$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

The Lafayette Hotel

3 stars
600 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
128 reviews
A great time

The Lafayette Hotel was beautiful nestled in the business District. It was very close to the place... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jun 4, 2014
Great get away

the staff were all personable and very helpful as to what to see and how to get there. See full review

  • jersey shore
  • Apr 19, 2014
Top amenities and services easy for historic New Orleans’ arts district

The Lafayette Hotel provides guests with immediate and convenient access to Lafayette Square in New Orleans.  The Lafayette Hotel is perfectly positioned as a base for exploration of many of the top sights in New Orleans. It is also a quiet romantic retreat, complete with all the comforts of top class amenities and hotel services.  There is hardly a better place from which to discover the real New Orleans.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Excellent location for historic New Orleans' attractions, convenient for the world renowned streetcar line
  • Top class amenities and the best in world class service
  • Splendid landmark hotel with restored historic features and a signature restaurant
The Lafayette Hotel Rooms

In each of the 44 rooms and suites, guests at the Lafayette Hotel in New Orleans can delight in the best of hotel amenities and luxuries, in surroundings that have been carefully restored from original historic furnishings. Wireless Internet access is available for a fee, and the hotel rooms are equipped with everything that guests have come to expect from such world class accommodation, including access to Mike's on the Avenue; which serves a contemporary cuisine with a breadth of influences from New Orleans' culinary traditions. 

Things To Do
  • Lafayette Square (0.04 mi/0.1 km)
  • Wyndham Riverfront  (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • New Orleans Superdome  (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

The Lafayette Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one king size bed.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lafayette Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.071
Area served
New Orleans
Nearby airports
Louis Armstron Intl APO -MSY- 12mi/Lakefront APO -NEW- 9mi
Area description
Located on fashionable St Charles Avenue

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 2.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.8 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for The Lafayette Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
skinny69
Austin, TX, USA
Mar 26, 2012

watch out for hidden fees...

front desk was rude. 31 dollars per night parking was a suprize. they wanted 5 dollars per night for wifi. room smelled funky. over all just a dump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

dont go to new orleans.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stressed in New Orleans
London Ontario
Apr 20, 2013

Needs a facelift

We were pleased with the location..the hotel is very tired and the room was dingy. The hotel elevator kept breaking down and I ended up stuck in the elevator and the emergency phone did not work. When I finally got out, the receptionist told me to calm down. She didn't think that being stuck in an elevator with no air and no way to communicate with anyone was not upsetting. She was unhelpful, they charge for use of the internet...I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lmjb
Westland, MI
May 30, 2013

the worst

The woman we checked in with was pleasant and lovely to work with. We were moving from a hotel on the other side of the French Quarter. We wanted to stay on both ends during our week in New Orleans. This was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. It was an embarrassment to the hotel industry. The decor was old and the carpet was worn, but this was just the tip of the iceburg. There were black spots on every curtain and one was ripped, there was still coffee in the coffee pot left from the previous guests. Every fixture was rusty and corroded. There was yellow staining on the toilet seat and a black ring in the marble surrounding the toilet. My husband went to take a shower and the hot water knob fell off. The put us in an adjoining room next to a loud snorer. We thought maybe because we asked for an early check-in we got an older room they wouldn't normally rent out. When my husband asked to have our room switched because he couldn't sleep, due to the snorring, the overnight desk clerk was snarky and cold, but finally gave in and gave us another room. The new room was only slightly better, meaning there was less black spots on the curtains and the fixtures didn't fall off. However, we looked up and there was black mold in the ceiling tile near the shower. They have the nerve to charge $169 for a friday night. This place should be shut down and not allowed to reopen until inspected. If they feel it's ok to rent out rooms with visible mold, who knows what is growing where you can't see. We ended up canceling the last night there and finding another place to stay, which happened to be 10 times nicer and $30 cheaper for the night. Thankfully the allowed a full refund if we checked out before 11am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

this is a short walk from the French Quarter

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Savannah, GA
Jan 18, 2011

Don't expect more than a good location

My husband and I traveled to NOLA for his 40th Birthday and met my sister and brother in law for a three night trip. Was expecting a fantastic hotel - even if old and slightly outdated - because I love historic hotels. Living in Savannah, GA in a 125 year old home with modern amenities, I expect things not to be perfect. Above average service, great location, a clean room, hot water with decent pressure, and a good bed is all I really need. Okay, maybe I want a lot, but that's how I'd classify a good place to stay. Check in was easy. We booked a suite and they put us in a standard room. They swapped up without question. Easy breezy! The suite was dated - furnishings need reupholstering and bed linens stale, but not worn like other reviewers stated. Just not romantic or inviting. The bathroom could have been cleaner, the blood-like spots on the draperies - not cool and the dusty coffee pot with old dried coffee filters was tasteless. Location was ideal - right on St Charles line. Train can be heard all night as it comes by every 5 minutes. HOWEVER - I'm a light sleeper and I didn't hear it til the AM or right when going to bed. Too tired from all the activities to notice. We were on the north / street side of the hotel. The elevator didn't work the AM we were leaving so we had to call the concierge to call it up to our floor. All in all, I suppose the great location and charm of the old place was almost worth the cost as compared to being right in the district (too loud / rowdy) and probably a lot more expensive. I figured being a bit outside of the Quarter would equal less money but better quality rooms. Guess again. The beds were good - so if you are just concerned with cost, good night sleep and location, this could be a choice for you. However, all that said, I won't be back and will certainly try one of the many many other options around next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The start of the French Quarter is 4 blocks away. An easy 5 minute walk. However, walking all day to this area or other districts, it's nice to take the St Charles street car. Location is convenient if heading to other locations like Design District.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Jul 21, 2010

Good location..other than that...

The location of the hotel was great for us since it was right on the St. Charles Trolley route. The hotel had no lobby to speak of. So if we were waiting for anyone or the shuttle or a taxi, we had to wait in the heat. There were no vending machines that we knew of. So if we just needed a bottle of water, we had to walk to get one. The guy working at the front desk in the afternoons was borderline rude. My 19-year old had a far walk from where she was the one day. When she got to the hotel she really needed a drink of water. When I asked for some ice and water for her,the guy at the desk (who looked like a fat James Carvel), looked at us like I was asking for a rare vintage of wine that he never heard of. He would not give me any water or tell me where to get it until I told him that my daugher was a guest in the hotel also. He was the only rude person we met in all of New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lantana
Jul 4, 2008

There is not a ...

There is not a restaurant, fitness center, business center, or a pool. You do get a spacious; charming room with old towels and old linens. I definitely would consider this hotel 3-star at the most. Overall I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 21, 2009

some disappointments

The room I lived in is spacious and clean, but ... 1. The TV does not work (No channel can be received) 2. There is coffee but no coffee maker, which makes the coffee useless 3. I was charged daily for wireless Internet. However, there is no notification when I connected to wireless 4. I was charged daily for a "safe" in the room I never spotted or used.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lantana
Jul 4, 2008

There is not a ...

There is not a restaurant, fitness center, business center, or a pool. You do get a spacious; charming room with old towels and old linens. I definitely would consider this hotel 3-star at the most. Overall I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Savannah, GA
Jan 18, 2011

Don't expect more than a good location

My husband and I traveled to NOLA for his 40th Birthday and met my sister and brother in law for a three night trip. Was expecting a fantastic hotel - even if old and slightly outdated - because I love historic hotels. Living in Savannah, GA in a 125 year old home with modern amenities, I expect things not to be perfect. Above average service, great location, a clean room, hot water with decent pressure, and a good bed is all I really need. Okay, maybe I want a lot, but that's how I'd classify a good place to stay. Check in was easy. We booked a suite and they put us in a standard room. They swapped up without question. Easy breezy! The suite was dated - furnishings need reupholstering and bed linens stale, but not worn like other reviewers stated. Just not romantic or inviting. The bathroom could have been cleaner, the blood-like spots on the draperies - not cool and the dusty coffee pot with old dried coffee filters was tasteless. Location was ideal - right on St Charles line. Train can be heard all night as it comes by every 5 minutes. HOWEVER - I'm a light sleeper and I didn't hear it til the AM or right when going to bed. Too tired from all the activities to notice. We were on the north / street side of the hotel. The elevator didn't work the AM we were leaving so we had to call the concierge to call it up to our floor. All in all, I suppose the great location and charm of the old place was almost worth the cost as compared to being right in the district (too loud / rowdy) and probably a lot more expensive. I figured being a bit outside of the Quarter would equal less money but better quality rooms. Guess again. The beds were good - so if you are just concerned with cost, good night sleep and location, this could be a choice for you. However, all that said, I won't be back and will certainly try one of the many many other options around next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The start of the French Quarter is 4 blocks away. An easy 5 minute walk. However, walking all day to this area or other districts, it's nice to take the St Charles street car. Location is convenient if heading to other locations like Design District.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ebeths
Seattle, WA
Nov 7, 2010

Less than zero frills - broken basic.

There are two elevators - one was always broken. The other worked only half the time so I had to walk up 4 flights of stairs. An acrylic ceiling panel in my bathroom fell down - I was lucky to be in the shower or it would have hit me in the head. i alerted the staff twice but it was still on the floor when I checked out. The decor is dingy and worn. The outlet next to my bed didn't work (this is dangerous). The other light needed a bulb replacement. Sad. This hotel has a lot of potential given the location etc. but management is shoddy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is not a breakfast or room service at the Lafayette so if you want your morning fix go to PJs around the corner on Girod Street or Between the Bread across the street.

Back to menu Return to top