$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

The Lafayette Hotel

3 stars
View map of 600 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lafayette Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frozentoes
Business
Modoc, California
Nov 3, 2011

Perfect Location & Charming

Located just blocks from French Quarter! So charming and old world. Was very romantic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best late night burgers at Yo Mommy's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teri7er
Business
barnhart mo.
Oct 27, 2011

wonderful time!

Great time! We really did'nt no what to expect! It was fabulous...staff was great...room was cozy...restaurant was delicious and the bar connected had the best bartender around. Wonderful experience! We will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

edamane appetizer was the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maude
Business
Alexandria, LA, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Comfort and Elegance.....

This "self characterization" is not a far-fetched one. From the moment you arrive, the Staff rolls-out that Southern Hospitality, immediately making you comfortable. The decor and aurora are very Elegant and true to the atmoshere being created. Great job guys, keep up the good work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alabama
Aug 5, 2011

Classy funky old hotel

Ornate antique facility...not boxy modern...staff friendly and helpful...convenient location...streetcar stop right outside front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Park car and ride the streetcars and busses or walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Jul 25, 2011

Really great but....

The hotel staff was great and very friendly and helpful, and the location is really great....my only complaint is that there was a very strong mildew odor in the hallway but not in the room...but all in all our stay was comfortable and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Chevy
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 6, 2011

Best staff ever!

We went to enjoy the weekend for the Essence Music Fest. Our hotel staff recommended the swamp tour and we had an excellent time! They also recommended a little bar right down the street and we had a good time with the locals of New Orleans. We always stay at a name brand hotel and this time tried a local hotel and will stay there again and recommend same to family & friends. We did have a problem with our room (not having a remote for the T.V & the safe did not work and by the next morning the staff had moved our things to a bigger and better room!!! We would especially like to thank [...]. You are the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolly right across the street from the hotel down St. Charles. Lots of good dining, especially if you want to get away from the crowds on Borburn & Canel Streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hickory, NC
Jun 28, 2011

Wonderful room & excellent staff

We traveled to New Orleans to attend the ALA conference. We found the "smallish" Lafayette Hotel located six blocks from Canal St directly on the St. Charles St. trolley route a "perfect" location for most of the city's restaurants and attractions. The rooms were large and comfortable and the staff was excellent. The next time we travel to New Orleans, the Lafayette Hotel will be our top choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

six blocks from Bourbon St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
21 y.o. couple00
Business
Tulsa, ok
Jun 17, 2011

Great Locaion and Friendly Staff

The Lafayette hotel was pretty much what I expected from previous reviews. It a nice hotel, but a little outdated. However, while i was there they were in the process of construction to update a few things. The hotel is in a great location; just a short walk away from the french quarter and bourbon street. There are many fantastic restarants just a few blocks away, and the street car is outside if you want to go places a little further such as the riverwalk or zoo. The staff was super friendly, and really helped to make our trip more fun. They suggested things for us to do, restaurants to eat at, and even gave me directions 101 for new orleans. I would recommend this place to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment, dining, and shopping were a very short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 4, 2011

A good halfway stop

Very nice, well preserved old fashion hotel. Was not too impressed with the small tube television or the nonexistent refridgerator, but nonetheless it was a very comfortable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street is fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mspix
Business
Kerrville,TX
May 22, 2011

Great location - a little pricey!!

Hotel very like European lodgings.Attended a family weddingright in the middle[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take taxi from airport to hotel in New Orleans. Less expensive & faster.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top