$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

The Lafayette Hotel

3 stars
View map of 600 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
98 reviews
Great Stay

It was a good value for the price. I very much enjoyed my stay. The location is excellent. See full review

  • Abbey B.
  • Jan 14, 2015
A great time

The Lafayette Hotel was beautiful nestled in the business District. It was very close to the place... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jun 4, 2014
Top amenities and services easy for historic New Orleans’ arts district

The Lafayette Hotel provides guests with immediate and convenient access to Lafayette Square in New Orleans.  The Lafayette Hotel is perfectly positioned as a base for exploration of many of the top sights in New Orleans. It is also a quiet romantic retreat, complete with all the comforts of top class amenities and hotel services.  There is hardly a better place from which to discover the real New Orleans.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Excellent location for historic New Orleans' attractions, convenient for the world renowned streetcar line
  • Top class amenities and the best in world class service
  • Splendid landmark hotel with restored historic features and a signature restaurant
The Lafayette Hotel Rooms

In each of the 44 rooms and suites, guests at the Lafayette Hotel in New Orleans can delight in the best of hotel amenities and luxuries, in surroundings that have been carefully restored from original historic furnishings. Wireless Internet access is available for a fee, and the hotel rooms are equipped with everything that guests have come to expect from such world class accommodation, including access to Mike's on the Avenue; which serves a contemporary cuisine with a breadth of influences from New Orleans' culinary traditions. 

Things To Do
  • Lafayette Square (0.04 mi/0.1 km)
  • Wyndham Riverfront  (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • New Orleans Superdome  (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lafayette Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Lafayette Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one king size bed.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for The Lafayette Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alabama
Aug 5, 2011

Classy funky old hotel

Ornate antique facility...not boxy modern...staff friendly and helpful...convenient location...streetcar stop right outside front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Park car and ride the streetcars and busses or walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jul 25, 2011

Really great but....

The hotel staff was great and very friendly and helpful, and the location is really great....my only complaint is that there was a very strong mildew odor in the hallway but not in the room...but all in all our stay was comfortable and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Chevy
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 6, 2011

Best staff ever!

We went to enjoy the weekend for the Essence Music Fest. Our hotel staff recommended the swamp tour and we had an excellent time! They also recommended a little bar right down the street and we had a good time with the locals of New Orleans. We always stay at a name brand hotel and this time tried a local hotel and will stay there again and recommend same to family & friends. We did have a problem with our room (not having a remote for the T.V & the safe did not work and by the next morning the staff had moved our things to a bigger and better room!!! We would especially like to thank [...]. You are the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolly right across the street from the hotel down St. Charles. Lots of good dining, especially if you want to get away from the crowds on Borburn & Canel Streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hickory, NC
Jun 28, 2011

Wonderful room & excellent staff

We traveled to New Orleans to attend the ALA conference. We found the "smallish" Lafayette Hotel located six blocks from Canal St directly on the St. Charles St. trolley route a "perfect" location for most of the city's restaurants and attractions. The rooms were large and comfortable and the staff was excellent. The next time we travel to New Orleans, the Lafayette Hotel will be our top choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

six blocks from Bourbon St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
21 y.o. couple00
Business
Tulsa, ok
Jun 17, 2011

Great Locaion and Friendly Staff

The Lafayette hotel was pretty much what I expected from previous reviews. It a nice hotel, but a little outdated. However, while i was there they were in the process of construction to update a few things. The hotel is in a great location; just a short walk away from the french quarter and bourbon street. There are many fantastic restarants just a few blocks away, and the street car is outside if you want to go places a little further such as the riverwalk or zoo. The staff was super friendly, and really helped to make our trip more fun. They suggested things for us to do, restaurants to eat at, and even gave me directions 101 for new orleans. I would recommend this place to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment, dining, and shopping were a very short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 4, 2011

A good halfway stop

Very nice, well preserved old fashion hotel. Was not too impressed with the small tube television or the nonexistent refridgerator, but nonetheless it was a very comfortable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street is fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mspix
Business
Kerrville,TX
May 22, 2011

Great location - a little pricey!!

Hotel very like European lodgings.Attended a family weddingright in the middle[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take taxi from airport to hotel in New Orleans. Less expensive & faster.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marina del Rey, CA
May 19, 2011

Wonderful

The Hotel is fantastic and close to everything. There's a great restaurant on the opposite corner called Herbsaint. The food there is awesome. I recommend the Gumbo. The Lafayette Hotel has a friendly staff and [...] at the front desk was very helpful. The room was huge with a big king size bed. And the location is ideal. It's close to Canal st. and the French Quarter. I'll stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The streetcar is outside the front door and costs $1.25 one way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norman,OK
May 8, 2011

Great Staff!

We were in New Orleans overnight before getting on a cruise ship the next day. The Lafayette would not be a perfect hotel for everyone, but we love it. Just outside the hotel you can catch the St. Charles Steetcar. It's inexpensive to ride and gives you a wonderful tour of the Garden District. The steetcar may run all night, not sure, but the noise from it didn't bother us on the fifth floor. The Lafayette isn't a blemish free, Disneyfied place to stay, but it's got lot's of character and a staff that makes you feel right at home. Fellow travelers that we visited with while at The Lafayette seemed to enjoy their stay as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chooch22
Business
Detroit Michigan
May 3, 2011

Jazz Fest Visit

We were in New Orleans for the Jazz Festival and wanted to stay close to the French Quarter without having to put up with all of the crazinss. The Lafayette is a few blocks from the Quarter but far enough back to avoid the crowds. The staff was top notch and it was great to be right on the street car route for travel to the garden district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Blues

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top