$97 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

The Lafayette Hotel

3 stars
View map of 600 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lafayette Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KentuckyBasketballFans
Montgomery, TX
Mar 11, 2012

Walk Everywhere from Here

Efficient, caring staff. Clean, elegant rooms. We could only book one night on-line but another night was available once we arrived. Lovely colonial hotel located within walking distance to many popular sites. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to many local attractions, the arena and Superdome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KentuckyBasketballFans
Business
Montgomery, TX
Mar 11, 2012

Walk Everywhere from Here

Efficient, caring staff. Clean, elegant rooms. We could only book one night on-line but another night was available once we arrived. Lovely colonial hotel located within walking distance to many popular sites. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to many local attractions, the arena and Superdome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vero traveler
Business
Vero Beach, FL, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Wonderful Hotel

Had a European feel. Very comfortable, great staff, freshly painted and well maintained. Great location walking distance to the French Quarter or the Superdome and the conference center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Train Traveler
Business
Arizona
Mar 4, 2012

Perfect For Me

I travel by train and that usually involves an overnight stay in New Orleans. This hotel is midway between Union Station and the French Quarter and walkable from each. Elegant but comfortable remodel of old building. Restaurant and bar in building quite nice (with view of streetcar passing by), and many restaurants in area are good and interesting. I lucked out and was upgraded to small suite so I was in heaven for a hundred bucks. No room service, pool or the like however. If the price remains reasonable I will stay again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the Arts District guide/map from the desk. It lists many good restaurants in the neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hatereviewing
Business
Texas
Mar 2, 2012

Great deal

Beautiful and quiet suite -- very comfortable, convenient. Wish there was free WIFI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laughalot
Business
Knoxville, TN
Feb 27, 2012

New Orleans "the day after"

My husband and I arrived in New Orleans the day after Fat Tuesday, so the clean up crews were busy! The Lafayette Hotel had an "old world" feel when we entered the small lobby and reception desk. The person working the desk was Dwayne, and he was very pleasant. The hallway on our floor (5th) had a strange odor. Our room was adequate but dark. The curtains and the small sitting area at the foot of the bed were badly stained, the caulking was pulling out around the tub, and there were paint smatterings on the leather desk notebook. Several of the plug outlets were lose and did not charge consistently. There was a nice poster bed with steps. There was nothing "elegant about the Lafayette. Mike's, the adjoining restaurant, was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrDGI
Business
Sarasota, FL, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Excellent value

Certainly will return to this facility. Mike's place restaurant in the hotel is a VERY pleasant surprise. Innovative dishes and superb!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gee Money
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Large and Comfortable

This was the best Hotel Room I have ever stayed in The rooms were large and the location was on the parade route.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The French Quaters is exciting

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harald and Alex
Business
Stuttgart, Germany
Jan 7, 2012

nice stay

perfect location, it´s a short walk to french quarter and bourbon street and everything else. The room was clean and had a very comfortable king-bed!! (you sleep like in heaven!) It was a little bit loud in the night, however it was possible to have a wonderful sleep. We stayed 2 nights over the new years day and therefore it was more expensive ($240/night including $30 for parking per day and $5 for wifi per day). But nevertheless a great stay and very friendly staff who gave a lot of tips!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ryane
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Dec 30, 2011

spacious beautiful rooms, slightly dated

we were put in a suite, I'm pretty sure thats not what we paid for, it was well decorated with great furniture and very comfortable. The room was dated - old TV, fridgem fixtures, and generally in moderate repair, though the marble bathroom with old brass fixtures was very pretty. Overall, I would describe this as an old great hotel that needs some updating, but with a spacious room, was a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cochon is a five minute walk and had out of this world food. Make a reservation, Tuesday night had a two hour wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
teach49
Business
Maryland, USA
Dec 28, 2011

x-mas 2011

very quaint, comfortable and convient. great price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

24 hour restaurant-good food, fast service. Daisy Duke restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top