$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

The Lafayette Hotel

3 stars
View map of 600 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lafayette Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pablo D
Franklin, Louisiana
Dec 21, 2012

Fun getaway weekend

We checked out all the places to stay at and this one was the best price!!! We loved the room when we got there and made it sooooo worth it!!!! We loved the location... It was in walkin distance from everything!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice walk anytime of the day.... Morning or night!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laughalot
Business
Knoxville, TN
Feb 27, 2012

New Orleans "the day after"

My husband and I arrived in New Orleans the day after Fat Tuesday, so the clean up crews were busy! The Lafayette Hotel had an "old world" feel when we entered the small lobby and reception desk. The person working the desk was Dwayne, and he was very pleasant. The hallway on our floor (5th) had a strange odor. Our room was adequate but dark. The curtains and the small sitting area at the foot of the bed were badly stained, the caulking was pulling out around the tub, and there were paint smatterings on the leather desk notebook. Several of the plug outlets were lose and did not charge consistently. There was a nice poster bed with steps. There was nothing "elegant about the Lafayette. Mike's, the adjoining restaurant, was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrDGI
Business
Sarasota, FL, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Excellent value

Certainly will return to this facility. Mike's place restaurant in the hotel is a VERY pleasant surprise. Innovative dishes and superb!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gee Money
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Large and Comfortable

This was the best Hotel Room I have ever stayed in The rooms were large and the location was on the parade route.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The French Quaters is exciting

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harald and Alex
Business
Stuttgart, Germany
Jan 7, 2012

nice stay

perfect location, it´s a short walk to french quarter and bourbon street and everything else. The room was clean and had a very comfortable king-bed!! (you sleep like in heaven!) It was a little bit loud in the night, however it was possible to have a wonderful sleep. We stayed 2 nights over the new years day and therefore it was more expensive ($240/night including $30 for parking per day and $5 for wifi per day). But nevertheless a great stay and very friendly staff who gave a lot of tips!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ryane
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Dec 30, 2011

spacious beautiful rooms, slightly dated

we were put in a suite, I'm pretty sure thats not what we paid for, it was well decorated with great furniture and very comfortable. The room was dated - old TV, fridgem fixtures, and generally in moderate repair, though the marble bathroom with old brass fixtures was very pretty. Overall, I would describe this as an old great hotel that needs some updating, but with a spacious room, was a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cochon is a five minute walk and had out of this world food. Make a reservation, Tuesday night had a two hour wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teach49
Business
Maryland, USA
Dec 28, 2011

x-mas 2011

very quaint, comfortable and convient. great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

24 hour restaurant-good food, fast service. Daisy Duke restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
geocol
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 15, 2011

Great location

My wife and I loved our 4 days stay at the Lafayette Hotel: the nice park to stroll, the various little restaurants, the street car stop right across the hotel gave my wife the opportunity to discover one of her favorite cities (she lived in NOLA long time ago!) while I was working. And for me after a long day shooting my documentary it was nice to "come home" and let my hair down before going to dinner in one of those marvelous restaurants. Haaaaa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the street car in front of the restaurant and go to the end of the line, the houses are spectacular.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Biggins
Business
Massacusetts
Dec 15, 2011

first time visit

the front desk attendant was very very helpful in suggesting places to go and things to do. He was very pleasant and kind. The room was very comfortable and great location & quiet. Would stay there again. Wish they had a continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CMA1
Business
Greenville, SC, USA
Dec 4, 2011

Classy old hotel

The room (suite) was wonderful and we got it at a great price! It was only an overnight stay but had no issues except that we didn't expect the additional $30 parking charge at checkout. Kind of defeats the rate and would really add up after a few nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Parasol's for awesome po-boys!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frozentoes
Business
Modoc, California
Nov 3, 2011

Perfect Location & Charming

Located just blocks from French Quarter! So charming and old world. Was very romantic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best late night burgers at Yo Mommy's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top