$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

The Lafayette Hotel

3 stars
600 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
94 reviews
A great time

The Lafayette Hotel was beautiful nestled in the business District. It was very close to the place... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jun 4, 2014
Great get away

the staff were all personable and very helpful as to what to see and how to get there. See full review

  • jersey shore
  • Apr 19, 2014
Top amenities and services easy for historic New Orleans’ arts district

The Lafayette Hotel provides guests with immediate and convenient access to Lafayette Square in New Orleans.  The Lafayette Hotel is perfectly positioned as a base for exploration of many of the top sights in New Orleans. It is also a quiet romantic retreat, complete with all the comforts of top class amenities and hotel services.  There is hardly a better place from which to discover the real New Orleans.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Excellent location for historic New Orleans' attractions, convenient for the world renowned streetcar line
  • Top class amenities and the best in world class service
  • Splendid landmark hotel with restored historic features and a signature restaurant
The Lafayette Hotel Rooms

In each of the 44 rooms and suites, guests at the Lafayette Hotel in New Orleans can delight in the best of hotel amenities and luxuries, in surroundings that have been carefully restored from original historic furnishings. Wireless Internet access is available for a fee, and the hotel rooms are equipped with everything that guests have come to expect from such world class accommodation, including access to Mike's on the Avenue; which serves a contemporary cuisine with a breadth of influences from New Orleans' culinary traditions. 

Things To Do
  • Lafayette Square (0.04 mi/0.1 km)
  • Wyndham Riverfront  (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • New Orleans Superdome  (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.071
Area served
New Orleans
Nearby airports
Louis Armstron Intl APO -MSY- 12mi/Lakefront APO -NEW- 9mi
Area description
Located on fashionable St Charles Avenue

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lafayette Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Lafayette Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one king size bed.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for The Lafayette Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
geocol
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 15, 2011

Great location

My wife and I loved our 4 days stay at the Lafayette Hotel: the nice park to stroll, the various little restaurants, the street car stop right across the hotel gave my wife the opportunity to discover one of her favorite cities (she lived in NOLA long time ago!) while I was working. And for me after a long day shooting my documentary it was nice to "come home" and let my hair down before going to dinner in one of those marvelous restaurants. Haaaaa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the street car in front of the restaurant and go to the end of the line, the houses are spectacular.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Biggins
Massacusetts
Dec 15, 2011

first time visit

the front desk attendant was very very helpful in suggesting places to go and things to do. He was very pleasant and kind. The room was very comfortable and great location & quiet. Would stay there again. Wish they had a continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CMA1
Greenville, SC, USA
Dec 4, 2011

Classy old hotel

The room (suite) was wonderful and we got it at a great price! It was only an overnight stay but had no issues except that we didn't expect the additional $30 parking charge at checkout. Kind of defeats the rate and would really add up after a few nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Parasol's for awesome po-boys!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frozentoes
Modoc, California
Nov 3, 2011

Perfect Location & Charming

Located just blocks from French Quarter! So charming and old world. Was very romantic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best late night burgers at Yo Mommy's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teri7er
barnhart mo.
Oct 27, 2011

wonderful time!

Great time! We really did'nt no what to expect! It was fabulous...staff was great...room was cozy...restaurant was delicious and the bar connected had the best bartender around. Wonderful experience! We will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

edamane appetizer was the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maude
Business
Alexandria, LA, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Comfort and Elegance.....

This "self characterization" is not a far-fetched one. From the moment you arrive, the Staff rolls-out that Southern Hospitality, immediately making you comfortable. The decor and aurora are very Elegant and true to the atmoshere being created. Great job guys, keep up the good work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alabama
Aug 5, 2011

Classy funky old hotel

Ornate antique facility...not boxy modern...staff friendly and helpful...convenient location...streetcar stop right outside front door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Park car and ride the streetcars and busses or walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Birmingham, AL
Jul 25, 2011

Really great but....

The hotel staff was great and very friendly and helpful, and the location is really great....my only complaint is that there was a very strong mildew odor in the hallway but not in the room...but all in all our stay was comfortable and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Chevy
Detroit, MI
Jul 6, 2011

Best staff ever!

We went to enjoy the weekend for the Essence Music Fest. Our hotel staff recommended the swamp tour and we had an excellent time! They also recommended a little bar right down the street and we had a good time with the locals of New Orleans. We always stay at a name brand hotel and this time tried a local hotel and will stay there again and recommend same to family & friends. We did have a problem with our room (not having a remote for the T.V & the safe did not work and by the next morning the staff had moved our things to a bigger and better room!!! We would especially like to thank [...]. You are the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolly right across the street from the hotel down St. Charles. Lots of good dining, especially if you want to get away from the crowds on Borburn & Canel Streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hickory, NC
Jun 28, 2011

Wonderful room & excellent staff

We traveled to New Orleans to attend the ALA conference. We found the "smallish" Lafayette Hotel located six blocks from Canal St directly on the St. Charles St. trolley route a "perfect" location for most of the city's restaurants and attractions. The rooms were large and comfortable and the staff was excellent. The next time we travel to New Orleans, the Lafayette Hotel will be our top choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

six blocks from Bourbon St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search