$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

The Lafayette Hotel

3 stars
600 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
94 reviews
A great time

The Lafayette Hotel was beautiful nestled in the business District. It was very close to the place... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jun 4, 2014
Great get away

the staff were all personable and very helpful as to what to see and how to get there. See full review

  • jersey shore
  • Apr 19, 2014
Top amenities and services easy for historic New Orleans’ arts district

The Lafayette Hotel provides guests with immediate and convenient access to Lafayette Square in New Orleans.  The Lafayette Hotel is perfectly positioned as a base for exploration of many of the top sights in New Orleans. It is also a quiet romantic retreat, complete with all the comforts of top class amenities and hotel services.  There is hardly a better place from which to discover the real New Orleans.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Excellent location for historic New Orleans' attractions, convenient for the world renowned streetcar line
  • Top class amenities and the best in world class service
  • Splendid landmark hotel with restored historic features and a signature restaurant
The Lafayette Hotel Rooms

In each of the 44 rooms and suites, guests at the Lafayette Hotel in New Orleans can delight in the best of hotel amenities and luxuries, in surroundings that have been carefully restored from original historic furnishings. Wireless Internet access is available for a fee, and the hotel rooms are equipped with everything that guests have come to expect from such world class accommodation, including access to Mike's on the Avenue; which serves a contemporary cuisine with a breadth of influences from New Orleans' culinary traditions. 

Things To Do
  • Lafayette Square (0.04 mi/0.1 km)
  • Wyndham Riverfront  (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • New Orleans Superdome  (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.071
Area served
New Orleans
Nearby airports
Louis Armstron Intl APO -MSY- 12mi/Lakefront APO -NEW- 9mi
Area description
Located on fashionable St Charles Avenue

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lafayette Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Lafayette Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one king size bed.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for The Lafayette Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 94
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keoni Meli
Business
Guelph, Ontario
Aug 9, 2014

Good Place to Stay Just Outside the French Quarter

The hotel is undergoing renovations and in the future it will be even better. Most of the staff were extremely helpful and the manager did everything she could to accommodate my "business" (academic) needs while I was there. They are planning to improve computer access but due to construction there was no access in many of the rooms and there was only one public computer in the mezzanine. Luckily, most travelers were there as tourists and only needed to use the computer for printing out air tickets. I very much enjoyed my super spacious suite and having so much room allowed me to really get a lot of work done, reading and writing. I was there for an academic conference. While the hotel is a bit far away from the core of the French Quarter for anyone who is not used to walking I found the walk refreshing after several hours of intense work. Daisey Duke cafe' has a breakfast special before 9:00. It must be one of the safest cafe's in town because I often saw many police officers eating there! All in all I would recommend anyone who does not need five star treatment to go to this excellent 3 1/2 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Museum downtown is very helpful. They had a special free seminar on Satchmo and I thoroughly enjoyed listening to several excellent presentations about jazz in general and New Orleans style jazz in particular. Look for similar free events at the Museum, where the permanent display has interesting information about the mint.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CalTex Gal
Business
San antonio
Jul 10, 2014

Great Experience for the value!

Had to travel to New Orleans for hearing at the Appeals Court. Great 5 min walk to courthouse and cute coffee house just around the corner. The staff was very courteous and very attentive. The restaurant and bar were under renovation but both looked very inviting with great New Orleans ambiance. Friends from New Orleans stayed the night too and had never heard of this hidden gem. They had a nice suite which was situated between the two elevator bays...no noise surprisingly. I was impressed. I had a double room on the street, 4th floor. There was noise from the street cars below, but it didn't bother me too much, and if you are coming from another city, city noise was low. I live in a quiet area, so next time will request room on backside of hotel. The rooms had character but bathroom was a little worn, grout was missing around bathroom faucets...no biggie. Carpets and bedding was very clean and not worn. Will definitely book again. Easy walk to Bourbon Street and French Quarter. Not as fancy as Lowe's but super great for value. I would stay again!!!! Cute restaurants across the street. had after dinner drinks at one, cheese platter was awesome but service was terrible. Nice area with nice little restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Great find, if you aren't a hotel snob. Only stayed for one night and only spent time there sleeping and showering. Who wants to stay in a hotel room when there is so much to do and see in New Orleans.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SaraSara22
Business
New York,NY
Jun 4, 2014

A great time

The Lafayette Hotel was beautiful nestled in the business District. It was very close to the place I was interviewing with. The staff was very nice and we had a chat about NYC. They were extremely attentive. The room was beautiful and I'm so glad that I stayed there. Checkout was easy and they even gave me great directions to my interview.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
edith from chicago
Business
chicago
Aug 17, 2013

on business

I will recommend this place to everyone on business trip . It is close to business district and to Bourbon street. Staff very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wetland
Business
California
Feb 23, 2013

Decent but not great

Room was decent in terms of space and bed comfort. The main issue I had was a constant noise at night, like a generator running all night long. I chose not to ask for a room change because the other side of the hotel had rooms facing the street which I didn't think would improve the situation. For a woman traveling alone, not the best location to do any dark-time wondering on your own. Still - the staff was incredibly nice which compensated for some of the less pleasant attributes of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe at the square - great food for breakfast, lunch, or dinner

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caspar Ghost
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 7, 2013

No frills, comfortable historic hotel

Since I arrived early, I left my luggage and the clerk promissed to call me on my cell. Which she did. The hotel is a beautiful classically proportioned building in the business district of the City, not far from canal street. There is an award winning restaurant (miraculously inexpensive) across the street. The single room was comfortable though not too spacious. The shower had plenty of hot water immediately. The bed was quite comfortable and the hotel was quiet. The hotel has a restaurant and bar on the first floor, but they were remodelling it when I was there. However, it is not really designed for the guests but rather for a general public. My stay was quite pleasant and the price was very low since it was a special deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant across the street is Herbsaint, and it is very good. One of the best rated in the city.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Renee
Business
Colorado
Dec 8, 2012

Perfect for business trip combined with vacation

The location of this hotel is really fantastic. It is located conveniently in the central business district, but is a short walk from pretty much everything you would want to do in New Orleans: the French Quarter, the Warehouse District, and superdome. It is also very close to the medical center, which made it ideal for my trip. It is an older hotel and is quite charming, but don't expect more modern amenities like a pool. They have wireless internet for a small cost, but because it is an old building, it can take some finesse to get a signal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vero traveler
Business
Vero Beach, FL, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Wonderful Hotel

Had a European feel. Very comfortable, great staff, freshly painted and well maintained. Great location walking distance to the French Quarter or the Superdome and the conference center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hatereviewing
Business
Texas
Mar 2, 2012

Great deal

Beautiful and quiet suite -- very comfortable, convenient. Wish there was free WIFI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laughalot
Business
Knoxville, TN
Feb 27, 2012

New Orleans "the day after"

My husband and I arrived in New Orleans the day after Fat Tuesday, so the clean up crews were busy! The Lafayette Hotel had an "old world" feel when we entered the small lobby and reception desk. The person working the desk was Dwayne, and he was very pleasant. The hallway on our floor (5th) had a strange odor. Our room was adequate but dark. The curtains and the small sitting area at the foot of the bed were badly stained, the caulking was pulling out around the tub, and there were paint smatterings on the leather desk notebook. Several of the plug outlets were lose and did not charge consistently. There was a nice poster bed with steps. There was nothing "elegant about the Lafayette. Mike's, the adjoining restaurant, was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search