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for The Lafayette Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 95
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teber
Business
Gillette, wy
Aug 21, 2013

Parking the only downer

Cost of parking all over New Orleans was awful. It added a lot to the cost of our vacation. This hotel could not have been located better for us. Cable car dropped us off right outside the door. REALLY good steaks at the steakhouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park the car and use the street car as much as possible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequenttravel01
Business
North Carolina
Jul 22, 2013

Hotel Great, Information on web

Everything about the hotel was really great. Far enough from downtown that you feel safe. Website advertised that a pool was an amenity. The closest pool is 12 blocks away if you want to walk or an $8 taxi drive to the sister hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa Johnson. Mom
Business
Austin tax
Jun 16, 2013

Nice

Friendly staff especially Dwayne and Mya..good job

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renni K
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Feb 16, 2013

Great location - great staff!

Flew in on Fat Tuesday for a 2 night stay. They allowed me to check in early and check out late. I signed up for a regular room and was given a king suite - nice! Staff was wonderfully helpful - especially Dwayne. If I had to be picky I'd say that the lights in the living room were kinda dim for doing any actual reading and the thermostat would not rise above 70 - it was very cold on my last day and the room felt very chilly. Love the decor and the fancy old grandma's house vibe. Would totally go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a parking lot one block away that has much cheaper rates than the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zonker
Business
Alpharetta, GA
Jan 15, 2013

Second time stay - Again just fine!

This was the second time we stayed here and it was just fine. Our room (510) was located between the elevators and we couldn't hear a thing! Needs some upgrades but definitely not run down! No flat screen, and the only down side was no regular coffee for pod machine, and the handle on the hot water fell off and we had to put it back on. Other than that, good value for New Orleans. We would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat around here!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette, IN
Jan 3, 2011

Great place to bring in the new year

We really enjoyed our stay at The Lafayette Hotel. It was situated just right between the French Quarter and the Garden District. We enjoyed the ability to catch the trolley right out side the door. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very courtious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Jul 21, 2010

Good location..other than that...

The location of the hotel was great for us since it was right on the St. Charles Trolley route. The hotel had no lobby to speak of. So if we were waiting for anyone or the shuttle or a taxi, we had to wait in the heat. There were no vending machines that we knew of. So if we just needed a bottle of water, we had to walk to get one. The guy working at the front desk in the afternoons was borderline rude. My 19-year old had a far walk from where she was the one day. When she got to the hotel she really needed a drink of water. When I asked for some ice and water for her,the guy at the desk (who looked like a fat James Carvel), looked at us like I was asking for a rare vintage of wine that he never heard of. He would not give me any water or tell me where to get it until I told him that my daugher was a guest in the hotel also. He was the only rude person we met in all of New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Foley, AL
May 5, 2010

The Big Easy

These are uniquely furnished rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top